"In 1842, a widow named Jane Rudolph sold her estate to two Augustinian friars, due to the fact that women could not own property in their own name. That estate evolved into what Villanova University is today. 2018 marks the 50th Anniversary of Villanova University becoming fully coeducational. Many Villanova women have ignited change throughout history, but to this day there are unique struggles for women on campus.
This guide will act as a centralized resource that can foster women’s advancement through education, connection, and advocacy. On campus, we have engaging clubs for women including Women in Business, Feminova, She’s the First and Society of Women Engineers. The 2017 launch of the Anne Welsh McNulty Institute for Women’s Leadership created an inclusive environment that will be a driving force for gender equity. Our Gender and Women’s Studies program offers a robust course load that challenges gender roles and sex-biased generalizations.
Malala Yousafzai once said, 'I raise up my voice—not so I can shout, but so that those without a voice can be heard...we cannot succeed when half of us are held back.' Use these resources to continuing igniting change on Villanova’s campus and beyond!"
– Marisa Reinhart (CLAS ’19)
Women and Feminism: Databases A-Z
Bibliography of Works by and about Women Writers of the Middle AgesInternet History Sourcebooks - Fordham University
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender IndexIndexes and selectively abstracts journal articles, book reviews, and book chapters about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs (ProQuest)Features digital copies of books, pamphlets and periodicals related to women's history in general and the movement for women's rights in particular. Coverage is international and extends from the middle of the 15th century to the middle of the 20th century.
Godey's Lady's Book (Accessible Archives)Presents full text access to the complete run of the magazine from 1830 to 1898. Also published as Godey's Magazine and Lady's Book. Includes all color plates as they originally appeared in the magazine.
Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present (Cambridge University Press)Provides biographical and critical accounts of the lives and works of women writers from the British Isles together with contextual materials, timelines, and bibliographies relevant to critical and historical readings. Also includes material on selected non-British and international women, and British and international men, whose writings are relevant to the historical context.
Women Writers Online (Northeastern University - Women Writers Project)Offers a full text collection of works in English by pre-Victorian women writers. Covers a variety of genres and topics. All texts were originally published between 1526 and 1850.
Women's Studies Quarterly Women and ComputingCompiled by the ACM's Committee on Women and Computing, and sponsored by the National Science Foundation, this bibliography lists articles and conference papers about women and computing. It may be searched by personal name, title, keyword, journal name, and conference title
Women and Gender in Europe, 400-1650HIS 8207
Winer, R.
Women and Gender in Medieval Europe: An Encyclopedia Women and Gender in Modern East AsiaHIS 4395
Women and Politics Women and Slavery: The Modern AtlanticVolume 2 of 2 covers the modern Atlantic world and includes a collection of essays by leading authorities in the field such as the essay on “Re-modeling Slavery as if Women Mattered” by Claire Robertson and Marsha Robinson and another one entitled “Domiciled, and Dominated: Slaving as a History of Women" by Joseph C. Miller.
Women and Underrepresented Minorities in Computing: A Historical and Social StudyBy William Aspray, this text examines in detail the issue of the underrepresentation of women, African Americans, American Indians, and Hispanics in the computing disciplines in the U.S. The work reviews the underlying causes, as well as the efforts of various nonprofit organizations to correct the situation, in order to both improve social equity and address the shortage of skilled workers in this area.
Women in CongressFeatures educational resources, historical essays, member profiles, artifacts and historical data.
Women's History Women, Peace and Security Index (WPS) (Georgetown IWPS. & Peace Research Institute of Oslo) Tutorial
Measures women’s well-being in 167 countries around the world. It examines three dimensions of women’s lives: inclusion (political, social, economic); justice (formal laws and informal discrimination); and security (at the family, community, and societal levels). A score between 0 (worst possible) and 1 (best possible) is generated for each country, ultimately determining their rank. Begun in 2017/18, the index was created by the Georgetown Institute for Women, Peace and Security in partnership with the Peace Research Institute Oslo.
Women and Feminism: Books & eBooks
Women and Underrepresented Minorities in Computing: A Historical and Social StudyBy William Aspray, this text examines in detail the issue of the underrepresentation of women, African Americans, American Indians, and Hispanics in the computing disciplines in the U.S. The work reviews the underlying causes, as well as the efforts of various nonprofit organizations to correct the situation, in order to both improve social equity and address the shortage of skilled workers in this area.
[
Details]
By Daphne Spain, this book examines the deliberate and unintended spatial consequences of feminism's second wave, a social movement dedicated to reconfiguring power relations between women and men. Placing the women's movement of the 1970s in the context of other social movements that have changed the use of urban space, this book argues that reform feminists used the legal system to end the mandatory segregation of women and men in public institutions, while radical activists created small-scale places that gave women the confidence to claim their rights to the public sphere.
[
Details]
By Leigh Gilmore. In 1991, Anita Hill brought testimony and scandal into America's living rooms during televised Senate confirmation hearings in which she detailed the sexual harassment she had suffered at the hands of Clarence Thomas. The male Senate Judiciary Committee refused to take Hill seriously, and the veracity of Hill's claims were sullied in the mainstream media. Hill was defamed as "a little bit nutty and a little bit slutty," and Thomas was confirmed. The tainting of Gill and her testimony are part of a larger social history in which women find themselves caught up in a system that refuses to believe.
[
Details]
The Cambridge Companion to Victorian Women's Writing brings together chapters by leading scholars to provide innovative and comprehensive coverage of Victorian women writers' careers and literary achievements. While incorporating the scholarly insights of modern feminist criticism, it also reflects new approaches to women authors that have emerged with the rise of book history; periodical studies; performance studies; post-colonial studies; and scholarship on authorship, readership, and publishing. It traces the Victorian woman writer's career-from making her debut to working with publishers and editors to achieving literary fame-and challenges previous thinking about genres in which women contributed with success. Chapters on poetry, including a discussion of poetry in colonial and imperial contexts, reveal women's engagements with each other and male writers. Discussions on drama, life-writing, reviewing, history, travel writing, and children's literature uncover the remarkable achievement of women in fields relatively unknown.
[
Details]
This Companion provides new ways of reading a wide range of influential women's poetry. Leading international scholars offer insights on a century of writers, drawing out the special function of poetry. They illuminate the poets' use of language, whether it is concerned with the relationship between verbal and visual art, experimental poetics, war, landscape, history, cultural identity or ‘confessional' lyrics. Collectively, the chapters cover well established and less familiar poets, from Edith Sitwell and Mina Loy, through Stevie Smith, Sylvia Plath and Elizabeth Jennings to Anne Stevenson, Eavan Boland and Jo Shapcott. They also include poets at the forefront of poetry trends, such as Liz Lochhead, Jackie Kay, Patience Agbabi, Caroline Bergvall, Medbh McGuckian and Carol Ann Duffy. With a chronology and guide to further reading, this book is aimed at students and poetry enthusiasts wanting to deepen their knowledge of some of the finest modern poets.
[
Details]
The Romantic period saw the first generations of professional women writers flourish in Great Britain. Literary history is only now giving them the attention they deserve, for the quality of their writings and for their popularity in their own time. This collection of new essays by leading scholars explores the challenges and achievements of this fascinating set of women writers, including Jane Austen, Mary Wollstonecraft, Ann Radcliffe, Hannah More, Maria Edgeworth, and Mary Shelley alongside many lesser-known female authors writing and publishing during this period. Chapters consider major literary genres, including poetry, fiction, drama, travel writing, histories, essays, and political writing, as well as topics such as globalization, colonialism, feminism, economics, families, sexualities, aging, and war. The volume shows how gender intersected with other aspects of identity and with cultural concerns that then shaped the work of authors, critics, and readers.
[
Details]
Women writers played a central role in the literature and culture of eighteenthcentury Britain. Featuring essays on female writers and genres by leading scholars in the field, this Companion introduces readers to the range, significance, and complexity of women's writing across multiple genres in Britain between 1660 and 1789. Divided into two parts, the Companion first discusses women's participation in print culture, featuring essays on topics such as women and popular culture, women as professional writers, women as readers and writers, and place and publication. Additionally, Part I explores the ways that women writers crossed generic boundaries. The second part contains chapters on many of the key genres in which women wrote, including poetry, drama, fiction (early and later), history, the ballad, periodicals, and travel writing. The Companion also provides an introduction surveying the state of the field, an integrated chronology, and a guide to further reading.
[
Details]
Women and Feminism: Community Curated Content
Secret Feminist Agenda (Podcast)Have you ever noticed how, when you don't talk to another feminist for a few days or weeks, you start to gaslight yourself a little? Second guess that micro-aggression, worry you're reading too much into an interaction, wonder if maybe you're just being too emotional? Secret Feminist Agenda is here to remind you that F#&* THAT your experiences of the world are real and valid. Also feminists are just inherently interesting.
Secret Feminist Agenda is a weekly podcast about the insidious, nefarious, insurgent, and mundane ways we enact our feminism in our daily lives. Hosted by academic and podcaster Hannah McGregor.