The Library has a large collection of reference works, most of them in electronic format. Use the custom search box below to search across most of the Library's electronic encyclopedias, handbooks, and companions.





Gale Virtual Reference Library
Offers access to a collection of digital encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and directories in the arts, social sciences, business, and sciences.

Oxford Bibliographies (Oxford University Press)  Tutorial
Presents peer-reviewed, annotated bibliographies and expert commentary on current scholarship in selected disciplines. Includes among others bibliographies for Atlantic history and Latin American studies.

Oxford Handbooks Online (Oxford University Press)
Provides digital access in selected disciplines. Each handbook introduces and surveys the state of scholarship in a field of study through review articles written by leading subject specialists. Articles review key issues and debates and set the agenda for new research. Includes among others the Oxford Handbook of Latin American History.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.

The Cambridge Companion to Modern Latin American Culture (Cambridge University Press)
Surveys Latin American history, politics, art and literature from the nineteenth century to the present.

The Cambridge History of Latin American History (Cambridge University Press)
An authoritative large-scale history of the whole of Latin America - Mexico and Central America, the Spanish-speaking Caribbean (and Haiti), Spanish South America and Brazil, from the first contacts between the native peoples of the Americas and Europeans in the late-fifteenth and early-sixteenth centuries to the present day.

The Cambridge Economic History of Latin America (Cambridge University Press)
Surveys Latin American economies from the colonial era to the end of the 20th century.

The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature (Cambridge University Press)
Covers the whole sweep of Latin American literature (including Brazilian) from pre-Columbian times to the present, and contains chapters on Latin American writing in the US.

The Cambridge History of Religions in Latin America (Cambridge University Press)
Covers religious history in Latin America from pre-conquest times until the present and addresses the breadth of Latin American religion, including religions of the African diaspora, indigenous spiritual expressions, new religious movements, alternative spiritualities, and secularizing tendencies.

Latinobarometro
Conducts annual public opinion surveys in 18 Latin American countries to monitor the development of democracies, economies and societies, using indicators of attitude, opinion and behavior.