search by phrases \"venture capital\" and \"private equity\"
Emerging Markets & Private Equity Association Statistics, case studies and news about the industry
National Venture Capital Association Statistics and yearbook with overview of industry developments.
Private Equity Demystified: An Explanatory Guide, Second Edition by Wright & Gilligan "Private Equity Demystified is published as part of the ICAEW Corporate Finance Faculty’s thought leadership programme, Financing Change and includes a review of major academic studies on private equity globally. This not only outlines what is known, but highlights what isn’t yet known about the impact of private equity and areas where evidence is lacking.
Search Our Catalog For the subjects "venture capital" or "private equity" to find books such as those above. Refine results to online and books and by date.
The following trade sources report on deals and trends in the industry. Browse them for the most up-to-date insights on the industry.
Private Equity International via Lexis or Free Web
Private Equity Wire via Lexis or Free Web
Private Equity Manager
Private Placement Letter
WSJ Venture Capital Dispatch
New York Times Dealbook
Use the expert search to identify venture capital firms by type of funding, industry, geographic focus or many other criteria.
Venture Capital & Private Equity Firms (Grey House Publishing)
Presents an international directory of venture capital and private equity firms. Profiles include information about each firm's mission, industry and geographic preferences, portfolio companies, and more; also includes background information about each firm's executives.
Other University Resources
The Applied Finance Lab located in Bartley Hall can provide limited on-site access to the following databases rich in content related to private equity and venture capital.
- Bloomberg Terminals
- SDC Platinum
Academic research on venture capital and private equity are concentrated in a few journals devoted to the topic, but are also published in a wide spectrum of scholarly business journals. Browse the devoted journals and search the databases.
Best Scholarly Databases VC and PE
ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
Provides access to scholarly journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, and country-and industry-focused reports. Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Provides access to a wide range of academic business journals and trade magazines. Topics include management, marketing, accounting, finance, economics, international business, operations management and management information systems. Full-text access may be embargoed for up to three years. Coverage goes back to 1965. EconLit with Full Text (EBSCO)
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, working papers and dissertations in the field of economics based on the Journal of Economic Literature's subject classification
. Provides access to the full-text of selected journals including all American Economic Association journals. Topics include economic theory and history, monetary theory, labor economics, international, regional and urban economics. Coverage goes back to 1886.
Provides abstracts and citations for peer-reviewed journals in all major disciplines. Offers comprehensive coverage of the scientific, technical, medical, geographic and social sciences (including arts and humanities). Includes complete contents of GEOBASE multidisciplinary database. Social Sciences Citation Index/Web of Science
Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references from the journal literature in the physical and social sciences. Search by article title word, journal title, author, cited author or reference, or address word (e.g. author's institution). Coverage begins 1956 to present.
Key Scholarly Journals
Journal of Business Venturing
Journal of Private Equity