The Library owns a selection of full text newspaper archives. A wide range of magazines are indexed in the two Readers' Guide databases listed below. Articles discovered with the help of these indexes can be requested through interlibrary loan.
Included below are instructions on how to discover newspapers and magazines in the Library's collection.
Visit the Library's Newspapers & Magazines guide to learn more about research with serial publications. The Library's News guide lists a wide range of current news sources.
Selected Newspaper Archives
Provides access to international, national and local news sources. Many different news media such as newspapers, magazines, wires, blogs and transcripts are aggregated in English and foreign languages. The content is current and archival. Industry, company and market profiles are also provided.
Access World News (NewsBank) Tutorial
Provides full text access to national and international newspaper articles and radio and television news transcripts. Many newspapers, including the Philadelphia Inquirer, offer full-image “page view” format. Includes user-friendly subject browse feature, as well as full text searchability. Coverage varies.
Nexis Uni Limitations on Use
Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic. Provides full text access to national and international newspaper and magazine articles and news transcripts, business, company, and industry information in the U.S. and abroad, and legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews. Coverage varies.
MideastWire.com
Offers translations of selected news from 22 Arab countries and the Arab diaspora.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
Offers access to the full text of articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. While most of the content is in English, some content in non-English languages is included. Coverage for most newspapers and magazines goes back to the early 1990s, but earlier content is also available.
Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers (East View)
Features archives of selected Middle Eastern and North African newspapers spanning from the second half of the 19th century to the early 20th century. Most newspapers are written in Arabic but a few English, French, and bilingual editions are included. Over a third of the titles are from Syria. Lebanese newspapers are also strongly represented. The remaining titles are from Iraq, Egypt, Algeria, Saudi Arabia, Morocco, and Palestine. Most of the collection consists of out-of-copyright, orphaned content, but five subscription titles, which are not available to the Villanova community, are also included. Use the Arabic keyboard to enter search terms in Arabic. Search results appear in image and text format. Open access is made possible through the generous support of the Center for Research Libraries and its member institutions.
Online Newspaper Archives Index (Wikipedia)
Identifies and links to selected online newspaper archives worldwide.
Selected Magazine Archives
Identifies and links to selected online magazine archives worldwide.
Discover Newspapers and Magazines through Library of Congress subjects
WorldCat is ideally suited for the discovery of serial publications. It employs the same Library of Congress subjects used in Falvey’s Books & Media catalog but includes nearly all English language newspapers and magazines ever published as well as many foreign language news sources.
Library of Congress subjects facilitate the discovery of unknown news sources that match a set of criteria. Looking up an already known newspaper or magazine is a good way to start. For example, a title search for Al-Quds al-'Arabi in WorldCat will retrieve multiple records for this newspaper. Click on the first match to open the full record to see the Library of Congress subjects assigned to this newspaper.
Click on the "Middle East -- Newspapers" subject and on the Serials tab on the results page. This will generate a list of over 200 Middle Eastern newspapers, some in English, many in Arabic, and some in other languages. Limited runs of newspapers can often be requested through interlibrary loan if a microfilm copy is owned by a US library.
The same approach can be used to discover magazines. The Library of Congress subject for magazines is "periodicals." A search for "Saudi Arabia" and "Periodicals" in WorldCat retrieves over 1,000 matching records. Some of the periodicals are academic journals. The subject "Periodicals" is used for academic journals as well as for popular magazines.