Books
Research Articles & News
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)Scholarly journals and business news
[
Details]
Access Instructions
Features news, reports, and statistics about the advertising industry.
[
Details]
Contains business magazines and scholarly journals.
[
Details]
Offers business news and scholarly articles.
[
Details]
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines.
Scholar search tips[
Details]
Limitations on Use
Nexis Uni offers business news.
LexisNexis online services and the materials contained therein are under copyright by LexisNexis. All rights reserved. No part of these Services may be used except for research purposes, and the Services may not be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise without the prior written permission of the LexisNexis Academic Library Solutions. Materials retrieved from the Services may not be duplicated in hard copy or machine-readable form without the prior written authorization of LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions, except that limited reproduction of output is permitted solely for individual use by the Authorized User or internal distribution within the Subscribing Institution in accordance with the terms of this Agreement unless further limited or prohibited by the Copyright Act of 1976. Under no circumstances may the Materials or any portion thereof be used to create derivative products or services.
[
Details]
Limitations on Use:
LexisNexis online services and the materials contained therein are under copyright by LexisNexis. All rights reserved. No part of these Services may be used except for research purposes, and the Services may not be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise without the prior written permission of the LexisNexis Academic Library Solutions. Materials retrieved from the Services may not be duplicated in hard copy or machine-readable form without the prior written authorization of LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions, except that limited reproduction of output is permitted solely for individual use by the Authorized User or internal distribution within the Subscribing Institution in accordance with the terms of this Agreement unless further limited or prohibited by the Copyright Act of 1976. Under no circumstances may the Materials or any portion thereof be used to create derivative products or services.
Tutorial
Scholarly articles on consumer behavior & psychology.
[
Details]
Scholarly studies on marketing and advertising, practice oriented pieces and case studies
[
Details]
Video
HSTalks: The Business & Management CollectionContains multimedia lectures (typically 30-60 minutes), and case studies (usually brief and related to current developments) designed to augment teaching and learning across the business curriculum. Videos are segmentable and embeddable in course management systems. Provides access to peer reviewed, practice oriented journals.
LinkedIn LearningCourses and videos on range of professional development topics such as leadership, diversity, project management, marketing, finance, and software applications. Activate using Villanova single sign on. Access courtesy Villanova Human Resource & Career Center.
O'Reilly for Higher Education Tutorial
Access Instructions
Provides access to over 35,000 ebooks, 30,000 hours of video, curated learning paths, technology manuals, case studies, audio books, and videos covering fields ranging from software development, business, management, career development, engineering, design and more. Formerly known as Safari Books Online.
O’Reilly Media mobile app (iOS, Android & Amazon Fire) allows you to read online and off and syncs across devices. App is available on the
App Store or Google Play.
Creating Citations
Academic integrity guidelines mandate the attribution of sources used in written work. Commonly scholarly academic writers use the American Psychological Association (APA) Style. The complete APA Style Manual is not available online, but you can link to reliable aids listed below.
The citation management softwares listed below help you generate and organize references, but are not foolproff. ABI Inform & Business Source Premier have handy citation generation tools, but you should check their accuracy too.
Citing Business Sources Using APA 7th
Purdue OWL: APA
Zotero
Free Citation management tool supported by the Library
Evaluating Journals and Articles
Journal metrics & rankings are imperfect, but frequently used to gage the quality of research studies. The following tools publish journal level metrics such as impact factor, immediacy index,& H Index to name a few. For definitions and keys to understanding these metrics use the help links.
SJR Scimago
JCR Journal Citation Reports
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities
Peer reviewed research articles need to be evaluated for quality by considering the research methods, data used and analysis provided. Nonetheless metrics such as citation counts do suggest which papers are garnering attention. The following business databases offer article level metrics.
Scopus
Google Scholar
Web of Science (Clarivate)
Market & Industry Reports
Industry reports offer overviews of the state of an industry, identifying key competitors, suppliers, competitive environment, market size and segmentation, with discussion of the technological and regulatory environment. They frequently define jargon and point to trade associations and journals.
Market research reports are similar to industry reports but typically include more information about consumer preferences and market trends and less broad economic and operational data.
D&B HooversOffers public and private company and industry information including company profiles, market research reports from Marketline, Freedonia, Euromonitor, and RMA updated with recent news, executive profiles, and analyst reports.
[
Details]
Delivers company and industry information together with relevant news, research, and analytics for developing markets.
[
Details]
Provides industry profiles with critical analysis, statistics, and forecasts. Coverage extends back to 2009.
[
Details]
Limitations on Use
Gartner offers market statistics and forecasts for hardware, software, communications, IT services and semiconductors. Subscription courtesy of Villanova UNIT.
Authorized users (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff.[
Details]
Limitations on Use:
Authorized users (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff.
Provides access to U.S. and global industry market research reports.
[
Details]
Limitations on Use
Provides marketing reports for many industries and demographic reports on a variety of age groups.
Licensed for academic uses only.[
Details]
Limitations on Use:
Licensed for academic uses only. May not be used for commercial uses.
Limitations on Use
Authorized users (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff.[
Details]
Limitations on Use:
Authorized users (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff.
Offers market information, company quotes, equity index information, industry information (including the
S&P Industry Surveys), and economic data.
[
Details]
Limitations on Use
Provides lifestyle statistics and reports, market data and analysis, and market forecasts for selected countries. Includes 6-year historic market size data for selected consumer products plus 5-year forecasts.
[
Details]
Limitations on Use:
Authorized access (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff.
Limitations on Use
Access Instructions
Provides data on companies, deals and investors in the private equity and venture capital space.
[
Details]
License does not include live support. Downloading limited to 10 lines/day and 25 lines/month. Fund returns data and D&B sourced data excluded. The academic license does not include the mobile app or Excel add on.
Use your Villanova email for single sign on (SSO).
Offers statistics, articles, and reports on sporting goods, participation, fans, media, and facilities. Formerly known as
Sports Business Research Network.
[
Details]
Provides a portal to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources. Topics covered include industries, media, companies, product categories, and countries.
[
Details]
Consumer Research
Consumer research involves uncovering the demographic and behavioral or psychographic profile of the target consumer. The Census, surveys, studies and statistics inform consumer research.
American FactFinderAmerican FactFinder is a web site used to distribute data collected by the United States Census Bureau.
BLS Time Use SurveyThe American Time Use Survey measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.
Consumer Expenditure SurveyUse this data collected by the U.S. Bureau of Census and to find out who spends how much on what.
ESRI Business Analyst Online Tutorial
Access Instructions
Business, consumer and marketplace geographic analysis tool.Access courtesy of the Department of Geography & the Environment. For username & password contact linda.hauck@villanova.edu.Look for an email from ArcGIS Notification to confirm the invitation (check your junk folder as it may land there). Account administration may take up to 3 days.
To create your Villanova SSO account, click on the option Your ArcGIS organization’s URL and type villanova (right before .maps.arcgis.com), then Continue. On the next page, click Villanova SSO. The familiar Villanova log in page will appear.
Public opinion polls
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, Institute for Social Research, University of Michigan) Access Instructions
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) offers time series and other types of aggregate data derived from surveys, censuses and administrative records. Click
here for searching tips.
A free ICPSR account is required to download data. The account must be created on campus. If you are having trouble accessing ICPSR data from off campus, please contact Nicole Daly at nicole.daly@villanova.edu for help.
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan \"fact tank\" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
PsycINFO (ProQuest) Tutorial
Provides abstracts and indexing to journals, books, book chapters, technical reports and dissertations in all areas of psychology. This database is produced by the American Psychological Association (APA). International in scope; coverage is from 1887 to the present.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (iPOLL) Tutorial
Access Instructions
The Roper Center collects, preserves, and disseminates public opinion data
To download or analyze data online, each user needs to set up a free account.
Create maps and download tables of U.S. Census & American Community Survey data from 1790 through the most recent available data. Social Explorer also offers access to a variety of other data sets, including U.S. election, health, crime, religion, & environmental data.
Competitors
Competitor research can be done on the brand or company level. The databases listed below offer company profiles. To do thorought competitor research search business news via ABI Inform or Business Source Premier or NexisUni and visit company web sites.
CrunchBaseGreat source of information on start-ups, including founders, products, competitors and funding.
D&B HooversOffers public and private company and industry information including company profiles, market research reports from Marketline, Freedonia, Euromonitor, and RMA updated with recent news, executive profiles, and analyst reports.
EMIS Intelligence (Emerging Markets Information Service)Delivers company and industry information together with relevant news, research, and analytics for developing markets.
MarketLine Company Profiles (EBSCO)Offers detailed reports on U.S. and foreign companies in a wide range of industries. These reports provide a description of the business, company history, key personnel, products, services, and competitors. MarketLine Industry Reports are available from the D&B Global Business Browser database.
Mergent Online Limitations on Use
Provides detailed financial statements for U.S. and international public and private companies, including SEC filings and current and historical annual reports for U.S. and international public companies. Data can be downloaded in a variety of formats. Also includes country profiles.
Access limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Contains information on more than 30,000 stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds. Provides independent analysis, industry information, stock charts, portfolio building tools, and web-based educational tutorials.
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's Capital IQ)Offers market information, company quotes, equity index information, industry information (including the S&P Industry Surveys), and economic data.
Nexis Uni Limitations on Use
Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic. Provides full text access to national and international newspaper and magazine articles and news transcripts, business, company, and industry information in the U.S. and abroad, and legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews. Coverage varies.
Limitations on Use:
LexisNexis online services and the materials contained therein are under copyright by LexisNexis. All rights reserved. No part of these Services may be used except for research purposes, and the Services may not be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise without the prior written permission of the LexisNexis Academic Library Solutions. Materials retrieved from the Services may not be duplicated in hard copy or machine-readable form without the prior written authorization of LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions, except that limited reproduction of output is permitted solely for individual use by the Authorized User or internal distribution within the Subscribing Institution in accordance with the terms of this Agreement unless further limited or prohibited by the Copyright Act of 1976. Under no circumstances may the Materials or any portion thereof be used to create derivative products or services.
Limitations on Use
Provides lifestyle statistics and reports, market data and analysis, and market forecasts for selected countries. Includes 6-year historic market size data for selected consumer products plus 5-year forecasts.
Limitations on Use:
Authorized access (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff.
Limitations on Use
Access Instructions
Provides data on companies, deals and investors in the private equity and venture capital space.
License does not include live support. Downloading limited to 10 lines/day and 25 lines/month. Fund returns data and D&B sourced data excluded. The academic license does not include the mobile app or Excel add on.
Use your Villanova email for single sign on (SSO).
Advertising
Advertising Insights (Kantar Media)Creates custom reports on advertising expenditures across media channels including TV, magazines, newspapers, radio, outdoor and internet displays on the level of industries, categories, brands, products, and advertisers going back to 2017. Formerly known as
Ad$pender.
Advertising Age Datacenter (AdAge) Access Instructions
Features news, reports, and statistics about the advertising industry.
Direct Marketing Association Statistical Fact BookFacts and benchmarks on marketing practices and returns.
eMarketerOffers data and reports related to digital marketing. Topics include advertising spending, digital marketing, social media, media usage, e-commerce, email marketing, and device usage. Coverage is global.
Interactive Advertising BureauAdvocacy organization for online advertising.
Outdoor Advertising Association of AmericaAdvocacy organization for outdoor advertising such as billboards.
Publishers Information BureauAdvocacy organization for print publications that take advertising.
Video Advertising BureauAdvocacy organization for broadcast and cable providers supported by advertising.
Market Size & Share
Market research and industry reports typically include market size, segmentation and share data. Passport Euromonitor is a best bet for consumer categories. IBISWorld always includes market size and segmentation, but not share, across a much wider range of industries. The sources listed below aggregate market size and share data from a variety of trade and research publications
Business Ranking Annual Market Share Reporter Passport (Euromonitor International) Limitations on Use
Provides lifestyle statistics and reports, market data and analysis, and market forecasts for selected countries. Includes 6-year historic market size data for selected consumer products plus 5-year forecasts.
Limitations on Use:
Authorized access (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff.
Provides a portal to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources. Topics covered include industries, media, companies, product categories, and countries.
Dictionaries/Encyclopedias/Directories