Sensitivity to the customes and practices of doing buisiness in other countries is not new, but has never been more important to American business people.  These resources should help to foster  the intercultural competence necessary for global trade and multinational management.

 Country Background Reports

BBC News Country Profiles
"Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions".

CIA - The World Factbook
The online Factbook is updated bi-weekly. The U.S. government’s complete geographical handbook, featuring full-color maps and flags of all nations and geographical entities. Each country profile tracks such demographics as population, ethnicity and literacy rates, as well as political, geographical and economic data. (Bartleby.com)

Economist Intelligence Unit
Features commerce reports, country reports and market indicators and forecasts with monthly and annual in-depth analysis, data and ratings. Covers infrastructure, demographics, political scene, domestic economy, foreign trade, including regional and industrial sector breakdowns of over 200 countries.

Global Edge
Global business knowledge site providing access to authoritative data from Michigan State University.

Mergent Online
Provides detailed financial statements for U.S. and international public and private companies, including SEC filings and current and historical annual reports for U.S. and International public companies. Data can be downloaded in a variety of formats. Also includes country profiles.
Access limited to 4 simultaneous users.

OECD iLibrary
Provides full text access to the books, periodicals, working papers, and statistical publications produced by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development since 1998. Also contains several statistical databases including Main Economic Indicators, International Trade by Commodity Statistics, and compendia of agriculture, education, environment, and social statistics.

OxResearch (Oxford Analytica; ProQuest)
Presents brief original articles on significant economic and political developments in countries and regions around the world; the analysis focuses on the impact of these developments on the business climate. Updated daily.

Political Handbook of the World (Sage/CQ Press)
Comprehensive country profiles chronicling national history, government, and political parties, as well as profiles on intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.

Doing Business Guides

Guides to doing business are distinguished from country background reports to the extent that they focus on the requirements for and limitations to commercial activity.

 Doing Business Guides

Country Commercial Guides.
Country Commercial Guides (CCG's) are prepared annually by U.S. embassies with the assistance of several U.S. government agencies. These reports present a comprehensive look at countries' commercial environments, using economic, political and market analysis. The CCG's were established by recommendation of the Trade Promotion Coordinating Committee (TPCC), a multi-agency task force, to consolidate various reporting documents prepared for the U.S. business community." Site contains data published prior to 2001. For data published after 2001, please visit the US State Department

Deloitte Taxation & Investment Guides
"The Taxation and Investment Guides are a first stop for investors wishing to gain a working perspective on the operating conditions and investment climate – including the legal, accounting and taxation framework."

Economist Intelligence Unit
Features commerce reports, country reports and market indicators and forecasts with monthly and annual in-depth analysis, data and ratings. Covers infrastructure, demographics, political scene, domestic economy, foreign trade, including regional and industrial sector breakdowns of over 200 countries.

UHY Doing Business Guides
"Prepared by UHY’s member firms, each ‘Doing Business’ guide covers country specific business information you need to consider should you wish to pursue business interests there".

World Bank Doing Business
Data and reports on business regulation for regions, 189 nations and some subnational entities and cities.

Business Etiquette and Communication

These digital books are compendiums on cross cultural business communication.

Cambridge handbook of culture organizations and work

Handbook of business discourse

When cultures collide leading across cultures

World Business Cultures

Negotiating international business

Kwintessential

To find books in the Falvey Library collection search the following subject terms in our Catalog and combine them with your target country

  • business etiquette
  • intercultural communication
  • communication in management
  • business communication
  • negotiation in business
  • corporate culture


.

Language Arts

Digital Bilingual Dictionaries

Romance Languages & Literature Research Guide  Guide to language resources at Falvey Library.

Catalog Search our catalog for "self instruction" or grammar and the target language to find language learning books.

iTunes University  Has numerious videos for independentllearning languages.  You will need to download iTunes to view them.  Emory Universities are quite popular.

News

 

Use your Villanova WSJ.com and FT.com subscriptions.

  EMIS Intelligence (Emerging Markets Information Service)
Delivers company and industry information together with relevant news, research and analytics for developing markets.
[Details]

  Lexis Nexis Academic
For quick results search the Countries Information form on the left hand navigation.
[Details]

Import/Export Associations

FITA  Federation of International Trade Associations with links to leads, market research, country profiles.

 Foreign Industry Reports

  ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)

Search by subject keyword or phrase or drill down to relevant NAICS or classification codes.  Use the location field to identify the target market.  Use the document type check off to limit to industry reports, market reports and market research.  Offers reports published by BMI, Euromonitor and others.



  EMIS Intelligence (Emerging Markets Information Service)
Delivers company and industry information together with relevant news, research and analytics for developing markets.

  Passport (Euromonitor International)  Limitations on Use

Start at the Industries tab, choose the relevant consumer product or service category, use the search tree to drill down to the specific category and select the geography.  Categories are relatively narrowly defined, but limited to consumer goods and services. 



  IBISWorld
Global & China reports

  Lexis Nexis Academic

Use the Lexis-Nexis Markets and Industry Search link.  Expand Advanced Options and check off Canadean and IDC Research (the others don’t cover foreign markets).  Search by keywords or build your own segment search.  When viewing results select show full document.



  OneSource

Select the Industries tab, search by keyword or phrase across all classifications in the source.  Select All Market Research to see reports from Marketline, Freedonia, Emerging Markets, Euromonitor and the U.S. Commercial Service.  Sort by Country for easy browsing.