References to newspaper and magazine articles should include the day and/or month instead of volume and issue numbers in addition to the year of publication. Unsigned articles without author information are fairly common, particularly in pre-20th century newspapers and magazines. In some cases, articles may lack titles as well. Below you will find the major style rules for citing newspaper and magazine articles following the notes and bibliography system of Chicago style followed by selected examples. Visit the Library's Citation Resources guide for information about APA and MLA styles.

Magazine ArticlesCrisis.jpg

  • Initial articles are dropped from magazine titles. The Crisis is referenced as Crisis in notes and bibliography citations.
  • Titles of magazine articles are given in quotation marks and capitalized headline-style.
  • Weekly and monthly magazines, even if numbered by volume and issue, are cited by date only. The date follows the title of the magazine after a comma. It is not enclosed in parentheses.
  • Inclusive page numbers for articles may be omitted as magazine articles are often interrupted by extraneous material and spread out over many pages. A specific page may be referenced in the note. Page numbers, if included, follow the date separated by a comma.
  • Recurring titles of regular columns are cited headline-style but without quotation marks.
  • For articles consulted online the URL or the name of the database should be included.
  • For more details see Chicago Manual of Style, 14.188 ff.

Notes (examples)

  1. Katha Pollitt, “Goodbye, Columbus?” Nation, July 13, 2020, 6–8, OpinionArchives.
  2. Jill Lepore, "The Last Time Democracy Almost Died: Learning from the Upheaval of the Nineteen-Thirties," New Yorker, January 27, 2020, https://www.newyorker.com.
  3. NAACP, "The Massacre of East St. Louis," Crisis, September 1917, 219-238, https://modjourn.org/issue/bdr510785/#.
  4. T.W.S., The Woman's Slant, Life, April 1933, 42, ProQuest American Periodicals.

Bibliography (examples)
Lepore, Jill. "The Last Time Democracy Almost Died: Learning from the Upheaval of the Nineteen-Thirties." New Yorker, January 27, 2020. https://www.newyorker.com.
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. "The Massacre of East St. Louis." Crisis, September 1917, 219-238. https://modjourn.org/issue/bdr510785/#.
Pollitt, Katha. “Goodbye, Columbus?” Nation, July 13. OpinionArchives.
T.W.S. The Woman's Slant. Life, April 1933. ProQuest American Periodicals.

Newspaper ArticlesPrensa.jpg

  • Initial articles are dropped from English language newspaper titles. The Philadelphia Inquirer is referenced as Philadelphia Inquirer in notes and bibliography citations. Initial articles are retained for newspapers in other languages, e.g., La Prensa (San Antonio, TX), El País (Madrid).
  • Place of publication information is added in parentheses unless it is already clear from the title where a newspaper is published. For example, it is obvious that The Philadelphia Inquirer is published in Philadelphia. Generic newspaper names such as Times benefit from added geographic information in parentheses: Times (London).
  • Titles of newspaper articles are given in quotation marks and capitalized headline-style. Long titles may be abbreviated. For articles that lack a title, the first line of the article may be used instead.
  • The publication date follows the title of the newspaper after a comma. It is not enclosed in parentheses. Volume and issue numbers are not used in newspaper article references.
  • Recurring titles of regular columns are cited headline-style but without quotation marks. See the example for the Imperial Parliament column from the Irish Times below.
  • Unsigned newspaper articles need not be listed in the bibliography. The name of the newspaper takes the place of the author’s name if such articles are listed in a bibliography. References in a note start with the article title. See the examples of articles from the Irish Times and the Los Angeles Sentinel below.
  • Inclusive page numbers for articles may be omitted as newspaper articles are often interrupted by extraneous material and spread out over multiple pages. A specific page may be referenced in a note. Page numbers, if included, follow the date separated by a comma.
  • Include edition information for newspapers which have more than one edition such as an evening edition or an Eastern edition.
  • Include section number or title if a newspaper has multiple sections.
  • Newspaper articles documented in the text or the notes may be omitted from the bibliography.
  • For articles consulted online include the URL or the name of the database.
  • For more details see Chicago Manual of Style, 14.191 ff.

Notes (examples)

  1. Megan Zahneis, “Diversity Without Dollars,” Chronicle of Higher Education, September 9, 2020, 6–8, http://www.chronicle.com.
  2. Jim Reagan and Lucia Russett, “Immigrants’ Freedom Ride,” Catholic Worker, January 1, 2004, Catholic News Archive.
  3. "Columbus' Days are Numbered," Los Angeles Sentinel, November 5, 1992, ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
  4. Peter Stone, “Scientists Relate How War Hysteria Smothers Research,” Daily Worker, January 6, 1953, BrillOnline: The Daily Worker Online.
  5. Mel Rasmussen, "Controversy Reigns at the National Museum of the American Indian," Ojibwe News, April 7, 1995, Ethnic NewsWatch.
  6. Imperial Parliament, Irish Times, August 10, 1859, ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

Bibliography (examples)
Los Angeles Sentinel. "Columbus' Days are Numbered." November 5, 1992. ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Irish Times. Imperial Parliament. August 10, 1859. ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Rasmussen, Mel. "Controversy Reigns at the National Museum of the American Indian." Ojibwe News, April 7, 1995. Ethnic NewsWatch.
Reagan, Jim, and Lucia Russett. “Immigrants’ Freedom Ride.” Catholic Worker, January 1, 2004. Catholic News Archive.
Stone, Peter. “Scientists Relate How War Hysteria Smothers Research.” Daily Worker, January 6, 1953. BrillOnline: The Daily Worker Online.
Zahneis, Megan. “Diversity Without Dollars.” Chronicle of Higher Education, September 9, 2020. http://www.chronicle.com.