FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY

You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Management Information Systems

Management Information Systems

 Scholarly Business Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
Provides access to scholarly journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, and country-and industry-focused reports.

Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Provides access to a wide range of academic business journals and trade magazines. Coverage goes back to 1965.

Google Scholar
From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Scholar search tips

Scopus (Elsevier)
Provides abstracts and citations for peer-reviewed journals in all major disciplines.

Web of Science (Clarivate)
Multidisciplinary scholarly index.

 Technical Literature

ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery)
Presents a complete archive of all ACM publications including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.

Compendex (Engineering Village / Elsevier)
Indexes academic journals, conference proceedings, and dissertations in the fields of engineering and applied sciences. Includes abstracts. Coverage dates back to 1969.

IEEE Xplore
Published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) offers access to computer literature.

ProQuest Computing
Search top computing journals in full text for research on subjects such as database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets, and the Internet.

 Books

  Falvey Library Catalog
Search Falvey Memorial Library\'s collection. Many titles are available electronically.
[Details]

  WorldCat (OCLC)
WorldCat is a catalog of library collections worldwide. Items can be requested via an inter-library loan request form.
WorldCat Step-by-Step is a self-paced interactive tutorial for students new to this resource.
[Details]

 Videos

  Books 24x7
Features e-book and video collections in the fields of information technology and engineering. Browse topics IT and technical videos in left screen box.

 Analysts Reports

  Gartner Group Intraweb
Gartner is a leading information technology research provider. Gartner offers market statistics and forecasts for hardware, software, communications, IT services and semiconductors. Additionally there are reports and case studies by IT topic and by industry. Subscription courtesy of Villanova UNIT. Authorized users (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff.

Creating Citations

Academic integrity guidelines mandate the attribution of sources used in written work.  Commonly scholarly academic writers use the  American Psychological Association (APA) Style.   The complete APA Style Manual is not available online, but you can link to reliable aids listed below.

The citation management softwares listed below help you generate and organize references, but are not a substitute for knowing the style.  When you use them, verify the accuracy of the citations created.  Databases such as Business Source Premier have handy citation generation tools, but you should check their accuracy too.

  APA Style Guide to Electronic References
How to cite electronic references according to APA 6th Style.

  Purdue OWL: APA

  Zotero
Free Citation management tool supported by the Library

  Mendeley
Free citation management owned by Elsevier

  Evaluating Journals and Articles

Journal metrics & rankings are imperfect but frequently used ways to gage the quality of research studies.  The following tools publish journal level metrics such as impact factor, immediacy index,&  H Index to name a few.  For definitions and keys to understanding these metrics use the help links.

SJR Scimago

JCR Journal Citation Reports

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities

Peer reviewed research articles need to be evaluated for quality by considering the research methods, data used and analysis provided.  Nonetheless metrics such as citation counts do suggest which papers are garnering attention.  The following business databases offer article level metrics.

Scopus

Google Scholar

Web of Science (Clarivate)


lhauck Linda Hauck
Business Librarian
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 222
610-519-8744


Schedule Consult

Keep Current


 


Last Modified: 2018-07-09 11:10:01