Digital Biography Resources
For the most part the resources listed below will provide brief biographical information on authors and historical figures similar to those you might find on pages like Wikipedia. However, unlike Wikipedia these sources can be cited in papers and assignments. If you want more detailed biographical information on a person you should search the catalog for books on them.
Biographies
African American Studies Center (Oxford University Press)
The database provides students, scholars and librarians with online access to the finest reference resources in African American studies. At its core, AASC features the new Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895 ; Black Women in America, and the highly acclaimed Africana, a five-volume history of the African and African American experience. The Center also includes the African American National Biography project (estimated at 8 volumes); and the Encyclopedia of African American Art and Architecture. In addition to these major reference works, AASC offers other key resources from Oxford's reference program, including the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature and selected articles from other reference works.
[Details]
American National Biography Online (Oxford University Press)
Presents authoritative biographies of influential people who lived in what is now the United States. Covers only deceased subjects. Includes portraits, if available, and bibliographies with citations to works by and about featured individuals.
[Details]
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (Gale)
Provides full text access to biographical and critical essays on important literary figures from all eras, genres, and geographic areas. Many essays include manuscript pages, portraits, excerpts of criticism, bibliographies, and more. Electronic access extends back to 1978.
[Details]
Encyclopedia of World Biography (Gale)
Includes entries of approximately 7,000 biographies on notables from every part of the world and from all time periods.
[Details]
One Literature (ProQuest)
Features a digital library of English and American poetry, drama, and prose. Provides access to literary criticism indexed in ABELL and MLA International Bibliography and includes selective access to the full text of academic journals. Also includes full text access to a collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and biographical dictionaries.
[Details]
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Provides full text access to critical essays, work and topic overviews, texts from literary magazines, biographies, and more. Covers a wide range of authors including novelists, poets, essayists, and journalists.
[Details]
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (Oxford University Press)
Presents authoritative biographies of influential people who lived in Britain. Covers only deceased subjects. Includes portraits, if available, and bibliographies with citations to works by and about featured individuals.
[Details]
The database provides students, scholars and librarians with online access to the finest reference resources in African American studies. At its core, AASC features the new Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895 ; Black Women in America, and the highly acclaimed Africana, a five-volume history of the African and African American experience. The Center also includes the African American National Biography project (estimated at 8 volumes); and the Encyclopedia of African American Art and Architecture. In addition to these major reference works, AASC offers other key resources from Oxford's reference program, including the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature and selected articles from other reference works.
[Details]
American National Biography Online (Oxford University Press)
Presents authoritative biographies of influential people who lived in what is now the United States. Covers only deceased subjects. Includes portraits, if available, and bibliographies with citations to works by and about featured individuals.
[Details]
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (Gale)
Provides full text access to biographical and critical essays on important literary figures from all eras, genres, and geographic areas. Many essays include manuscript pages, portraits, excerpts of criticism, bibliographies, and more. Electronic access extends back to 1978.
[Details]
Encyclopedia of World Biography (Gale)
Includes entries of approximately 7,000 biographies on notables from every part of the world and from all time periods.
[Details]
One Literature (ProQuest)
Features a digital library of English and American poetry, drama, and prose. Provides access to literary criticism indexed in ABELL and MLA International Bibliography and includes selective access to the full text of academic journals. Also includes full text access to a collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and biographical dictionaries.
[Details]
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Provides full text access to critical essays, work and topic overviews, texts from literary magazines, biographies, and more. Covers a wide range of authors including novelists, poets, essayists, and journalists.
[Details]
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (Oxford University Press)
Presents authoritative biographies of influential people who lived in Britain. Covers only deceased subjects. Includes portraits, if available, and bibliographies with citations to works by and about featured individuals.
[Details]
