The Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR)
The Council on Library and Information Resources is an independent, nonprofit organization that forges strategies to enhance research, teaching, and learning environments in collaboration with libraries, cultural institutions, and communities of higher learning. They have two grants that are adjacent to Digital Humanities.
|Digitizing Hidden Special Collections and Archives: Enabling New Scholarship through Increasing Access to Unique Materials||$50K to $250K||March or April|
|Recordings at Risk||$10K to $50K||May and November|
CLIR also offers a Postdoctoral Fellowship Program to recent Ph.D. graduates. This Fellowship offers recent P.h.D. graduates the chance to develop research tools, resources, and services while exploring new career opportunities. CLIR Postdoctoral Fellows work on projects that forge and strengthen connections among collections, educational technologies, and current research. Host institutions benefit from fellows’ field-specific expertise by gaining insights into their collections’ potential uses and users, scholarly information behaviors, and current teaching and learning practices. CLIR solicits and facilitates the host and fellowship application processes. Fellows are then hired directly by host institutions.
HASTAC (Humanities, Arts, Science, and Technology Alliance and Collaboratory)
HASTAC (Humanities, Arts, Science, and Technology Alliance and Collaboratory) is an interdisciplinary community of humanists, artists, social scientists, scientists, and technologists. HASTAC has a Scholars fellowship program for graduate and under-graduate students. Each year, about 100 scholars are accepted into a 2-year cohort of the program. HASTAC Scholars are partially sonspored by their home institution.
|HASTAC Scholars||$300||Oct 15|
The Library of Congress
The Library of Congress offers a number of fellowships for digital studies and research on its extensive collections.
|Kluge Fellowships in Digital Studies||$5k/month||December|
Scholarly Communications and Information Technology
The Scholarly Communications and Information Technology Program was formed in 2010 through the merger of the Programs on Scholarly Communications and Research in Information Technology. The office has funded initiatives ranging from specific scholarly projects to institutional infrastructure.
Mellon awards have a wide range. The Deadline for submission is usually 4 Months before one of the Board Meetings in March, June, September or December.
National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH): Office of Digital Humanities
The NEH has several programs that offer grants appropriate for digital humanities work. The Office of Digital Humanities focuses specifically on supporting a wide range of digital humanities work at many stages of a project.
Main Website: http://www.neh.gov/divisions/odh
|Digital Humanities Advancement Grant||Up to $325K||January and June|
|Institutes for Advanced Topics in the Digital Humanities||Up to $250K||March|
|Digging into Data Challenge||N/A||Passed|
|NEH-Mellon Fellowships for Digital Publication||$5K per month||April|
National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH): Division of Public Programs
The NEH has several programs that offer grants appropriate for digital humanities work. The Division of Public Programs supports a wide range of public humanities programming that reaches large and diverse public audiences and make use of a variety of formats—interpretation at historic sites, television and radio productions, museum exhibitions, podcasts, short videos, digital games, websites, mobile apps, and other digital media.
Main Website: http://www.neh.gov/divisions/public
|Digital Projects for the Public||$30-300K||June|
National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH): Division of Research
The NEH has several programs that offer grants appropriate for digital humanities work. The Division of Research supports scholarly research that advances knowledge and understanding of the humanities. Through twelve annual funding opportunities, awards are made to scholars—individuals, collaborative teams, or institutions—working on research projects of significance to specific humanities fields and to the humanities as a whole.
Main Website: https://www.neh.gov/divisions/research
|Scholarly Editions and Translations||$50-100K/year||December|
National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH): Division of Education Programs
The NEH has several programs that offer grants appropriate for digital humanities work. The Division of Education Programs supports humanities education through programs aimed primarily at program and curriculum development and through professional development opportunities for K-12 and higher education faculty. Intensive reading and discussion programs featuring recognized scholars bring together small communities of teachers at both the higher education and K-12 levels to investigate new themes and innovative approaches to humanities subjects. Largely residential and held during the summer, these programs encourage the study of common texts and other resources, include visits to collections in libraries and museums, and help faculty integrate what has been learned back into their classrooms. The division has several grant programs to support broad institutional endeavors. Community colleges, Historically Black colleges and universities, tribal colleges and universities, and Hispanic-serving institutions receive grants to enhance the humanities content of existing programs, develop new programs, or lay the foundation for more extensive endeavors.
Main Website: http://www.neh.gov/divisions/education
|Humanities Initiatives at Hispanic-Serving Institutions||max $100K||June|
|Humanities Initiatives at Historically Black Colleges and Universities||max $100K||June|
|Humanities Initiatives at Tribal Colleges and Universities||max $100K||June|
The National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC)
The National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC), a part of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), supports projects that promote the preservation and use of America’s documentary heritage essential to understanding our democracy, history, and culture.
Main website: https://www.archives.gov/nhprc
|Innovation in Archives and Documentary Editing||up to $150,000 with equal cost share||October|
|Digitizing Historical Records||up to $150,000 with equal cost share||June|