The Library has a large collection of reference works, most of them in electronic format. Use the custom search box below to search across most of the Library's electronic encyclopedias, handbooks, and companions.





Gale Virtual Reference Library
Offers access to a collection of digital encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and directories in the arts, social sciences, business, and sciences.

Oxford Research Encyclopedias (Oxford University Press)
Offers peer-reviewed topical introductions and literature reviews written by well-regarded authorities. Includes encyclopedias on Asian history and linguistics. New content is regularly added.

Oxford Bibliographies (Oxford University Press)  Tutorial
Presents peer-reviewed, annotated bibliographies and expert commentary on current scholarship in selected disciplines.

Oxford Handbooks Online (Oxford University Press)
Provides digital access in selected disciplines. Each handbook introduces and surveys the state of scholarship in a field of study through review articles written by leading subject specialists. Articles review key issues and debates and set the agenda for new research. Includes among others the Handbook of Asian American History, the Handbook of the International Relations of Asia, and the Handbook of Classical Chinese Literature.

Encyclopedia of Chinese Language and Linguistics (Brill)
Offers a systematic and comprehensive overview of the languages of China and the different ways in which they are and have been studied.

The Cambridge History of China
Covers Chinese history from the 3rd century BC, to the death of Mao Tse-tung in 15 volumes.

The Cambridge History of Inner Asia (Cambridge University Press)
Survey history of Central Asia from the palaeolithic era to the rise of the Mongol empire in the thirteenth century.

The Cambridge History of Japan (Cambridge University Press)
From prehistory to the present day, the series encompasses the events and developments in Japanese polity, economy, culture, religion and foreign affairs.

The Cambridge History of Southeast Asia (Cambridge University Press)

The New Cambridge History of India (Cambridge University Press)
Interdisciplinary survey history of India from the 14th century on.