The Library has a large collection of reference works, most of them in electronic format. Use the custom search box below to search across most of the Library's electronic encyclopedias, handbooks, and companions or go directly to one of the recommended resources.





A Companion to Women's and Gender Studies
Explores the central concepts, theories, themes, debates, and events of women's and gender studies covering a wide range of topics from global, postcolonial, intersectional, and interdisciplinary perspectives.

Oxford Handbooks Online (Oxford University Press)
Provides digital access in selected disciplines. Each handbook introduces and surveys the state of scholarship in a field of study through review articles written by leading subject specialists. Articles review key issues and debates and set the agenda for new research. Includes the Oxford Handbook of Global LGBT and Sexual Diversity Politics, the Oxford Handbook of American Women's and Gender History, and the Oxford Handbook of Gender and Politics among others.

A Companion to Gender History
Surveys the history of women around the world, studies their interaction with men in gendered societies, and looks at the role of gender in shaping human behavior over thousands of years.

The Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies.
Examines and explores the lives and experiences of LGBTQ individuals, focusing on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives.

The Handbook of Language, Gender and Sexuality. (2nd ed.)
Provides a global overview of key historical themes and issues, along with methodologies and research topics.

The Handbook of Gender, Work, and Organization.
Features interdisciplinary literature reviews and empirical findings. The handbook is organized in five sections: histories and philosophies; organizing work and the gendered organization; embodiment; globalization; and diversity.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Offers access to a collection of digital encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and directories in the arts, social sciences, business, and sciences.

Oxford Bibliographies (Oxford University Press)  Tutorial
Presents peer-reviewed, annotated bibliographies and expert commentary on current scholarship in selected disciplines.

Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present (Cambridge University Press)
Provides biographical and critical accounts of the lives and works of women writers from the British Isles together with contextual materials, timelines, and bibliographies relevant to critical and historical readings. Also includes material on selected non-British and international women, and British and international men, whose writings are relevant to the historical context.