Books & Chapters

The catalog includes records of books in the Library's print and electronic collections. Use WorldCat for a comprehensive review of the monograph literature.

Falvey Library Catalog
The Library's catalog enables patrons to search & browse Falvey Memorial Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.

WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Presents a combined catalog of the catalogs of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide. WorldCat highlights publications available at Villanova University. Other items can be requested via an inter-library loan request form.

JSTOR
This archive includes a large selection of electronic books published by university presses

Articles

The Library subscribes to a large number of academic journals. Use the E-Journal Finder or the Articles file in the Library's catalog to look for known references. Request articles from journals that are not part of the Library's collections through interlibrary loan.
Below is a list of selected databases that are your gateway to discover research published in journal articles. The Library's blue Findit button serves as a bridge to the full text.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Indexes academic journals, magazines, books, book reviews, and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present, excluding North American history which is covered in the companion index America: History and Life. Includes abstracts for academic journal articles and selective full text content. Coverage extends back to 1953.

America: History and Life (EBSCO)
Indexes the literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes citations for journal and magazine articles, book reviews, and dissertations. Abstracts of journal articles are included together with selected full-text. Indexing goes back to 1964.

MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
Provides citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of literature, language and linguistics, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and folklore. International in scope; coverage from 1926 to the present.

Newspapers & Magazines

This is a small selection of Irish newspapers followed by British and U.S. news sources relevant for Irish studies research. For a more exhaustive list of newspaper and magazine archives visit the Library's history subject guide.

Irish Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Presents a complete archive of the Irish Times back to 1859 (except for the most recent two years) and the Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958).

Irish Press
Irish American newspaper published in Philadelphia from 1918-1922.

Locally digitized Irish newspapers
Available titles include The Free State, The Irish Felon, The Irish People, The Irish Tribune, The Irish Worker and People's Advocate, The Irishman, The United Irishman, and The Waterford Chronicle.

Irish newspapers on microfilm
Titles available include: An-Phoblacht/The Republic, Belfast News-letter, Dublin News, Evening Freeman, Evening Telegraph, Freeman's Journal, Irish Freedom, Irish Times, Irish Tribune, Irishman, Pilot, The Peasant, United Irishman, and The Weekly Nation.

Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2012 (Gale)
Provides access to the archive of the Times of London from its inception through about five years ago.

Burney Collection Newspapers: Seventeenth-Eighteenth Century (Gale)
Features the newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817), representing the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media.

British Periodicals (ProQuest)
Provides access to British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th century with the majority of content from the 19th century. Covers a broad range of topics.

Eighteenth Century Journals (Adam Matthew Digital)  Limitations on Use
Features journals and newspapers published between 1685 and 1815 in England, Scotland, Ireland, Jamaica, and British India.

New York Times: 1851- (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides full text access to the complete New York Times archive except for the most current three years.

Washington Post Historical: 1877- (ProQuest)
Contains the full text of the Washington Post and its title variations from 1877 until seventeen years ago. More recent Washington Post content is available via Nexis Uni (1977 to the present).

America’s Historical Newspapers (Readex)
Includes full text of selected early American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922.

Primary Sources

Use the Library's catalog and WorldCat to discover primary sources published in books. Contact a librarian if you need assistance.

Falvey Library Catalog (Books & Media)
Use the catalog to find primary sources in the Library\'s collection.

WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Use WorldCat to discover primary sources in books at other libraries and request to request them through interlibrary loan.

Early English Books Online (Chadwyck-Healy)
Provides access to print publications from England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 to 1700. Includes books, pamphlets, manuscripts, and newspapers. For searchable text of selected titles see Early English Books Online -Text Creation Partnership.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale)
Offers full text access to nearly every English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, alongside thousands of works published in the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera.

Making of the Modern World, Part I, 1450-1850 (Gale)
Provides access to digital copies of books, serials, and various other works of economic literature published between 1450 and 1850. Presents critical primary sources on European economic history including economic theory, imperialism, wealth creation, and trade.

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 (Gale)
Offers digital access to books, pamphlets, serials, and other sources published worldwide from 1500 to the early 20th century and documenting the history of the Americas.

Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs (ProQuest)
Features digital copies of books, pamphlets and periodicals related to women's history in general and the movement for women's rights in particular. Coverage is international and extends from the middle of the 15th century to the middle of the 20th century.

National Archives of Ireland
Features research guides, selected digitized primary sources, and detailed records of its holdings in its catalog.

Enhanced British Parliamentary Papers on Ireland (Documenting Ireland)
Primary sources relating to all aspects of Irish affairs during the period of the Union, including bills, reports, commissions of inquiry, and census reports.

Irish Emigration Database (Documenting Ireland)
Features emigration-related primary sources, principally letters to and from emigrants, compiled by the Centre for Migration Studies, Omagh.

Voices of Migration and Return (Documenting Ireland)
Presents over 90 life-narrative interviews conducted with returned and non-returned migrants from Ulster gathered during the course of two studies on contemporary migration (2004-2008). The study participants represent a range of geographic origins within Ulster, class backgrounds and religious denominations.

Biographical Information

The three most authoritative biographical dictionaries for Irish Studies are The Dictionary of Irish Biography, the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (British History), and The American National Biography Online (American History). To find biographical information about subjects not covered in these three reference works use one of the following approaches.

Articles & More Search
Type the name of a subject into the Articles & more section of the Library's catalog and refine your results to "Reference" under Format. The catalog will retrieve results from a large variety of electronic reference works. Use Findit to link to the full text.

Books & Media
Type the name of a subject into the Books & Media file of the catalog to find book-length biographies. Focus your search through a subject search (Advanced search). Alternatively, try a subject search for a group of subjects using the following pre-defined terms: Biography and Dictionary and [group of subjects]
Example: Saints and Ireland and Dictionaries
Example: Poets, Irish and Biography and Dictionaries
Try the same in WorldCat if local results are not satisfactory.

Dictionary of Irish Biography
Published by Cambridge University Press in collaboration with the Royal Irish Academy this 11 volume set describes over 10,000 Irish lives.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (Oxford University Press)
Presents authoritative biographies of influential people who lived in Britain. Covers only deceased subjects. Includes portraits, if available, and bibliographies with citations to works by and about featured individuals.

American National Biography Online (Oxford University Press)
Presents authoritative biographies of influential people who lived in what is now the United States. Covers only deceased subjects. Includes portraits, if available, and bibliographies with citations to works by and about featured individuals.

Encyclopedias, Handbooks & Companions

The Library has a large collection of reference works, most of them in electronic format, but some classics are still only available in print. All of the electronic reference works are indexed in the Articles & more file of the Library's catalog. Simply limit your search results to Reference under Format.
To locate and consult print reference works use the Books & Media file of the Library's catalog or consult with your librarian.

Oxford Handbook of Modern Irish History
Edited by Alvin Jackson.
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2014.

Oxford Companion to Irish History
Second edition. Edited by S.J. Connolly.
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2002.

Cambridge History of Ireland
Edited by Brendan Smith.
4 volumes. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2017.

Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture
Edited by James S. Donnelly, Jr.
Detroit: Macmillan, 2004.

Encyclopaedia of Ireland
Edited by Brian Lalor.
Dublin: Gill & Macmillan, 2003.

Medieval Ireland: An Encyclopedia
Edited by Sean Duffy.
New York: Routledge, 2005.

Atlas of Irish History
Second edition. By Ruth Dudley Edwards.
London: Methuen, 1981.

Northern Ireland: A Chronology of the Troubles 1968-1999
By Paul Bew and Gordon Gillespie.
Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1999.

Blackwell Companion to Modern Irish Culture
Edited by W.J. McCormack.
Oxford: Blackwell, 1999.

Cambridge Companion to Modern Irish Culture
Edited by Joe Cleary and Claire Connolly.
Cambridge University Press, 2005.

Celtic Culture: A Historical Encyclopedia
Edited by John T. Koch.
5 volumes. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO.

Encyclopedia of the Irish in America
By Michael Glazier.
Notre Dame, Ind.: University of Notre Dame Press, 1999.

Irish in America: A Guide to the Literature and the Manuscript Collections
By Patrick J. Blessing.
Washington, D.C.: Catholic University of America Press, 1992.

Encyclopedia of American Immigration
Edited by James Ciment.
Armonk, NY: Sharpe Reference, 2001.

Oxford Companion to Irish Literature
Edited by Robert Welch.
Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1996.

Oxford Handbook of Modern Irish Poetry
Edited by Fran Brearton and Alan Gillis.
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2012.

Dictionary of Irish Literature
Revised and expanded edition. Edited by Robert G. Hogan and Zack Bowen.
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.

Irish Research: A Guide to Collections in North America, Ireland, and Great Britain
Compiled by DeeGee Lester.
New York: Greenwood Press, 1987.