FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY

You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > History > Encyclopedias, Handbooks & Companions

Encyclopedias, Handbooks & Companions

The Library has a large collection of reference works, most of them in electronic format, but some classics are still only available in print. All of the electronic reference works are indexed in the Articles & more file of the Library's catalog. Simply limit your search results to "Reference" under Format.

To locate and consult print reference works use the Books & more file of the Library's catalog or consult with your librarian.

Articles & More Search
This section of the catalog is limited to electronic resources. Use the "Reference" facet under Format to retrieve articles from encyclopedias, handbooks and companions. Check the box next to "Include articles at other libraries" to expand your search to resources held by other libraries.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A large collection of academic encyclopedias and dictionaries by various publishers.
A self-paced interactive tutorial is available for those new to this resource.

Oxford Handbooks Online (Oxford University Press)
Provides digital access in selected disciplines. Each handbook introduces and surveys the state of scholarship in a field of study through review articles written by leading subject specialists. Articles review key issues and debates and set the agenda for new research. Villanova University does not have access to the complete collection. Try access through the Library’s print collection and/or interlibrary loan services.

Cambridge Histories Online (Cambridge University Press)
Search across all the Cambridge Histories or browse individual volumes.

Cambridge Companions Online (Cambridge University Press)
Scholarly introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.

jseibert Jutta Seibert
Director of Research Services & Scholarly Engagement
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 228
610-519-7876


Jutta Seibert is the subject librarian for History and is available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.

Click on the button below to schedule a research appointment.


 


Last Modified: 2018-01-03 16:33:10