Industry & Market Research Reports

Industry and market research reports are convenient overviews providing concise data and insights into the workings of a defined market. Typically industry profiles describe industry suppliers, customers, competitors, market size, trends, operating conditions and list trade publications and associations.

The scope and nature of industry reports vary depending on how the category is defined by activity, geography, and intended audience. For example some reports are national, whereas others are regional or global. The detailed level of activity also varies. Some industries are very narrowly defined for example to include only rehabilitation facilities whereas others may cover all healthcare facilities. Finally some reports are written for potential investors, whereas others are written with the marketing professional or business strategist in mind.

Even very recently published industry profiles should be updated by searching trade news, browsing trade association sites, and whenever practical speaking to insiders.

 Industry Profiles

ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
Search by industry keyword or NAICS code and limit results to Source Type, reports.  Aggregates foreign and US reports from Business Monitor International, First Research and others..

Bizminer
BizMiner offers "Sole Proprietor and Start-Up" and "Industry Financial Reports" with average income statements, cash flows, balance sheet and financial ratios for benchmarking and projections for smaller private enterprises. Offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. It is searchable by keyword, SIC code or industry cluster.

Bureau of Labor Statistics Industries at a Glance
Brings together data on employment, unemployment, hiring, productivity, earnings, hours, union representation, and injuries by NAICS code

Catalog at Falvey
Several online reports available by searching Plunkett Research as the author.

EMIS Intelligence (Emerging Markets Information Service)
Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS) aggregates industry reports from several publishers including Oxford Economics, BMI, MarketLine, Euromonitor, and many others.  Limited to developing economies.  Choose country, reports tab and then filter by industry

Passport (Euromonitor International)  Limitations on Use
Our subscription includes consumer products and services.  Excellent global coverage.  Reports most useful for marketing managers.

First Research Industry Profiles (ABI/Inform Collection - ProQuest)
Provides industry profiles with critical analysis, statistics, and forecasts. Coverage extends back to 2009.

Gartner  Limitations on Use
Gartner is a leading information technology research provider. Gartner offers market statistics and forecasts for hardware, software, communications, IT services and semiconductors. Additionally there are reports and case studies by IT topic and by industry. Subscription courtesy of Villanova UNIT.

Global Edge
Michigan State University curates quality free resources by industry

IBISWorld
U.S. and global industry market research reports for 4 digit NAICS code and additional narrower specialized categories.

Lexis Nexis Academic
Market research reports fairly well hidden by this aggregator of business information. Expand Company, Company Dossier, Industry tab, search or browse, select reports.  Alternate path by source directory browse, Industries and Markets, search Industry Reports & Analysis.  Aggregates profiles from ICD, Hoovers, Canadean, & Just.

Mergent/Moody's Manuals (Mergent Archives)
Regional industry reports broadly defined. Use the Industry Report Search tab.

Mintel Reports  Limitations on Use
Indepth research reports for consumer products and services written for marketing professionals.

NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's Capital IQ)
Broadly defined US industries.  The gold standard for an industry report.

D&B Global Business Browser
Offers public and private company and industry information including company profiles, market research reports from Marketline, Freedonia, Euromonitor and RMA updated with recent news, executive profiles and analyst reports. Formerly known as Onesource/Avention.

Sports Market Analytics
Offers statistics, articles, and reports on sporting goods, participation, fans, media, and facilities. Formerly known as Sports Business Research Network.

Statistical Insight (ProQuest)
Occasionally the full text of trade association reports for industries or markets are available in this general index to statistics of all kinds.

U.S. Census Business & Industry
Mostly monthly, quarterly, annual and 5 year data by NAICS code.

U.S. Commercial Service Market Research Library
Free registration required. Unpredictable coverage for foreign markets, but worthwhile checking.

Value Line Investment Survey
Brief one page industry profiles designed for investors.