Contextual Sources

When you have an idea for a research project, it is often helpful to place your questions within the context of the literature.  Scholarly encyclopedias and bibliographies do just that.  Of course you will also need to search the literature via article databases for "literature reviews" and research studies. 

  Oxford Bibliographies (Oxford University Press)
The management and psychology collections have many relevant & excellent bibliographies to inform you research topic.

  SAGE Knowledge
Browse and search for handbooks and encyclopedias

  Sage Business Cases
For faculty looking for teaching cases.

 Management Article Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
Provides access to scholarly journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, and country-and industry-focused reports.

Business Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO)
Indexes business magazines and scholarly journals. Includes abstracts and selected full-text. Coverage goes back to 1995.

Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Provides access to a wide range of academic business journals and trade magazines. Topics include management, marketing, accounting, finance, economics, international business, operations management and management information systems. Full-text access may be embargoed for up to three years. Coverage goes back to 1965.

Conference Board Business & Economics Portfolio
The Conference Board publishes quality reports, interviews and studies on leadership, compensation, organizational development, operations, globalization, diversity, sustainability, innovation and more for he management and HRD professionals.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Scholar search tips

HeinOnline
General scholarly legal database with law reviews.

PsycINFO (ProQuest)
Indexes journals, dissertations and some books related to organizational psychology and more.
Practice advanced search features with the interactive PsycINFO Tutorial.

Scopus (Elsevier)
Provides abstracts and citations for peer-reviewed journals in all major disciplines.

Web of Science (Clarivate)
Web of Science provides seamless access to the following: Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present) Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present)Book Citation Index Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present) Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present)

 General Business News

ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
Provides access to trade publications, general business newspapers & newswires and blogs.

Bloomberg Professional Terminal
Access a single terminal during library service hours in Falvey or use the many terminals in the Applied Finance Lab in Bartley.

Business Regional News (Ebscohost)
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications.

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides access to general news sources published in magazines, newspapers and blogs. LexisNexis online services and the materials contained therein are under copyright by LexisNexis. All rights reserved. No part of these Services may be used except for research purposes, and the Services may not be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise without the prior written permission of the LexisNexis Academic Library Solutions. Materials retrieved from the Services may not be duplicated in hard copy or machine-readable form without the prior written authorization of LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions, except that limited reproduction of output is permitted solely for individual use by the Authorized User or internal distribution within the Subscribing Institution in accordance with the terms of this Agreement unless further limited or prohibited by the Copyright Act of 1976. Under no circumstances may the Materials or any portion thereof be used to create derivative products or services.

Philadelphia Business Journal (American City Business Journals)
Searchable full text access to Philadelphia Business Journal and their Book of Lists with a 10 year archive of content.

Creating Citations

Academic integrity guidelines mandate the attribution of sources used in written work.  Commonly scholarly academic writers in business disciplines use the  American Psychological Association (APA) Style. The complete APA Style Manual is not available online, but you can link to reliable aids listed below.

The citation management softwares listed below help you generate and organize references, but are not a substitute for knowing the style.  When you use them, verify the accuracy of the citations created.  Databases such as ABI Inform and Business Source Premier have handy citation generation tools, but you should check their accuracy too.

  APA Style Guide to Electronic References
How to cite electronic references according to APA 6th Style.

  Zotero
Free Citation management tool supported by the Library

  Mendeley
Free citation management owned by Elsevier

  Evaluating Journals and Articles

Journal metrics & rankings are imperfect but frequently used ways to gage the quality of research studies.  The following tools publish journal level metrics such as impact factor, immediacy index,&  H Index to name a few.  For definitions and keys to understanding these metrics use the help links.

SJR Scimago

JCR Journal Citation Reports

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities

Peer reviewed research articles need to be evaluated for quality by considering the research methods, data used and analysis provided.  Nonetheless metrics such as citation counts do suggest which papers are garnering attention.  The following business databases offer article level metrics.

Scopus

Google Scholar

Web of Science (Clarivate)


 Company Profiles

Audit Analytics
Provides access to data and information about public company audits, compliance and governance.

D&B Global Business Browser
Company profile & screener for U.S. and foreign companies.

EMIS Intelligence (Emerging Markets Information Service)
Company reports and news on firms in developing markets.

GuideStar Pro
Provides detailed information about nonprofit organizations including IRS Form 990 with financial statements. Also offers self-reported information about programs and activities.
Partially funded by Villanova School of Business.

MarketLine Company Profiles (EBSCO)
Cover both U.S. and foreign companies in a wide range of industries.

Mergent Online
Provides 15 years of detailed financial statements for international and U.S. companies. LIMITED TO 4 SIMULTANEOUS USERS.

Mergent/Moody's Manuals (Mergent Archives)
Features the full text of all of Mergent / Moody\'s Corporate Manuals from 1909 to the present. Once you enter the database select the option for \"Corporate Manuals\" and begin your search.

Morningstar Investment Research Center
Contains information on more than 30,000 stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds. Provides independent analysis, industry information, stock charts, portfolio building tools, and web-based educational tutorials.

NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's, Capital IQ)
Profiles and news on public companies, investment advisors & PE funds

Nexis Uni
Look for the company dossier. LexisNexis online services and the materials contained therein are under copyright by LexisNexis. All rights reserved. No part of these Services may be used except for research purposes, and the Services may not be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise without the prior written permission of the LexisNexis Academic Library Solutions. Materials retrieved from the Services may not be duplicated in hard copy or machine-readable form without the prior written authorization of LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions, except that limited reproduction of output is permitted solely for individual use by the Authorized User or internal distribution within the Subscribing Institution in accordance with the terms of this Agreement unless further limited or prohibited by the Copyright Act of 1976. Under no circumstances may the Materials or any portion thereof be used to create derivative products or services.

ReferenceUSA
Provides company reports and directory information for U.S. private and public companies. Also includes consumer marketing and directory information for U.S. individuals.

Value Line Investment Survey
Provides information for investors on individual stocks and companies. Offers forecasting and historical information, as well as detailed financials, charts, and reports. Includes sorting, filtering (screening), graphing, and reporting functions.

Venture Capital & Private Equity Firms (Grey House Publishing)
Presents an international directory of venture capital and private equity firms. Profiles include information about each firm's mission, industry and geographic preferences, portfolio companies, and more; also includes background information about each firm's executives.

 Industry & Market Reports

Business Market Research Collection (Proquest)
This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots

D&B Global Business Browser
Offers public and private company and industry information including company profiles, market research reports from Marketline, Freedonia, Euromonitor and RMA updated with recent news, executive profiles and analyst reports. Formerly known as Onesource/Avention.

EMIS Intelligence (Emerging Markets Information Service)
Delivers company and industry information together with relevant news, research and analytics for developing markets.

Passport (Euromonitor International)
Provides lifestyle statistics and reports, market data and analysis, and market forecasts for selected countries. Includes 6-year historic market size data for selected consumer products plus 5-year forecasts.
Authorized access (on- and off-campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff.

First Research Industry Profiles (ABI/Inform Collection - ProQuest)
Provides industry profiles with critical analysis, statistics, and forecasts. Coverage extends back to 2009.

Gartner
Features analyses, forecasts, and market statistics on IT products and services.
Authorized users (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff. Subscription courtesy of Villanova UNIT.

Global New Products Database (Mintel)
Monitors new product activity in consumer packaged goods markets worldwide.
Authorized users (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff.

IBISWorld
Provides access to U.S. and global industry market research reports.

MarketResearch.com Academic
Provides marketing reports for many industries and demographic reports on a variety of age groups. Documents are formatted as Adobe Acrobat or PowerPoint files. 
Licensed for academic uses only. May not be used for commercial uses.


Mintel Reports
Offers product and industry market research reports covering U.S. and International marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles.
Authorized users (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff.

NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's, Capital IQ)
Offers market information, company quotes, equity index information, industry information (including the S&P Industry Surveys), and economic data.

Sports Market Analytics (formerly Sports Business Research Network)
Statistics, articles and reports on sporting goods, participation, fans and facilities.

Statista
Portal for statistics and reports on countries, industries and product categories.

 Country Business Profiles

Country Commercial Guides.
Country Commercial Guides (CCG\'s) are prepared annually by U.S. embassies with the assistance of several U.S. government agencies.

Economist Intelligence Unit
Features commerce reports, country reports and market indicators and forecasts with monthly and annual in-depth analysis, data and ratings. Covers infrastructure, demographics, political scene, domestic economy, foreign trade, including regional and industrial sector breakdowns of over 200 countries.

ISA (International Strategic Analysis)
Features country reports that cover politics, economics, demographics & the environment. Includes research briefs on timely and important economic issues.

OECD iLibrary
Data and reports for OECD countries and some selected non-member countries for everything from Agriculture to Welfare.

World Bank - Countries and Regions
Browse by region or country, this site includes information about climate change, energy, financial crisis, food crisis, fragile states and governance and anticorruption.

 Corporate Governance

Conference Board Business & Economics Portfolio
Includes economic indicator data sets and global macroeconomic time series for economists as well as reports, interviews and studies on leadership, compensation, organizational development, operations, globalization, diversity, sustainability, innovation and more for management and HRD professionals. Coverage varies.

BoardEx
The BoardEx database contains biographical information on most board members and senior executives around the world.

Mergent Online
Officer and director biographical information

NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's, Capital IQ)
Officer and board biographical information

WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)
COMPUSTAT data includes compensation and biographical dataAuthorized users (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff. Access and registration approved by James Jablonski of the Finance Lab.

 Books

  Falvey Library Catalog
Our library\'s book collection. Many ebooks available.
[Details]

  WorldCat (FirstSearch)
WorldCat is a catalog of library collections worldwide including items that can be requested via an inter-library loan request form.
WorldCat Step-by-Step is a self-paced interactive tutorial for students new to this resource.
[Details]

Data & Statistics

Despite or because of the ubiquity of data and statistics, finding good data to work with can be vexing.  The following list of sources include open government data & proprietary subscribed data sets for browsing.  A common way to identify relevant data is by a careful reading of the data sections in research papers.  Databases that index/abstract data are listed below.

 Data & Statistics

Data-Planet (Sage)
Provides access to a wide variety of economic, social, and political indicators including data sets from the U.S. government, the International Monetary Fund, the World Trade Organization, the OECD, Eurostat, the United Nations, the world’s stock exchanges, and Zillow. Offers customized graphing and mapping.
[Details]

Global Financial Data
Features historical data on worldwide stock exchanges, bond indices, intraday data, futures, interest rates, population, and much more. All data is clearly defined, easy to read, and readily downloadable into Excel.
Authorized users (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff.
[Details]

Statista
Portal for statistics and reports on countries, industries and product categories.
[Details]

Statistical Insight (ProQuest)
Indexing and abstracting (with select full text from 2007) of statistical resources from U.S. state government, business and research institute statistical publications. Tables for U.S. government and business reports.
[Details]

WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)
Offers a data research platform for business datasets including AuditAnalytics, COMPUSTAT, CRSP, CBOE, Option Metrics, Risk Metrics, TAQ, TRACE, and Thomson Reuters 13f. Authorized users (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff. Access and registration approved by James Jablonski of the Finance Lab.
[Details]

Conference Board Business & Economics Portfolio
Includes economic indicator data sets and global macroeconomic time series for economists as well as reports, interviews and studies on leadership, compensation, organizational development, operations, globalization, diversity, sustainability, innovation and more for management and HRD professionals. Coverage varies.
[Details]