The Library owns a wide variety of newspaper and magazine archives. A range of magazines are indexed in the two Readers' Guide databases listed below. Articles discovered with the help of these indexes can be requested through interlibrary loan.

Included below are instructions on how to discover additional newspapers and magazines in the Library's collection and beyond.

Visit the Library's Newspapers & Magazines guide to learn more about research with serial publications. The Library's News guide lists a wide range of current news sources.


Selected Newspaper Archives

New York Times (NYTimes.com)  Access Instructions
Offers access to all sections of the NYTimes.com website without monthly limits. Coverage from 1851 to present, with limited availability of articles from 1923-1980.
Subscription courtesy of the Provost's Office and Falvey Memorial Library.

New York Times: 1851- (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides full text access to the complete New York Times archive except for the most current three years. Use NYTimes.com, Nexis Uni, or ABI/INFORM for access to current content.

Washington Post Historical: 1877- (ProQuest)
Contains the full text of the Washington Post and its title variations from 1877 until seventeen years ago.

Alternative Press Index (EBSCO)
Provides citations with selected abstracts to articles published in alternative and often marginalized journals, newspapers, and magazines. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Covers 1991 to the present.

Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
Offers access to the full text of articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. While most of the content is in English, some content in non-English languages is included. Coverage for most newspapers and magazines goes back to the early 1990s, but earlier content is also available.

American Indian Newspapers (Adam Matthew Digital)
Sourced from the Sequoyah National Research Center (University of Arkansas at Little Rock) and the Newberry Library in Chicago, this newspaper archive covers nearly two hundred years of American Indian history in North America from 1828 to 2016 and offers American Indian perspectives on federal and tribal politics, self-representation, environmental activism, the American Indian Movement, tribal schools and colleges, and many other topics. It also features a series of topical essays.

Black Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)  Tutorial
Offers access to the major African American newspapers of the 20th century: the Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), the Cleveland Call & Post (1934-1991), the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), the Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), the Norfolk Journal & Guide (1921-2003), the Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001), and the Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).

Online Newspaper Archives Index (Wikipedia)
Identifies and links to selected online newspaper archives worldwide.


Selected Magazine Indexes and Archives

Alternative Press Index (EBSCO)
Provides citations with selected abstracts to articles published in alternative and often marginalized journals, newspapers, and magazines. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Covers 1991 to the present.

Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (EBSCO)
Provides indexing and selected full text for articles from general interest and popular magazines. Coverage begins in 1983; full text begins in 1994. Covers a broad range of popular subjects.

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO)
Provides indexing for articles from general interest and popular magazines. Covers 1890 through 1982. Covers a broad range of popular subjects.

LGBT Magazine Archive (ProQuest)
Provides full text access to the most influential LGBT+ news resources including The Advocate (full coverage from its inception in 1967), The Pink Paper, Just for Us, The Albatross, and the notable UK publications Gay News and Gay Times.

Online Magazine Archives Index (Wikipedia)
Identifies and links to selected online magazine archives worldwide.


Discover Newspapers and Magazines through Library of Congress subjects

WorldCat is ideally suited for the discovery of serial publications. It employs the same Library of Congress subjects used in Falvey’s Books & Media catalog but includes nearly all English language newspapers and magazines ever published as well as many foreign language news sources.

Library of Congress subjects facilitate the discovery of news publications. Looking up an already known newspaper or magazine is a good way to start. For example, a title search for Middle Earth, one of the many short-lived counterculture newspapers of the 1960s, will retrieve multiple records. Click on the first match to open the full record. The record will have multiple Library of Congress subjects. The generic "Newspapers" is not very helpful but a search that combines the subjects "Underground newspapers" and "Newspapers" will focus search results and produce a list of alternative news media. Alternatively use the Serials limit on the search form. Note that a simple subject search for "Underground newspapers" without the use of the Serials limit will generate a list that includes books about the alternative press.

Middle earth.jpg

Subjects in WorldCat records are hyperlinked and call up all records with the same subject. "Underground newspapers -- Iowa -- Iowa City" generates a short list which includes only two titles: The Iowa City Oppressed Citizen and Middle Earth. To broaden your search go back to the search page and delete "Iowa" and "Iowa City" from the search boxes. This will expand the results list to over 400 matches including such papers as the Black Panther, Kudzu, and the Baltimore Free Press. Most of these papers are not available at Villanova University but you may be able to request copies through interlibrary loan. While libraries generally do not loan print issues of newspapers to other libraries, they often share microfilm reels. Limit search results to microform and check to see whether the microfilm is held by a US library, then submit an interlibrary loan request.

The same approach can be used to discover magazines. The Library of Congress subject for magazines is "Periodicals." A search for "Video games" and "Periodicals" in WorldCat retrieves over 600 titles. Some of the periodicals on the list are peer-reviewed academic journals such as Games and Culture as the subject "Periodicals" is used for magazines as well as for academic journals. The vast majority of matches are popular magazines such as Electronic Gaming Monthly and The Official Xbox Magazine given the nature of the subject matter.

Keep in mind the ephemeral nature of many alternative newspapers and magazines. They often started as self-published newsletters and only a few graduated to regular publication schedules and established media distribution channels. The number of libraries that have copies of these newspapers and magazines are limited which may make them difficult to locate. Databases such as The Alternative Press Index (see above) are often the best way to get started.