FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY

You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Environmental Science

Environmental Science


 Databases

Web of Science (Clarivate)
Web of Science provides seamless access to the following: Science Citation Index Expanded (1945-present) Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present) Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1991-present) Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present) Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present) Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present) Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present) Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present) Current Chemical Reactions (1986-present) (Includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840) Index Chemicus (1993-present)
[Details]

Scopus (Elsevier)
Provides abstracts and citations for peer-reviewed journals in all major disciplines. Offers comprehensive coverage of the scientific, technical, medical, geographic and social sciences (including arts and humanities). Includes complete contents of GEOBASE multidisciplinary database.
[Details]

Pollution Abstracts (ProQuest)
Abstracts articles from journals, conference proceedings and hard-to-find documents. Includes scientific research and government policies.
[Details]

GeoRef
Covers the most comprehensive database of geoscience literature.
[Details]

 Encyclopedias

Environmental Encyclopedia
Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis, and suggested solutions whenever possible.
[Details]

Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America
Presents extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of more than 1,200 species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife service. Arranged taxonomically, entries include introductory information with an image of the species; a summary section detailing information on each species; a concluding summary of recovery efforts; and a bibliography of contacts for further information.
[Details]

Encyclopedia of Biodiversity
Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity
[Details]

Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences
Written and edited by leading worldwide authorities in the field, and comprising nearly 200 substantial articles, the Encyclopedia provides detailed, informed coverage of the subject. Organised into 17 themed parts for the reader's ease of navigation, it offers up-to-date, scientifically rigorous information on all key aspects of the subject, from sub-catchment to the global scale, in a convenient and credible manner.
[Details]

Weather Almanac
The Weather Almanac presents hundreds of in-depth weather records for 108 major U.S. cities and a climatic overview of the country, including 33 U.S. weather atlas maps. You'll find explanations, safety rules and statistics for hurricanes, tornadoes and more. Includes a glossary, subject index and a guide to additional weather resources.
[Details]

 Dictionaries, etc.

 Web Sites

afry Alfred Fry
Science and Engineering Librarian
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 224
610-519-4283


rbowles Robin Bowles
Nursing & Life Sciences Librarian
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 220
610-519-8129


Looking For an Article?

Search by DOI:

Find online or in print by journal title or ISSN:

Request an article from InterLibrary Loan

Get an article from our print journals electronically

Request a print volume of a journal from Remote Storage

Still can't find it? Email Alfred Fry

Citation Managers

ZoteroMendeleyRefWorks

Journal Citation Reports is the source for journal impact factors.


 


Last Modified: 2018-01-12 10:13:34