FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY

You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > History > Books & Chapters

Books & Chapters

The Library's catalog has records for all books in its print and electronic collections. Use WorldCat for a comprehensive review of the monograph literature.

Falvey Library Catalog
The Library's catalog enables patrons to search & browse Falvey Memorial Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.

WorldCat (OCLC)
WorldCat is a catalog of library collections worldwide. WorldCat highlights publications available at Villanova University. Other items can be requested via an inter-library loan request form.
WorldCat Step-by-Step is a self-paced interactive tutorial for students new to this resource.

JSTOR
The JSTOR journal archive now includes a large selection of electronic books published by university presses.

Digital Editions of Books in the Public Domain

Federal government docuements and books published prior to 1923 are generally in the public domain and freely available online. The two best catalogs for this type of material are listed below. You may also try a simple internet search.

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations are often the precursors for later monograph publications. Most of the dissertations submitted after 1997 and quite a few earlier ones are available in digital format. Those that are not available through Proquest can be requested through interlibrary loan.

Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest)

Selected Historical Digital Collections

The Library has a number of historical collections. These collections typically all the books published in a particular period and/or geographic area. Some of them include languages other than English. They all have full text search capabilities. The content of these collections can also be discovered with the help of the Library's catalog.

  Early English Books Online (EEBO)

  Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale)

  Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 (Gale)

  Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 (Readex)

  Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 (Readex)

  Making of the Modern World

  Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs (ProQuest)

jseibert Jutta Seibert
Director of Academic Integration
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 228
610-519-7876


Jutta Seibert is the subject librarian for History and is available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.

Click on the button below to schedule a research appointment.


 


Last Modified: 2017-08-24 23:17:36