The Library owns a selection of full text African American newspaper archives. A range of African American magazines are indexed in the two Readers' Guide databases listed below. Articles discovered with the help of these indexes can be requested through interlibrary loan.
Included below are instructions on how to discover additional African American and African newspapers and magazines in the Library's collection.
Selected Newspaper Archives
Provides access to international, national and local news sources. Many different news media such as newspapers, magazines, wires, blogs and transcripts are aggregated in English and foreign languages. The content is current and archival. Industry, company and market profiles are also provided.
Access World News (NewsBank) Tutorial
Provides full text access to national and international newspaper articles and radio and television news transcripts. Many newspapers, including the Philadelphia Inquirer, offer full-image “page view” format. Includes user-friendly subject browse feature, as well as full text searchability. Coverage varies.
Nexis Uni Limitations on Use
Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic. Provides full text access to national and international newspaper and magazine articles and news transcripts, business, company, and industry information in the U.S. and abroad, and legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews. Coverage varies.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
Offers access to the full text of articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. While most of the content is in English, some content in non-English languages is included. Coverage for most newspapers and magazines goes back to the early 1990s, but earlier content is also available.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century (Accessible Archives)
Provides access to the major 19th century African American newspapers including The Christian Recorder (1861-1902), Freedom's Journal (1827-1829), The North Star (1847-1851), and Frederick Douglass' Paper (1851-1863).
Black Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Offers access to the major African American newspapers of the 20th century: the Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), the Cleveland Call & Post (1934-1991), the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), the Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), the Norfolk Journal & Guide (1921-2003), the Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001), and the Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
Black Panther (Marxist Internet Archive)
Presents digital copies of surviving copies of the Black Panther newspaper. The Black Panther was the official organ of the Black Panther Party. Huey P. Newton and Bobby Seale founded the newspaper in Oakland, California in 1967. It ceased publication on September 16, 1980.
Muhammad Speaks (Independent Voices - Reveal Digital)
Provides free access to the complete digital archive. Published from 1961 to 1975 as the official newspaper of the Nation of Islam. Claimed to be most widely read newspaper ever produced by an African American organization.
Online Newspaper Archives Index (Wikipedia)
Identifies and links to selected online newspaper archives worldwide.
Selected Magazine Indexes and Archives
Provides indexing and selected full text for articles from general interest and popular magazines. Coverage begins in 1983; full text begins in 1994. Covers a broad range of popular subjects.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO)
Provides indexing for articles from general interest and popular magazines. Covers 1890 through 1982. Covers a broad range of popular subjects.
The Crisis, 1910-1922 (NAACP)
Founded by W.E.B. Du Bois in 1910 and published under the umbrella of the NAACP. The first twelve years of the journal are freely available online. Later years are available in print and on microfilm at the Library.
Freedomways (Independent Voices - Reveal Digital)
Offers free access to the complete digital archive of one of the leading African American opinion magazines. Founded by Louis Burnham, Edward Strong, W.E.B. Du Bois, and Shirley Graham Du Bois. Chronicled the American civil rights movement and Pan-Africanism. Published from 1961 to 1985.
Ebony Archive (Google Books)
Presents digital color copies of Ebony magazine issues from November 1959 to December 2008.
Ebony Archive (Internet Archive)
Presents digital copies of Ebony magazine issues from November 1945 to December 1961. The digital copies were created from microfilm copies.
Online Magazine Archives Index (Wikipedia)
Identifies and links to selected online magazine archives worldwide.
Discover Newspapers and Magazines through Library of Congress subjects
WorldCat is ideally suited for the discovery of serial publications. It employs the same Library of Congress subjects used in Falvey’s Books & Media catalog but includes nearly all English language newspapers and magazines ever published as well as many foreign language news sources.
Library of Congress subjects facilitate the discovery of unknown news sources that match a set of criteria. Looking up an already known newspaper or magazine is a good way to start. For example, a title search for Freedom's Journal, the first African American newspaper, will retrieve a record with two subjects.
Each subject is hyperlinked and will generate a different title list. "African Americans – Newspapers" will generate a list of all African American newspapers available through Falvey. "New York (N.Y.) – Newspapers" will generate a list of newspapers published in New York City. Now that we are familiar with the Library of Congress subject thesaurus for newspapers we can look for African American newspapers that circulated in Los Angeles:
The same approach can be used to discover magazines. The Library of Congress subject for magazines is "periodicals." A search for "African Americans - Periodicals" in Falvey's catalog retrieves close to 50 records among them The Crisis, The Radical Abolitionist, Jet, and Ebony. Some of the periodicals are academic journals such as The Black Scholar and the Journal of African American Studies as the subject "periodicals" is used for magazines as well as for academic journals. Also included will be bibliographies that identify African American magazines such as African American Newspapers and Magazines: A National Bibliography. Such bibliographies are a great resource to learn more about existing newspapers and magazines. They typically include information about available formats and libraries with holdings.