The three most authoritative biographical dictionaries for Irish studies are The Dictionary of Irish Biography, The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (British History), and The American National Biography Online (American History).
 

Dictionary of Irish Biography (Cambridge University Press)
Published in collaboration with the Royal Irish Academy this multi-volume set describes over 10,000 Irish lives.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (Oxford University Press)
Presents authoritative biographies of influential people who lived in Britain. Covers only deceased subjects. Includes portraits, if available, and bibliographies with citations to works by and about featured individuals.

American National Biography Online (Oxford University Press)
Presents authoritative biographies of influential people who lived in what is now the United States. Covers only deceased subjects. Includes portraits, if available, and bibliographies with citations to works by and about featured individuals.


Use the search box below to find biographical information about persons not covered in the reference sources listed above.






For book-length biographies select Subject from the Books & more search menu and type the names of individuals into the search box. You may use the same approach to find reference books containing biographies of specific classes of people.

Example: Saints AND Ireland AND Biographies
Example: "Poets, Irish" AND Biography AND Dictionaries

Try the same search in WorldCat if the local catalog does not have the desired information.

Falvey Library Catalog
The Library's catalog enables patrons to search & browse Falvey Memorial Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.

WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Presents a combined catalog of the catalogs of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide. WorldCat highlights publications available at Villanova University. Other items can be requested via an inter-library loan request form.