Contextual Sources
When you have an idea for a research project, it is often helpful to place your questions within the context of the literature. Scholarly encyclopedias and bibliographies do just that. Of course you will also need to search the literature via article databases for "literature reviews" and research studies.
Oxford Bibliographies (Oxford University Press) TutorialThe management and psychology collections have many relevant & excellent bibliographies to inform you research topic.
SAGE KnowledgeBrowse and search for handbooks and encyclopedias
Management Article Databases
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
Provides access to scholarly journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, and country- and industry-focused reports.
Business Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO)
Indexes business magazines and scholarly journals. Includes abstracts and selected full text. Coverage goes back to 1995.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Provides access to a wide range of academic business journals and trade magazines. Topics include management, marketing, finance, economics, and management information systems. Full text access may be embargoed for up to three years. Coverage goes back to 1965.
Conference Board Business & Economics Portfolio
The Conference Board publishes quality reports, interviews and studies on leadership, compensation, organizational development, operations, globalization, diversity, sustainability, innovation and more for he management and HRD professionals.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Scholar search tips
HeinOnline
General scholarly legal database with law reviews.
PsycINFO (ProQuest) Tutorial
Indexes journals, dissertations and some books related to organizational psychology and more.
Scopus (Elsevier)
Provides abstracts and citations for peer-reviewed journals in all major disciplines.
Web of Science (Clarivate) Tutorial
Web of Science provides seamless access to the following: Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present) Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present)Book Citation Index Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present) Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present)
Provides access to scholarly journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, and country- and industry-focused reports.
Business Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO)
Indexes business magazines and scholarly journals. Includes abstracts and selected full text. Coverage goes back to 1995.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Provides access to a wide range of academic business journals and trade magazines. Topics include management, marketing, finance, economics, and management information systems. Full text access may be embargoed for up to three years. Coverage goes back to 1965.
Conference Board Business & Economics Portfolio
The Conference Board publishes quality reports, interviews and studies on leadership, compensation, organizational development, operations, globalization, diversity, sustainability, innovation and more for he management and HRD professionals.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Scholar search tips
HeinOnline
General scholarly legal database with law reviews.
PsycINFO (ProQuest) Tutorial
Indexes journals, dissertations and some books related to organizational psychology and more.
Scopus (Elsevier)
Provides abstracts and citations for peer-reviewed journals in all major disciplines.
Web of Science (Clarivate) Tutorial
Web of Science provides seamless access to the following: Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present) Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present)Book Citation Index Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present) Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present)
General Business News
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) Access World News (NewsBank) Tutorial Business Source Premier (EBSCO) Financial Times Limitations on Use Access Instructions New York Times (NYTimes.com) Access Instructions Nexis Uni Limitations on Use Philadelphia Business Journal (American City Business Journals) Limitations on Use Access Instructions Wall Street Journal Limitations on Use Access Instructions Video
HSTalks: The Business & Management Collection LinkedIn Learning O'Reilly for Higher Education Tutorial Access InstructionsCreating Citations
Academic integrity guidelines mandate the attribution of sources used in written work. Commonly scholarly academic writers in business disciplines use the American Psychological Association (APA) Style. The complete APA Style Manual is not available online, but you can link to reliable aids listed below.
The citation management softwares listed below help you generate and organize references, but are not a substitute for knowing the style. When you use them, verify the accuracy of the citations created. Databases such as ABI Inform and Business Source Premier have handy citation generation tools, but you should check their accuracy too.
Citing Business Sources Using APA 7th Purdue OWL: APA ZoteroFree Citation management tool supported by the Library
Evaluating Journals and Articles
Journal metrics & rankings are imperfect but frequently used ways to gage the quality of research studies. The following tools publish journal level metrics such as impact factor, immediacy index,& H Index to name a few. For definitions and keys to understanding these metrics use the help links.
Peer reviewed research articles need to be evaluated for quality by considering the research methods, data used and analysis provided. Nonetheless metrics such as citation counts do suggest which papers are garnering attention. The following business databases offer article level metrics.
Company Profiles
Audit Analytics Access Instructions D&B Hoovers EMIS Intelligence (Emerging Markets Information Service) GuideStar Pro MarketLine Company Profiles (EBSCO) Mergent Archives (Moody's Manuals, Annual Reports, SEC & Commodity Research Bureau) Mergent Online Limitations on Use Morningstar Investing Center NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's Capital IQ) Nexis Uni Limitations on Use Pitchbook Limitations on Use Access Instructions Value Line Investment Survey Venture Capital & Private Equity Firms (Grey House Publishing) Industry & Market Reports
D&B Hoovers
Offers public and private company and industry information including company profiles, market research reports from Marketline, Freedonia, Euromonitor, and RMA updated with recent news, executive profiles, and analyst reports.
EMIS Intelligence (Emerging Markets Information Service)
Delivers company and industry information together with relevant news, research, and analytics for developing markets.
First Research Industry Profiles (ABI/INFORM Collection - ProQuest)
Provides industry profiles with critical analysis, statistics, and forecasts. Coverage extends back to 2009.
Gartner Limitations on Use
Features analyses, forecasts, and market statistics on IT products and services.
Subscription courtesy of Villanova UNIT.
IBISWorld
Provides access to U.S. and global industry market research reports.
MarketResearch.com Academic Limitations on Use
Provides marketing reports for many industries and demographic reports on a variety of age groups. Documents are formatted as Adobe Acrobat or PowerPoint files.
Mintel Insights & Analytics Limitations on Use
Offers product and industry market research reports covering U.S. and international marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles. Analytics advance search monitors new product activity in consumer packaged goods markets worldwide.
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's Capital IQ)
Offers market information, company quotes, equity index information, industry information (including the S&P Industry Surveys), and economic data.
Passport (Euromonitor International) Limitations on Use
Provides lifestyle statistics and reports, market data and analysis, and market forecasts for selected countries. Includes 6-year historic market size data for selected consumer products plus 5-year forecasts.
Pitchbook Limitations on Use Access Instructions
Provides data on companies, deals and investors in the private equity and venture capital space.
Plunkett's Industry Almanacs
SBRnet
Offers statistics, articles, and reports on sporting goods, participation, fans, media, and facilities. Formerly known as Sports Business Research Network.
Statista
Provides a portal to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources. Topics covered include industries, media, companies, product categories, and countries.
Offers public and private company and industry information including company profiles, market research reports from Marketline, Freedonia, Euromonitor, and RMA updated with recent news, executive profiles, and analyst reports.
EMIS Intelligence (Emerging Markets Information Service)
Delivers company and industry information together with relevant news, research, and analytics for developing markets.
First Research Industry Profiles (ABI/INFORM Collection - ProQuest)
Provides industry profiles with critical analysis, statistics, and forecasts. Coverage extends back to 2009.
Gartner Limitations on Use
Features analyses, forecasts, and market statistics on IT products and services.
Subscription courtesy of Villanova UNIT.
IBISWorld
Provides access to U.S. and global industry market research reports.
MarketResearch.com Academic Limitations on Use
Provides marketing reports for many industries and demographic reports on a variety of age groups. Documents are formatted as Adobe Acrobat or PowerPoint files.
Mintel Insights & Analytics Limitations on Use
Offers product and industry market research reports covering U.S. and international marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles. Analytics advance search monitors new product activity in consumer packaged goods markets worldwide.
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's Capital IQ)
Offers market information, company quotes, equity index information, industry information (including the S&P Industry Surveys), and economic data.
Passport (Euromonitor International) Limitations on Use
Provides lifestyle statistics and reports, market data and analysis, and market forecasts for selected countries. Includes 6-year historic market size data for selected consumer products plus 5-year forecasts.
Pitchbook Limitations on Use Access Instructions
Provides data on companies, deals and investors in the private equity and venture capital space.
Plunkett's Industry Almanacs
SBRnet
Offers statistics, articles, and reports on sporting goods, participation, fans, media, and facilities. Formerly known as Sports Business Research Network.
Statista
Provides a portal to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources. Topics covered include industries, media, companies, product categories, and countries.
Country Business Profiles
Country Commercial Guides.
Country Commercial Guides (CCG\'s) are prepared annually by U.S. embassies with the assistance of several U.S. government agencies.
Economist Intelligence Unit
Features a single unified platform delivering country and regional reports and comparable data for over 200 countries. Politics, economics, the business environment and sector and industries are explained and forecasts presented. The data tab delivers time series on national accounts, monetary, demographic, trade, employment, debt & spending indicators to name a few.
Country Commercial Guides (CCG\'s) are prepared annually by U.S. embassies with the assistance of several U.S. government agencies.
Economist Intelligence Unit
Features a single unified platform delivering country and regional reports and comparable data for over 200 countries. Politics, economics, the business environment and sector and industries are explained and forecasts presented. The data tab delivers time series on national accounts, monetary, demographic, trade, employment, debt & spending indicators to name a few.
Corporate Governance
Conference Board Business & Economics Portfolio
Includes reports, economic indicator data sets, and global macroeconomic time series for economists. Also features interviews and studies on leadership, compensation, organizational development, operations, globalization, diversity, sustainability, innovation and more for management and human resource development professionals. Coverage varies.
Mergent Online Limitations on Use
Officer and director biographical information
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's Capital IQ)
Officer and board biographical information
Includes reports, economic indicator data sets, and global macroeconomic time series for economists. Also features interviews and studies on leadership, compensation, organizational development, operations, globalization, diversity, sustainability, innovation and more for management and human resource development professionals. Coverage varies.
Mergent Online Limitations on Use
Officer and director biographical information
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's Capital IQ)
Officer and board biographical information
Books
Falvey Library CatalogOur library's book collection. Many ebooks available.
[Details]
[Details]
WorldCat (FirstSearch)WorldCat is a catalog of library collections worldwide including items that can be requested via an inter-library loan request form.
[Details]
[Details]
SWOT & PESTLE
D&B Hoovers
Offers public and private company and industry information including company profiles, market research reports from Marketline, Freedonia, Euromonitor, and RMA updated with recent news, executive profiles, and analyst reports.
MarketLine Company Profiles (EBSCO)
Offers detailed reports on U.S. and foreign companies in a wide range of industries. These reports provide a description of the business, company history, key personnel, products, services, and competitors. MarketLine Industry Reports are available from the D&B Global Business Browser database.
Offers public and private company and industry information including company profiles, market research reports from Marketline, Freedonia, Euromonitor, and RMA updated with recent news, executive profiles, and analyst reports.
MarketLine Company Profiles (EBSCO)
Offers detailed reports on U.S. and foreign companies in a wide range of industries. These reports provide a description of the business, company history, key personnel, products, services, and competitors. MarketLine Industry Reports are available from the D&B Global Business Browser database.
Data & Statistics
Despite or because of the ubiquity of data and statistics, finding good data to work with can be vexing. The following list of sources include open government data & proprietary subscribed data sets for browsing. A common way to identify relevant data is by a careful reading of the data sections in research papers. Databases that index/abstract data are listed below.
Data & Statistics
Global Financial Data Limitations on Use
Features historical data on worldwide stock exchanges, bond indices, intraday data, futures, interest rates, population, and much more. All data is clearly defined, easy to read, and can be readily exported into Excel.
[Details]
Statista
Provides a portal to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources. Topics covered include industries, media, companies, product categories, and countries.
[Details]
Statistical Insight (ProQuest) Tutorial
Offers indexing, abstracting, and selected full text of statistical publications from U.S. state and federal governments, business and research institutes, and international material from the UN, OECD, EU, etc. Some tables are available in GIF, XLS, CSV, and other formats.
[Details]
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) Limitations on Use Access Instructions
Offers a data research platform for business and economics datasets including AuditAnalytics, COMPUSTAT, CRSP, CBOE, Option Metrics, Risk Metrics, TAQ, TRACE, Thomson Reuters 13f, Dealscan and others.
[Details]
Conference Board Business & Economics Portfolio
Includes reports, economic indicator data sets, and global macroeconomic time series for economists. Also features interviews and studies on leadership, compensation, organizational development, operations, globalization, diversity, sustainability, innovation and more for management and human resource development professionals. Coverage varies.
[Details]
Features historical data on worldwide stock exchanges, bond indices, intraday data, futures, interest rates, population, and much more. All data is clearly defined, easy to read, and can be readily exported into Excel.
[Details]
Statista
Provides a portal to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources. Topics covered include industries, media, companies, product categories, and countries.
[Details]
Statistical Insight (ProQuest) Tutorial
Offers indexing, abstracting, and selected full text of statistical publications from U.S. state and federal governments, business and research institutes, and international material from the UN, OECD, EU, etc. Some tables are available in GIF, XLS, CSV, and other formats.
[Details]
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) Limitations on Use Access Instructions
Offers a data research platform for business and economics datasets including AuditAnalytics, COMPUSTAT, CRSP, CBOE, Option Metrics, Risk Metrics, TAQ, TRACE, Thomson Reuters 13f, Dealscan and others.
[Details]
Conference Board Business & Economics Portfolio
Includes reports, economic indicator data sets, and global macroeconomic time series for economists. Also features interviews and studies on leadership, compensation, organizational development, operations, globalization, diversity, sustainability, innovation and more for management and human resource development professionals. Coverage varies.
[Details]