The Library subscribes to many academic journals. Use the Journal and Article Finder search page to locate specific journals and the article title option on the Library’s search menu to look up specific articles. Articles published in journals that are not part of the Library’s collection can be requested through interlibrary loan.
JSTOR and the Library’s Articles & more search are good starting points for interdisciplinary research projects. "Limit to articles from peer-reviewed journals" on the Articles & more results page to exclude books and non-academic journals. Visit the Library’s subject guides for discipline-specific indexes and databases. BrowZine offers easy browsing access to the Library’s Irish studies journals.
Search all the Library's electronic collections in all disciplines simultaneously.
Offers easy browsing access to the Library's Irish studies journal collection. Look up known journal titles or search for "Irish" or "Ireland". Includes Irish Political Studies and Irish Studies Review among others.
America: History and Life (EBSCO)
Indexes the literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Use this database to find articles about Irish immigrants to the North American continent.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Indexes academic journals, magazines, books, book reviews, and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present, excluding North American history which is covered in the companion index America: History and Life. Covers Irish history from the late Middle Ages to the present.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Provides citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of literature, language and linguistics, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and folklore.
Irish History Online (Royal Irish Academy)
Presents bibliographical data on historical scholarship dealing with Ireland during all periods from prehistoric times to the present. Covers monographs, editions, articles from international, national and local history journals, and essays in collective volumes published since the 1930s. Includes indexes of subjects, places and people.
Provides a full text archive of academic journals and books in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. The most recent three to five years of a journal are usually not included.
Irish Studies Journals (JSTOR)
Features close to 50 journals ranging from the late 18th century (The Transactions of the Royal Irish Academy) to the 21st century (The North American Journal of Celtic Studies).
New York Irish History: Journal of the New York Irish History Roundtable
Offers open access to the complete archive of the journal back to 1986. The journal explores New York Irish history and culture.