FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY

You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > History > Journal Articles

Journal Articles

The Library subscribes to a large number of history journals. Use the E-Journal Finder or the Articles file in the Library's catalog to look for known references. Request articles from journals that are not part of the Library's collections through interlibrary loan.

Below is a list of selected history databases that are your gateway to discover journal articles on your topic of choice. The Library's blue Findit button serves as a bridge to the full text.

Recommended Databases for Historians

America: History and Life (EBSCO)
The scope of this database is limited to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
America: History & Life is a self-paced interactive tutorial for students new to this resource.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Covers journal articles on world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
A Short Introduction to Historical Abstracts is a self-paced interactive tutorial for students new to this resource.

International Medieval Bibliography (Brepols)
The International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) is a current, comprehensive bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide.

Additional Sources for Journal Articles

Articles & More Search
This page enables you to search millions of full text articles and other electronic resources available through the Library. While it doesn't provide access to everything the library has to offer, it is an excellent starting point for your searches. Check "Include articles at other libraries" to expand your search to content not available locally.

JSTOR
A searchable and browsable archive of full-text core journals and books in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Current content is generally not covered. Note that JSTOR does not include all the history journals that the Library has access to.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Thomson Reuters)
This database includes unique citation information. See who is citing whom. Coverage begins 1991 to present and only a selected set of journals is indexed.

Social Sciences Citation Index/Web of Science
This database includes unique citation information. See who is citing whom. Coverage begins 1956 to present and only a selected set of journals is indexed.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCO)
Covers some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.

Iter: Bibliography of Medieval and Renaissance Europe from 400-1700
A bibliography of more than 300 scholarly journal titles pertaining to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

Rambi: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
A selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies.

jseibert Jutta Seibert
Director of Academic Integration
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 228
610-519-7876


Jutta Seibert is the subject librarian for History and is available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.

Click on the button below to schedule a research appointment.


 


Last Modified: 2017-08-24 16:15:17