FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY

You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > English > Finding Articles

Finding Articles


Find journal articles in databases

In addition to databases listed below a full list of databases available through the library are listed in Databases A to Z and other subject specific databaes can be found under Subject Guides.

You can also search the library by entering search terms in the search bar located on any page of the library's website, hitting find, and selecting the center column for Article and More.

Some entries have full text via the database.
For others, click on findit.gif to determine


After clicking on the "Find it" button one of 3 things will happen

  1. You will be linked directly to the article
  2. There will be a blue button "Full text online" that you can click to access the article
  3. There will be a blue button "Request scan" which will allow you to request the article through interlibary loan. 

  Identifying Scholarly Journals

 Articles

MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations to articles from over 4,400 journals and series published internationally, as well as monographs, collections, and various types of reference works. Subscription to the MLA International Bibliography also includes access to the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
[Details]

Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Cross-searching capability between Literature Resource Center (LRC) and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
[Details]

Literature Online (Chadwyck-Healey)
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 382 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
[Details]

Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)
Indexes and abstracts articles in more than 300 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history and world literature.
[Details]

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCO)
This is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.
[Details]

ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
Search worldwide periodicals for in-depth coverage of a wide variety of scholarly journals, popular press magazines and newspapers. Many articles are full-text.
[Details]

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Thomson Reuters)
Provides quick, powerful access to bibliographic and citation information you need to find research data and analyze trends, journals, and researchers from the world's leading arts and humanities journals. The database provides user ability to track prior research and monitor current developments, see who is citing their work, measure the influence of colleagues' work, and follow the path of today's hottest ideas. Coverage begins 1991 to present.
[Details]

Project Muse
Searchable collection of recent full-text humanities, social science and mathematics journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
[Details]

JSTOR
A searchable and browsable archive of full-text core journals and books in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
[Details]

Literature Criticism Online (Gale)
LCO is an extensive compilation of literary commentary reaching back 30 years and cover centuries of critiques on authors and their works that span all time periods, types of literature and regions. The cross searchable collection brings together the most acclaimed literary series Drama Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism and Short Story Criticism providing criticism on the major authors, dramatists and poets. The database includes Shakespearean Literature Criticism with a comprehensive coverage of critical interpretations of his plays and poetry.
[Details]

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online (Johns Hopkins)
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, as well as theatrical productions, reviews of productions and other material related to Shakespeare published or produced from 1960 to the present, with coverage continuing to extend forward and backward in time.
[Details]

Iter: Bibliography of Medieval and Renaissance Europe from 400-1700
A bibliography of more than 300 scholarly journal titles pertaining to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.
[Details]

OmniFile Full Text Mega (EBSCO)
Provides indexing, abstracting, and selected full text to the Wilson databases for Business, Education, General Science, Humanities, Readers' Guide, and the Social Sciences. Also includes selected full text to the Wilson databases for Art, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science.
[Details]

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Scholar search tips
[Details]

Lexis Nexis Academic
Will be replaced by Nexis Uni, Sept 30, 2017Provides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
"LexisNexis online services and the materials contained therein are under copyright by LexisNexis. All rights reserved. No part of these Services may be used except for research purposes, and the Services may not be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise without the prior written permission of the LexisNexis Academic Library Solutions. Materials retrieved from the Services may not be duplicated in hard copy or machine-readable form without the prior written authorization of LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions, except that limited reproduction of output is permitted solely for individual use by the Authorized User or internal distribution within the Subscribing Institution in accordance with the terms of this Agreement unless further limited or prohibited by the Copyright Act of 1976. Under no circumstances may the Materials or any portion thereof be used to create derivative products or services."
[Details]

GenderWatch (ProQuest)
A full-text database that provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. GenderWatch supports gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Offers researchers with articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace.
[Details]

Film & Television Literature Index (EBSCO)
A comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. It has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.
[Details]

Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (EBSCO)
Includes indexing of over 450 periodicals as far back as 1983 and searchable full text of articles from over 250 journals as far back as 1994. Subject coverage includes antiques, arts, business, computers, education, entertainment, film & television, gardening, health & medicine, history, home improvement, literature, news & current events, photography, popular & classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, science, sports & fitness, transportation, travel and much more.
[Details]

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO)
Provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. Subject coverage includes arts, business, computers, crafts, dance, drama, education, entertainment, fashion, film & television, food, gardening, health and medicine, home improvement, literature, news and current events, photography, popular and classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, sports and fitness, technology, transportation, travel and more.
[Details]

American literary scholarship
Annual bibliography of scholarship in American literature
[Details]

The Year's work in English studies
An annual bibliography compiling scholarship in English studies. A bibliographical review of scholarly work on English language and literatures written in English. It is the largest and most comprehensive work of its kind and the oldest evaluative work of literary criticism. The Year’s Work in English Studies does not merely offer annotated or enumerated bibliography entries, but provides expert, critical commentary supplied for every book covered.
[Details]

The year's work in critical and cultural theory
The Year's Work in Critical & Cultural Theory provides a narrative bibliography of work in the field of critical and cultural theory, recording significant debates and issues of interest in a broad field of research in the humanities and social sciences. As the field of critical and cultural studies expands, so the range and scope of the volume grow, and volumes now include chapters on Queer theories and cultures and Film Studies.
[Details]

swingo Sarah Wingo
Librarian for English Literature and Theatre
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 223
610-519-5183


Sarah Wingo is available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.

Click on the button below to schedule a research appointment.


 


Last Modified: 2017-10-17 09:37:36