Through the course of history, countless individuals have been targeted based on their appearance, voice, beliefs, and romantic interests. At Villanova, we believe that the best way to combat these occurrences is to establish an environment of equality and shared respect.
The LGBTQ+ Community at Villanova is active, welcoming, and committed to fostering inclusion on campus. By focusing on visibility and action, we have seen steady growth in support from students and faculty, both as allies and members of the LGBTQ+ Community. Villanova has supported and encouraged the creation of a safe environment for LGBTQ+ students to gather and share experiences, whether in a confidential setting or in a more open setting with friends and allies.
Please take the time to explore the various LGBTQ+ groups at Villanova University as well as the resources gathered here. Feel free to contact our faculty or student representatives with any questions.
– Elizabeth Gulden (VSB '18) & John Garboski (VSB '18)
LGBTQ: Databases A-Z
LGBT Thought and Culture (Alexander Street Press)
Provides coverage of the essential works and archival documents of the global LGBTQ+ movement. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present and includes archival content in the form of text, letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera.
LGBT Magazine Archive (ProQuest)
Provides full text access to the most influential LGBT+ news resources including The Advocate (full coverage from its inception in 1967), The Pink Paper, Just for Us, The Albatross, and the notable UK publications Gay News and Gay Times.
Digital Transgender Archive (College of the Holy Cross)
Features direct access and links to primary source materials from over thirty institutions including the GLBT Historical Society, the NYC Trans Oral History Project, and numerous university archives.
GenderWatch (ProQuest)
Indexes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports in many disciplines on topics relevant to gender studies. Provides a historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and changes in gender roles. Includes perspectives typically not represented in the mainstream media. Includes abstracts and full-text for most citations. Coverage extends back to 1970.
That's So Gay: Outing Early America
This website was originally an exhibit through The Library Company of Philadelphia and has now become a website using materials from The Library Company of Philadelphia exploring the history of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people in American society.
The National Archives: Gay and lesbian history
This is a guide which will help you find records relating to gay, lesbian and bisexual history in the United Kingdom and Britain.
Provides coverage of the essential works and archival documents of the global LGBTQ+ movement. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present and includes archival content in the form of text, letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera.
LGBT Magazine Archive (ProQuest)
Provides full text access to the most influential LGBT+ news resources including The Advocate (full coverage from its inception in 1967), The Pink Paper, Just for Us, The Albatross, and the notable UK publications Gay News and Gay Times.
Digital Transgender Archive (College of the Holy Cross)
Features direct access and links to primary source materials from over thirty institutions including the GLBT Historical Society, the NYC Trans Oral History Project, and numerous university archives.
GenderWatch (ProQuest)
Indexes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports in many disciplines on topics relevant to gender studies. Provides a historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and changes in gender roles. Includes perspectives typically not represented in the mainstream media. Includes abstracts and full-text for most citations. Coverage extends back to 1970.
That's So Gay: Outing Early America
This website was originally an exhibit through The Library Company of Philadelphia and has now become a website using materials from The Library Company of Philadelphia exploring the history of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people in American society.
The National Archives: Gay and lesbian history
This is a guide which will help you find records relating to gay, lesbian and bisexual history in the United Kingdom and Britain.
LGBTQ: Books and eBooks
The Cambridge Companion to American Gay and Lesbian Literature
This Companion examines the connections between LGBTQ populations and American literature from the late eighteenth to twenty-first centuries. It surveys primary and secondary writings under the evolving category of gay and lesbian authorship, and incorporates current thinking in US-based LGBTQ studies as well as critical practices within the field of American literary studies. This Companion also addresses the ways in which queerness pervades persons, texts, bodies, and reading, while paying attention to the transnational component of such literatures. In so doing, it details the chief genres, conventional historical backgrounds, and influential interpretive practices that support the analysis of LGBTQ literatures in the United States.
The Cambridge Companion to Gay and Lesbian Writing
Literature has always been concerned with questions of kinship, love, marriage, desire, family relationships. The central and privileged stories have tended to assume that desire will be desire between girl and boy. Obstacles are thrown in the way of desire. In Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet (1597), the heroine and hero cannot marry because their families, the Montagues and the Capulets, are feuding. The obstacles which stand in the way of same-sex romantic entanglements have been much more encompassing. Before the twentieth century, they have, for the most part, been represented as an impossibility rather than a desirable outcome thwarted by circumstance.
Gay on God's campus : mobilizing for LGBT equality at Christian colleges and universities
"Jonathan Coley explores the unique pathways along which students join and work within movements for LGBT inclusion at Christian institutions of higher learning across the country. Having interviewed dozens of students in LGBT advocacy groups at four conservative, religious schools of different denominations, Coley is able to use students' own words to analyze their self-conceptions and activist tactics, while shedding new light on faith-based LGBT activism on college campuses. Moreover, Coley shows that there is no single pathway to activism and, perhaps most importantly, that religion and pro-LGBT activism are not mutually exclusive categories"
LGBT psychology and mental health : emerging research and advances
This book presents emerging discoveries, trends, and research areas in LGBT psychology, both in science and therapy. It brings together concise, substantive reviews of what is new or on the horizon in science and in key areas of clinical practice, and provides information and insight to help psychologists, mental health clinicians, and counselors better serve the LGBT populations that, increasingly, are seeking their services.
LGBTQ America: A Theme Study of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer History
The LGBTQ Theme Study is a publication of the National Park Foundation for the National Park Service and funded by the Gill Foundation. Each chapter is written and peer-reviewed by experts in LGBTQ Studies.
Planning and LGBTQ Communities: The Need for Inclusive Queer Spaces
Planning and LGBTQ Communities gives planners concrete, practical guidance to creating inclusive communities for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgendered individuals, couples and families. Each chapter, written by experienced city planners, administrators, and researchers, examines specific urban contexts and how city planners facilitated or neglected the needs of LGBTQ populations. As the last decade has brought major cultural and legislative victories for LGBTQ people, "gayborhoods" and other LGBTQ residential and commercial areas have changed in character. Planning and LGBTQ Communities examines these changes, the pressures that cause them, and the role that planners and municipal officials have had in the gentrification and redevelopment of these spaces. With case studies from the United States, Canada, Australia, and South Africa, this book offers planners around the world a way to better accommodate and build for marginalized people.
LGBTQ Social Movements Limitations on Use
Nonbinary gender identities : history, culture, resources
"Nonbinary gender identities are those that fall outside the traditional binary of “man” and “woman.” These include genderfluid, androgynous, genderqueer, and a multitude of other identity terms, some of which overlap. Although there have always been people who identify outside the gender binary, only recently have they gained popular media attention... Written by a nonbinary scholar and librarian, this guide includes valuable appendixes that will aid every researcher and writer: a glossary of the rich vocabulary emerging from nonbinary communities; a guide to pronoun usage; a primer on sex, sexuality, and gender; and Library of Congress Classification information."
Trans Studies: The Challenge to Hetero/Homo Normativities
Transgender people have rapidly gained public visibility, contesting many basic assumptions about what gender and embodiment really mean. The vibrant discipline of trans studies explores such challenges in depth, building on the insights of queer and feminist theory to raise provocative questions about the relationships among gender, sexuality, and accepted social norms. "Trans Studies" is an interdisciplinary essay collection, offering insights about how transgender activism and scholarship might transform scholarship and public policy.
This Companion examines the connections between LGBTQ populations and American literature from the late eighteenth to twenty-first centuries. It surveys primary and secondary writings under the evolving category of gay and lesbian authorship, and incorporates current thinking in US-based LGBTQ studies as well as critical practices within the field of American literary studies. This Companion also addresses the ways in which queerness pervades persons, texts, bodies, and reading, while paying attention to the transnational component of such literatures. In so doing, it details the chief genres, conventional historical backgrounds, and influential interpretive practices that support the analysis of LGBTQ literatures in the United States.
The Cambridge Companion to Gay and Lesbian Writing
Literature has always been concerned with questions of kinship, love, marriage, desire, family relationships. The central and privileged stories have tended to assume that desire will be desire between girl and boy. Obstacles are thrown in the way of desire. In Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet (1597), the heroine and hero cannot marry because their families, the Montagues and the Capulets, are feuding. The obstacles which stand in the way of same-sex romantic entanglements have been much more encompassing. Before the twentieth century, they have, for the most part, been represented as an impossibility rather than a desirable outcome thwarted by circumstance.
Gay on God's campus : mobilizing for LGBT equality at Christian colleges and universities
"Jonathan Coley explores the unique pathways along which students join and work within movements for LGBT inclusion at Christian institutions of higher learning across the country. Having interviewed dozens of students in LGBT advocacy groups at four conservative, religious schools of different denominations, Coley is able to use students' own words to analyze their self-conceptions and activist tactics, while shedding new light on faith-based LGBT activism on college campuses. Moreover, Coley shows that there is no single pathway to activism and, perhaps most importantly, that religion and pro-LGBT activism are not mutually exclusive categories"
LGBT psychology and mental health : emerging research and advances
This book presents emerging discoveries, trends, and research areas in LGBT psychology, both in science and therapy. It brings together concise, substantive reviews of what is new or on the horizon in science and in key areas of clinical practice, and provides information and insight to help psychologists, mental health clinicians, and counselors better serve the LGBT populations that, increasingly, are seeking their services.
LGBTQ America: A Theme Study of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer History
The LGBTQ Theme Study is a publication of the National Park Foundation for the National Park Service and funded by the Gill Foundation. Each chapter is written and peer-reviewed by experts in LGBTQ Studies.
Planning and LGBTQ Communities: The Need for Inclusive Queer Spaces
Planning and LGBTQ Communities gives planners concrete, practical guidance to creating inclusive communities for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgendered individuals, couples and families. Each chapter, written by experienced city planners, administrators, and researchers, examines specific urban contexts and how city planners facilitated or neglected the needs of LGBTQ populations. As the last decade has brought major cultural and legislative victories for LGBTQ people, "gayborhoods" and other LGBTQ residential and commercial areas have changed in character. Planning and LGBTQ Communities examines these changes, the pressures that cause them, and the role that planners and municipal officials have had in the gentrification and redevelopment of these spaces. With case studies from the United States, Canada, Australia, and South Africa, this book offers planners around the world a way to better accommodate and build for marginalized people.
LGBTQ Social Movements Limitations on Use
In recent years, there has been substantial progress on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) civil rights in the United States. We are now, though, in a time of incredible political uncertainty for queer people. LGBTQ Social Movements provides an accessible introduction to mainstream LGBTQ movements in the US, illustrating the many forms that LGBTQ activism has taken since the mid-twentieth century. Covering a range of topics, including the Stonewall uprising and gay liberation, AIDS politics, queer activism, marriage equality fights, youth action, and bisexual and transgender justice, Lisa M. Stulberg explores how marginalized people and communities have used a wide range of political and cultural tools to demand and create change. The five key themes that guide the book are assimilationism and liberationism as complex strategies for equality, the limits and possibilities of legal change, the role of art and popular culture in social change, the interconnectedness of social movements, and the role of privilege in movement organizing. This book is an important tool for understanding current LGBTQ politics and will be essential reading for students and scholars of sexuality, LGBTQ studies, and social movements, as well as anyone new to thinking about these issues.
Nonbinary gender identities : history, culture, resources
"Nonbinary gender identities are those that fall outside the traditional binary of “man” and “woman.” These include genderfluid, androgynous, genderqueer, and a multitude of other identity terms, some of which overlap. Although there have always been people who identify outside the gender binary, only recently have they gained popular media attention... Written by a nonbinary scholar and librarian, this guide includes valuable appendixes that will aid every researcher and writer: a glossary of the rich vocabulary emerging from nonbinary communities; a guide to pronoun usage; a primer on sex, sexuality, and gender; and Library of Congress Classification information."
Trans Studies: The Challenge to Hetero/Homo Normativities
Transgender people have rapidly gained public visibility, contesting many basic assumptions about what gender and embodiment really mean. The vibrant discipline of trans studies explores such challenges in depth, building on the insights of queer and feminist theory to raise provocative questions about the relationships among gender, sexuality, and accepted social norms. "Trans Studies" is an interdisciplinary essay collection, offering insights about how transgender activism and scholarship might transform scholarship and public policy.
LGBTQ: Community Curated Content
GLMA Health Professionals Advancing LGBTQ EqualityAn online Provider Directory that can help search for primary care providers, specialists, therapists, dentists and other health professionals in your area that are LGBTQ+ safe.
The service is free and you do not need to register.
Human Rights CampaignThe Human Rights Campaign represents a force of more than 3 million members and supporters nationwide. As the largest national lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer civil rights organization, HRC envisions a world where LGBTQ people are ensured of their basic equal rights, and can be open, honest and safe at home, at work and in the community.
National Center for Transgender EqualityThe National Center for Transgender Equality advocates to change policies and society to increase understanding and acceptance of transgender people. In the nation's capital and throughout the country, NCTE works to replace disrespect, discrimination, and violence with empathy, opportunity, and justice.
OutCareOutCare has identified LGBTQ healthcare resources in all 50 states. Here you will find resources including primary care, mental health services, youth groups, shelters, support groups, STI testing, and much more. Select a state below to find LGBTQ healthcare resources near you.
Philly Pride PresentsA group of volunteer coordinators under the leadership of an Executive Director and Senior Adviser which organizes “PrideDay” in June, “OutFest” in October.
The AtticThe Attic creates opportunities for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Questioning (LGBTQ) youth to develop into healthy, independent, civic-minded adults within a safe and supportive community, and promotes the acceptance of LGBTQ youth in society.
The William Way LGBT Community CenterThe William Way LGBT Community Center serves the LGBT community of Philadelphia and its allies 365 days a year. From social groups, networking events, and counseling and support services to art exhibitions and cultural experiences, the Center consistently strives to provide new and innovative programs for the LGBT communities of Philadelphia.
Trans & Queer ResourcesThis document is for allies of trans and nonbinary people to further their education and understand more about the queer and transgender experience, both for those new to the community and for those who want to further their own self-education.
Trans LifelineA grassroots hotline and microgrants 501(c)(3) non-profit organization offering direct emotional and financial support to trans people in crisis - for the trans community, by the trans community. 877-565-8860
Trans Student Educational ResourcesTrans Student Educational Resources is a youth-led organization dedicated to transforming the educational environment for trans and gender nonconforming students through advocacy and empowerment. In addition to our focus on creating a more trans-friendly education system, our mission is to educate the public and teach trans activists how to be effective organizers.
Trans* Ally Workbook: Getting Pronouns Right & What It Teaches Us About GenderBy Davey Shlasko
On Wednesday, April 18, 2018, Sonia Belasco gave a talk in Falvey Library's Speakers' Corner on the Language of Gender and Sexuality. The link above contains her powerpoint presentation.