Major Databases

Compendex is the most comprehensive multi-disciplinary engineering. Use the Find It button to check for full text.

Scopus is the most comprehensive multi-disciplinary database of peer-reviewed literature. Also good for citation analysis.

Science Citation Index, part of Web of Science, allows you to focus on high quality journals. Also good for citation analysis.

ASME Digital Collection contains every ASME journal article from 2000 to now.
Email Alfred Fry if you need conference proceedings.

Other useful Resources

ASM Handbooks

ASM Alloy Center

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library

Use Dissertations and Theses @ Villanova University (ProQuest) to find theses from past students.  For a broader search, use Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest).

Electronic and Physcial Books

EngineeringPro from Books24x7 contains thousands of electronic books from top publishers. Defaults to searching both EngineeringPro and ITPro, but you can use the drop down menu to limit to either collection.

Enter a topic to search our catalog for physical books

 

Patent Information

 

Patent information can be found in both Compendex and Scopus, but there are several sources whose sole purpose is to provide patent information.

Google Patents contains patents from the 3 major patent sources (USPTO, EPO, WIPO) in a more user-friendly interface. Foreign language patents have buttons for the original language and English (using Google Translate). One button translates the entire patent.

For US Patents: US Patent and Trademark Office

For European Patents: European Patent Office Foreign language patents have buttons that translate using Google Translate. Translations must be done for each section.

For many other countries: PATENTSCOPE from WIPO. Also contains US and EPO patents. Foreign patents can be translated by cutting and pasting into WIPO Translate.

Other article databases

IEEEXplore contains technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.

PubMed is good for biomechanical topics.

Journals from physics organizations

APS Journals searches every journal published by the American Physical Society. Physical Review Online Archive provides easy access to Physical Review from 1893-2007.

SPIN, part of AIP's Scitation platform, searches every journal published by the American Institute of Phyiscis and affiliated organizations in Russia and the Ukraine. You can also search Scitation which is less oriented towards physics.

IOPscience searches every journal published by the Institute of Phyiscs.

Codes

ICC eCodes We are currently having a problem accessing eCodes. Email Alfred Fry if you need access. Villanova is supposed to have access to International Building Code, International Energy Conservation Code, International Mechanical Code, International Plumbing Code as well as Code of Federal Regulations from the International Code Council.