Country profiles relevant to international business are not all created equal. Some emphasize macroeconomic conditions, others concentrate on political and social developments whereas the scope of some reports may be limited to specific sectors.
Doing business reports summarize the salient regulations and conditions that influence doing business in a country such as taxation, labor conditions, trade barriers, corporation law, negotiation norms, and so forth.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Aggregator of reports from Business Monitor International, CountryWatch and IHS Global Insight. Search for target country using the drop down geographic terms and then limit to source type country reports. CIA - The World Factbook
Profiles have sections on geography, government, economy, energy, communication, transportation, military, and transnational issues. Economist Intelligence Unit
Country reports have in-depth coverage of the economy and politics with forecasts. Global Edge
Free source from Michigan State that restates authoritative country information from reliable sources covering economy, history, government, risk, corporations and culture. Mergent Online
Right bottom screen had drop down for country profiles. Profiles list and provide data tables for economic conditions, top industries, trade, finance, history and geography, people, government, communication, and transportation. OECD iLibrary
Reports and studies on energy, environment, employment, education, trade, taxation, finance, and social conditions for OECD countries and selected non-member countries. Recommended to browse by theme and country. Passport (Euromonitor International)
Country and Consumer tab offers reports on the business environment, economy, finance, trade, industry, infrastructure, environment, & communication. Uniquely strong in terms of reports on consumer lifestyles. Political Handbook of the World (Sage/CQ Press)
Comprehensive country profiles chronicling national history, government, and political parties, as well as profiles on intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.
Doing Business Guides
China Data Online (China Marketing Research Co.)
Provides national, provincial, city and regional data series including national accounts, prices, employment, income, industry, foreign trade, agriculture, construction, transportation, telecommunication, and education in monthly and annual time series.Data-Planet (Sage)
Provides access to a wide variety of economic, social, and political indicators including data sets from the U.S. government, the International Monetary Fund, the World Trade Organization, the OECD, Eurostat, the United Nations, the world’s stock exchanges, and Zillow. Offers customized graphing and mapping.Data-Planet Guide to Statistics by Nation
Guide to national statistics available in Data-Planet.Economist Intelligence Unit
Features commerce reports, country reports and market indicators and forecasts with monthly and annual in-depth analysis, data and ratings. Covers infrastructure, demographics, political scene, domestic economy, foreign trade, including regional and industrial sector breakdowns of over 200 countries.Eurostat
"Eurostat is the Statistical Office of the European Communities. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level. By harmonising statistics from the European statistical system (ESS) to a single methodology, the statistics are made comparable"Global Financial Data
Features historical data on worldwide stock exchanges, bond indices, intraday data, futures, interest rates, population, and much more. All data is clearly defined, easy to read, and readily downloadable into Excel.
Authorized users (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff.IMF eLibrary Data
International Monetary Fund (IMF) statistics on Balance of Payments, International Financial Statistics, Government Finance Statistics and Direction of Trade Statistics. Time series are presented in browsable and searchable tree. Results may be downloaded in a variety of formats.OECD StatisticsThis is the part of the OECD iLibrary-- the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)-- that features statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. Contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).OFFSTATS Official Statistics on the Web
Free directory of links to official statistics on the web searchable by country or topic.Passport (Euromonitor International)
Use the Market Indicators and Forecasts module for comparable statistics.United Nations Statistics
Global statistical information on economics, demographic, social indicators, environment, energy and Millennium Development Goals.World Bank - DataBankDataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them. A World Bank DataBank tutorial is also available.