PAIS International (ProQuest)
WorldCat is a catalog of library collections worldwide. WorldCat highlights publications available at Villanova University. Other items can be requested via an inter-library loan request form.WorldCat Step-by-Step
is a self-paced interactive tutorial for students new to this resource.
The Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) database contains references for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more.
Full-text retrieval from the official journal of the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese.
SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library
A French journal that focuses on Brazilian studies within the context of Portuguese colonization and the lusophone community.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Online full-text retrieval of mainly Brazilian scholary periodical literature primarily in the technical, physical, and medical sciences, but also in the humanities and applied social sciences is provided through SciELO.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Covers sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Journals published by sociological associations, groups, faculties and institutes, and periodicals containing the term "sociology" in their titles are abstracted fully.
The Roper Center is to collect, preserve, and disseminate public opinion data; to serve as a resource to help improve the practice of survey research; and to broaden the understanding of public opinion through the use of survey data in the United States and around the world. Roper Center - The Latin American Databank at The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (LAD)
The LAD locates, acquires, processes and archives public opinion surveys conducted by the survey research community in Latin America and the Caribbean, including universities, institutes, individual scholars, private polling and public opinion research firms.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
Indexes proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exhibition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Commerce Reports, Country Reports and Market Indicators and Forecasts from the Economist Intelligence Unit offer monthly and annual in depth analysis, data and ratings for the infrastructure, demographics, political scene, domestic economy, foreign trade, including regional and industrial sector breakdowns for over 200 countries.
Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest)
An annotated reference guide to the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 as well as book reviews and dissertations.A Short Introduction to Historical Abstracts is a self-paced interactive tutorial for students new to this resource.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).
A resource that aggregates dispersed content about theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, full-text journal articles and policy briefs, and teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features.
EconLit with Full Text (EBSCO)
Full text access to all of the books, periodicals, statistics and working papers produced by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development since 1998. Statistics are available via pdf files or via interactive databases with downloadable Excel or comma delimited text. Metadata is easily accessible. Books, periodicals and working papers may be searched by title or subject fields or in full text. Browsing by publication type or thematic subject is also available. SourceOECD comprises 20 Book collections by theme, containing all our monographs and reports; 24 periodicals; a reference title; and the OECD statistical databases.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, working papers and dissertations from 1969 to present based on the Journal of Economic Literature's subject classification. This enhanced version of EconLit includes the full text of all AEA journals and roughly 600 other scholarly journals.
Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Organizations and Think Tanks
The library tab offers AI reports on various countries and themes.International Monetary Fund
Publications of the IMF are available from their website.Latin American Migration Project - LAMP
Research for the Latin American Migration Project has been possible thanks to the support provided by the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (grant R01 HD35848). The surveys in Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Paraguay, and Haiti received financial support from the Mellon Foundation.Organization of American States - OAS
Established to achieve among its member states, as stated in Article 1 of its Charter, “an order of peace and justice, to promote their solidarity, to strengthen their collaboration, and to defend their sovereignty, their territorial integrity, and their independence.” Today it comprises the 35 independent states of the Americas and has granted permanent observer status to 63 states, as well as to the European Union. The Organization of American States constitutes the principal political, juridical, and social governmental forum in the Hemisphere.Pew Research : Hispanic Trends
Launched in 2001 as the Pew Hispanic Center, the project seeks to improve public understanding of the diverse Hispanic population in the United States and to chronicle Latinos’ growing impact on the nation. The project conducts public opinion surveys, publishes demographic studies and other social science research and is well-known for its estimates of the unauthorized immigrant population in the U.S.Political Database of the Americas (PDBA)
Through its website, the PDBA offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region.SEDLAC (Socio-economic database for Latin America and the CaribbeanP
This website includes statistics on poverty and other distributional and social variables from 24 Latin American and Caribbean countries, based on microdata from households surveys.
ECLA/CEPAL - Economic Commission for Latin AmericaECLAC, which is headquartered in Santiago, Chile, is one of the five regional commissions of the United Nations. It was founded with the purpose of contributing to the economic development of Latin America, coordinating actions directed towards this end, and reinforcing economic ties among countries and with other nations of the world. The promotion of the region's social development was later included among its primary objectives.Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
Commerce Reports, Country Reports and Market Indicators and Forecasts from the Economist Intelligence Unit offer monthly and annual in depth analysis, data and ratings for the infrastructure, demographics, political scene, domestic economy, foreign trade, including regional and industrial sector breakdowns for over 200 countries.Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.Falvey's LAS Dictionaries
These specialized dictionaries focus on a variety of topics in Latin American Studies.Falvey's LAS Encyclopedias
Reference and main stack materials found in Falvey's collection.Gateway to Information- Latin American Studies
Ohio State Univervity's gateway to online reference resources for Latin American and Brazilian Studies.Handbook of Latin American Studies - HLAS (LC)
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.Inter-American Democratic Charter
The Charter, adopted in September 2001, launched a new era of the inter-American system. It describes the conditions that define democratic governance, as well as hemispheric instruments
that may be used in its defense and guidelines for its strengthening.Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
This major gateway to internet-based information for Latin American Studies targeted at people living in Latin America, as well as those around the world who have an interest in this region.Latinbarometro
Latinobarómetro is an annual public opinion survey that involves some 19,000 interviews in 18 Latin American countries, representing more than 400 million inhabitants. Latinobarómetro Corporation researches the development of democracy and economies as well as societies, using indicators of opinion, attitudes, behaviour and values. Its results are used by social and political actors, international organizations, governments and the media.Political Handbook of the World (Sage/CQ Press)
Comprehensive country profiles chronicling national history, government, and political parties, as well as profiles on intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.
Political Elites in Mexico, 1900-1971: Online Data Archive
The Political Elites in Mexico, 1900-1971 dataset is typically used by researchers who are familiar with statistical software programs such as SPSS or SAS. These programs are used to analyze the data and determine statistical patterns.This dataset contains information on the political office holder's sex, birthplace, profession/occupations, military service, date and place of birth and death, father's occupation, education (preparation, length, attainment, specialization, foreign training), travel abroad, intellectual activities (publications, teaching), political affiliation, political offices held and length of stay, activity during the revolution of 1910-1920, geographical entity represented, memberships in political and other organizations.
]Latin American Writers
A collection of biographical and critical essays on Latin American writers by scholars from the U.S., Latin America, and Europe.
Lexis Nexis AcademicWill be replaced by Nexis Uni, Sept 30, 2017
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news (national, international, regional, business, legal, and foreign language), business (company financial news and information, accounting, auditing & tax information, industry and market news), and legal (law reviews, federal case law, state legal research) sources. It also features news transcripts, the U.S. Code, Constitution & Court rules, state and country profiles, medical abstracts, and reference & directory sources.
"LexisNexis online services and the materials contained therein are under copyright by LexisNexis. All rights reserved. No part of these Services may be used except for research purposes, and the Services may not be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise without the prior written permission of the LexisNexis Academic Library Solutions. Materials retrieved from the Services may not be duplicated in hard copy or machine-readable form without the prior written authorization of LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions, except that limited reproduction of output is permitted solely for individual use by the Authorized User or internal distribution within the Subscribing Institution in accordance with the terms of this Agreement unless further limited or prohibited by the Copyright Act of 1976. Under no circumstances may the Materials or any portion thereof be used to create derivative products or services."Historical New York Times: 1851- (ProQuest)The New York Times
is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times
, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current three years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.ProQuest Newsstream
Includes access to the full text of over 1,300 newspapers, news websites and blogs including The New York Times
, Wall Street Journal
and Washington Post
, plus other important U.S., international and minority interest papers.Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
A comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.Internet Public Library Newspapers
Online newspapers from around the world.Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library (CNDL)
Provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. CNDL continues to add historical and current newspapers through ongoing digitization and born-digital curation, expanding the geographic, temporal, political and linguistic variety of the newspapers.North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA)
An independent, nonprofit organization founded in 1966 that works toward a world in which the nations and peoples of Latin America and the Caribbean are free from oppression and injustice, and enjoy a relationship with the United States based on mutual respect, free from economic and political subordination. To that end, our mission is to provide information and analysis on the region, and on its complex and changing relationship with the United States, as tools for education and advocacy - to foster knowledge beyond borders.
Organization of American States - OAS
Established to achieve among its member states, as stated in Article 1 of its Charter, “an order of peace and justice, to promote their solidarity, to strengthen their collaboration, and to defend their sovereignty, their territorial integrity, and their independence.” Today it comprises the 35 independent states of the Americas and has granted permanent observer status to 63 states, as well as to the European Union. The Organization of American States constitutes the principal political, juridical, and social governmental forum in the Hemisphere.
]Pan American Health Organization
An international public health agency with more than 100 years of experience in working to improve health and living standards of the countries of the Americas. It serves as the specialized organization for health of the Inter-American System. It also serves as the Regional Office for the Americas of the World Health Organization and enjoys international recognition as part of the United Nations system.