FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY

You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > History > Biographical Information

Biographical Information

The three most authoritative and convenient bibliographical dictionaries for American and British history are listed below: The American National Biography Online, the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (British History), and the African American National Biography (African American Studies Center Online). To find biographical information about subjects not covered in these three reference works use one of the following approaches.

Articles & more
Type the name of a subject into the Articles & more section of the Library's catalog and refine your results to "Reference" under Format. The catalog will retrieve results from a large variety of electronic reference works. Use Findit to link to the full text.

Books & more
Type the name of a subject into the Books & more section of the Library's catalog to find book-length biographies. Focus your search through a subject search (Advanced search). Alternatively, try a subject search for a group of subjects using the following pre-defined terms: Biography and Dictionary and [group of subjects]
Example: Biography and Dictionary and Women
Example: Biography and Dictionary and Women and Scientists
Try the same in WorldCat if local results are not satisfactory.

American National Biography Online (Oxford)

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

African American Studies Center Online (Oxford)
Includes the African American National Biography project (estimated at 8 volumes).

Ancestry Library Edition (ProQuest)
A vast collection of genealogical data which traces the history of millions of individuals going in some cases as far back as 1300.  The collection consists of census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more.

jseibert Jutta Seibert
Director of Academic Integration
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 228
610-519-7876


Jutta Seibert is the subject librarian for History and is available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.

Click on the button below to schedule a research appointment.


 


Last Modified: 2017-08-24 15:49:48