Key Article Databases
Education Administration Abstracts (EBSCO)
An interactive PsycINFO Tutorial allows students to learn and practice advanced search techniques.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest)
Other Useful Databases
Career and Technical Education Database (ProQuest)
Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest)
ProQuest Education Journals
ProQuest Social Science Journals
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)
Web of Science (Clarivate)
An interactive PubMed Searching Step by Step tutorial allows students to learn and practice advanced search techniques.
Offers streaming video with synchronized transcripts of psychotherapy demonstrations. Sessions are unscripted and feature professional therapists working with individuals, couples, and families. A wide variety of therapy techniques are featured.
Counseling and Therapy in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Offers streaming video collections for the study of counseling, psychology, psychotherapy, and social work. Includes counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, interviews, and teaching and discussion guides.
The Library's catalog enables patrons to search & browse Falvey Memorial Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.
Presents a combined catalog of the catalogs of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide. WorldCat highlights publications available at Villanova University. Other items can be requested via an inter-library loan request form.
WorldCat Step-by-Step is a self-paced interactive tutorial for students new to this resource.
Find more reference articles on your topic by doing a search in Articles & More and limiting your result format to reference. (Note: Formats may come up in a different order depending on the results of your search.)
Then look for articles of interest in encyclopedias and handbooks relevant to what you're studying. You can use the other facets, like subject area to focus your results, or add more keywords to your search.
Located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. NCES fulfills a Congressional mandate to collect, collate, analyze, and report complete statistics on the condition of American education.
American FactFinder is a web site used to distribute data collected by the United States Census Bureau.
It provides data for recent survey years for a range of geographies, including by Census tract, Zip Code Tabulation Area, Metropolitan Statistical Area, county, and state.
Budget History Tables -U.S. Dept. of Ed.
Shows President's budget requests and enacted appropriations for major Education Department programs from 1980-2016
Condition of Education
Congressionally mandated report that is provided to Congress annually. Contains key indicators on the condition of education in the United States at all levels.
Provides access to a wide variety of economic, social, and political indicators including data sets from the U.S. government, the International Monetary Fund, the World Trade Organization, the OECD, Eurostat, the United Nations, the world’s stock exchanges, and Zillow. Offers customized graphing and mapping.
Data.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
Digest of Educational Statistics
Statistical information on education from kindergarten through graduate school. Included data on enrollment, number of schools in various categories, faculty, graduates, educational attainment levels, financial aid and employment data
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS)
Primary source for information on U.S. colleges, universities, and technical and vocational institutions.
National longitudinal surveys (NLS)
The NLS, sponsored by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, are nationally representative surveys that follow the same sample of individuals from specific birth cohorts over time. The surveys collect data on labor market activity, schooling, fertility, program participation, health, and much, much more. Choose a cohort below to learn more.
Provides access to maps and tables of U.S. Census and American Community Survey data from 1790 to present. Also includes datasets on election, health, crime, religion, and environmental topics, as well as some international data (UK Census 2011; Canadian Census 2011; selected Eurostat data; and World Development Indicators from the World Bank.) Requires registering for a free personal account.
State Higher Education Finance (SHEF)
Includes current SHEF FY report, data and downloads, project information and information about the data collection process.
U.S. Department of Education - Data & Statistics
Education-related data and statistics
Grid-Enabled Measures Database (GEM)
ETS Test Collection database
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (EBSCO)
Provides indexing and full text for thousands of scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and business information sources. Multidisciplinary in scope.
Lexis Nexis Academic
Now Nexis Uni. Provides full-text access to national and international newspaper and magazine articles and news transcripts, business, company, and industry information in the U.S. and abroad, and legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews. Coverage varies.
LexisNexis online services and the materials contained therein are under copyright by LexisNexis. All rights reserved. No part of these Services may be used except for research purposes, and the Services may not be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise without the prior written permission of the LexisNexis Academic Library Solutions. Materials retrieved from the Services may not be duplicated in hard copy or machine-readable form without the prior written authorization of LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions, except that limited reproduction of output is permitted solely for individual use by the Authorized User or internal distribution within the Subscribing Institution in accordance with the terms of this Agreement unless further limited or prohibited by the Copyright Act of 1976. Under no circumstances may the Materials or any portion thereof be used to create derivative products or services.
New York Times: 1851- (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides full text access to the complete New York Times archive except for the most current three years. Use Nexis-Uni or ABI/INFORM for access to current content.
Washington Post Historical: 1877- (ProQuest)
Contains the full text of the Washington Post and its title variations from 1877 until seventeen years ago. More recent Washington Post content is available via Nexis Uni (1977 to the present).
Helps researchers to identify journals for manuscript submission. Provides journal overviews, metrics, and manuscript guidelines. Includes acceptance rates, journal impact factors and altmetrics where available. Also features a blacklist that identifies predatory journals. Formerly known as Cabell’s Directories of Publishing Opportunities. Villanova researchers have access to journal information in the fields of health, education, business, psychology, and psychiatry.
College Navigator (NCES)
Directory with statistical profile of colleges and universities from the National Center for Educational Statistics
"The American Educational Research Association (AERA), founded in 1916, is concerned with improving the educational process by encouraging scholarly inquiry related to education and evaluation and by promoting the dissemination and practical application of research results."
Center for Online Education
Team of internal experts and collaborative partners is dedicated to bringing you the most up-to-date, accurate information about the online learning experience, (Team includes Villanova graduate, Molly Miller, '89.)
Institute of Education Sciences (IES)
The Institute of Education Sciences (IES) is the statistics, research, and evaluation arm of the U.S. Department of Education and provides scientific evidence in formats that are useful and accessible to educators. Includes links to NCER, NCES, NCEE, NCSER.
This portal for science students and teachers provides learning tools including simulations, visual lessons, imaging and interactive Web lessons.
National School Boards Association (NSBA)
NSBA represents state school boards associations and their more than 90,000 local school board members.
Pennsylvania Department of Education
U.S. Department of Education
What Works Clearinghouse (WWC)
WWC reviews evidence of effectiveness of programs, policies, or practices by using a consistent and transparent set of standards. creates products that present findings on what works in education, including intervention reports, single study reviews, quick reviews and practice guides.
Citing and Evaluating Research
APSA Style Manual for Political Science (Complete)
Citation Style Guides & Management
Villanova Writing Center