Articles

CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCO)
Indexes academic journals, standards of practice, trade magazines, continuing education units, dissertations, and more in the fields of nursing and allied health. Includes abstracts and selected full-text. Coverage goes back to 1981. Click for downloadable search guide. Watch a 5-min. video demo.

Searching CINAHL Step-by-Step
Interactive tutorial.  Learn how to search CINAHL by following the instructions.

PubMed
Offers indexing of journal articles and books in all areas of biomedicine. Worldwide coverage with an emphasis on English-language peer-reviewed journals. Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and currently maintained by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Practice advanced search features with the interactive PubMed Searching Step by Step tutorial.

Searching PubMed Step-by-Step
Interactive tutorial.  Learn to search PubMed by following the instructions.

Cochrane Library
Offers systematic reviews of healthcare interventions in support of evidence based practice. Includes systematic reviews and methodology reviews, abstracts of reviews of effects, a central register of controlled trials, a methodology register, health technology assessments, and NHS economic evaluations.

Trip Database
Provides access to evidence-based medical information in various formats: articles, images, videos, patient information materials, education courses, and news. This is a free, publicly available resource, and does not include the library's "Find It" link in search results. To check for full-text access, use the Journal Finder link on the library homepage.

UpToDate
Offers evidence-based medical treatment guidelines, clinical images, calculators, drug information, and patient information sheets. All content is physician-authored. Instructions for installing UpToDate Anywhere on mobile devices.

Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest)
Provides citations, abstracts, and full-text, when available, of dissertations and theses from 1743 to the present.

Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository
Contains journal articles, research reports, datasets, dissertations, conference papers, and learning objects covering all areas of nursing. Works included are both published and unpublished. Open access; provided by the Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (EBSCO)
Indexes measurement instruments including information about questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques and tests in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. Coverage extends back to 1985.

Journals@Ovid
Provides Villanova users access to full-text articles from 47 nursing journals and to citations to articles in over 700 scientific, technical and medical journals. Years covered vary with the journal but most date from 1996 to date.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing and related publications.

Red Book Online (American Academy of Pediatrics)
The online home of the report of the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Committee on Infectious Diseases offers instant web-based access to the complete text of the Red Book®, the complete visual library of over 2,000 images, vaccine status information, infectious disease news, and much more.

PsychiatryOnline
Includes the full text of the DSM-V, content from several psychiatric journals and textbooks, self-assessment tools, medication information handouts, and more. Also includes American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines in both comprehensive and quick-reference formats.

Science Citation Index now Web of Science Core (Clarivate)
Do geneaology searches forwards and backwards for cited references. Subject searching also on Web of Knowledge. Coverage begins 1945 to present. Click for downloadable guide to cited reference searching.

Scopus (Elsevier)
Provides abstracts and citations for peer-reviewed journals in all major disciplines. Offers comprehensive coverage of the scientific, technical, medical, geographic and social sciences (including arts and humanities). Includes complete contents of GEOBASE multidisciplinary database.

PubMed Central
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature from the National Institutes of Health.

PsycINFO (ProQuest)
Provides abstracts and indexing to journals, books, book chapters, technical reports and dissertations in all areas of psychology. International in scope; coverage is from 1887 to present.
Practice advanced search features with the interactive PsycINFO Tutorial.

 APA Style Guides

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
6th ed. The official guide to APA style. Circulation Desk copy BF76.7 .P83 2010. Copies also located in LRC and Health Promotion Library. A quick reference guide can be found at the Purdue Owl.

APA Demystified: Citing Journal Articles
4 min. Learn APA 6th Style for formatting references to journal and magazine articles.

APA Demystified: In-Text Citations
4 min. Learn APA 6th Style for creating in-text citations.

APA Demystified: Citing Web Pages, Books, Book Sections
4 min.  Learn APA 6th Style for citing web pages, books, and book sections

APA Paper Format
Downloadable APA style template for Microsoft Word.

APA Style Guide to Electronic References
How to cite electronic references according to APA 6th Style.

 Tutorial Videos

Intro to Falvey Library for Distance Nursing Students
Duration: 2 min. 30 sec.
Created esp. for nursing students enrolled in distance courses, this brief video introduces you to the most essential links on the Falvey website.
See the companion course guide at http://tinyurl.com/distancenursing

Searching CINAHL (5 min.)
Demonstrates how to search and also how to select citations and export them to RefWorks

Setting Search Limits in CINAHL (3min. 22 sec.)
Learn some of the most useful ways to restrict your search and make your CINAHL searching more efficient.

Introduction to PubMed Searching (2min 49 sec.)
A short video on searching PubMed and focusing your search using PubMed's new filters feature.

Finding Full Text of Articles in PubMed (1min. 33 sec.)
Now that I've done a search in PubMed, how do I access the full text of the articles? Learn how in less than 2 minutes! Video also available at  http://youtu.be/OyLQoV5Wo9w

Finding Systematic Reviews in PubMed
How to search PubMed for systematic reviews and other types of articles

PubMed - Save Searches and Set E-Mail Alerts
Learn how to set up a MyNCBI account.  Save keywords and searches. Go back to rerun them later, or create an email alert to get new results sent to your email.

APA 6th Style for Journal Articles
Narrated video on formatting references to journal articles in correct APA 6th style.

Creating a RefWorks Account

Short powerpoint presentation on how to sign up for your own RefWorks account. Never type a bibliography again!



RefWorks: Exporting Citations from CINAHL and PubMed
Learn how to export citations into RefWorks from CINAHL and PubMed and to organize them into folders. Click for downloadable instructions on how to export from PubMed into RefWorks.


Creating an APA-Style Bibliography Using RefWorks (1min 40 sec)
Now that I have citations stored in RefWorks, how do I create a bibliography in APA 6th style? Learn how in only 3 minutes!

Intro to Falvey Library for Distance Nursing Students
Duration: 2 min. 30 sec.
Created esp. for nursing students enrolled in distance courses, this brief video introduces you to the most essential links on the Falvey website.
See the companion course guide at http://tinyurl.com/distancenursing

Services to Distance Learners
The Distance Services Program provides book delivery service for graduate-level students currently registered in Distance Learning courses and for faculty and graduate students with remote appointments. Falvey Memorial Library provides for delivery of library books requested by registered Distance Learning Students who reside over 25 miles from Villanova.

 Datasets

American FactFinder
American FactFinder is a web site used to distribute data collected by the United States Census Bureau.
It provides data for recent survey years for a range of geographies, including by Census tract, Zip Code Tabulation Area, Metropolitan Statistical Area, county, and state.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Site provides access to current 2012 PDF and past editions. Includes everything from government spending to the environment to communications. It is a most comprehensive one-volume reference source on the Nation's economic and social condition.

Community Health Data Base (Pennsylvania Household Health Survey)
Provides access to local health-related data at the census tract, ZIP code, county and regional level. Includes information about health status, personal health behaviors and access to and utilization of area health services. Data collected through the Southeastern Pennsylvania Household Health Survey which surveys Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery and Philadelphia counties every other year.
Only available to the Villanova community; For ID and password information access this document.
Complete data sets of the Survey for the following years are available for download in SPSS format. Villanova ID and password required: HHS2008; HHS2010; HHS2012; HHS2015

ICPSR (Institute for Social Research, University of Michigan)
Provides access to archived social science data. Includes information about the Consortium's (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) resources and services including data management and curation services for member institutions and data-driven learning guides designed for the classroom.
A free ICPSR account is required to download data. The account must be created on-campus.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (EBSCO)
Indexes measurement instruments including information about questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques and tests in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. Coverage extends back to 1985.

Health Literacy Tool Shed
Tools to measure health literacy.

Statistical Insight (ProQuest)
Indexing and abstracting (with select full text from 2007) of statistical resources from U.S. state government, business and research institute statistical publications. Tables for U.S. government and business reports.

State Health Facts (Kaiser Family Foundation)
State and comparative statistics on health care.

CDC Wonder
A single point of access to a wide variety of reports and statistics on public health in the US.

National Center for Health Statistics
Statistical web portal for US public health statistics.

Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)

Vital Statistics of the United States

Philadelphia Vital Statistics Reports

 Books

 Handbooks

Physicians' Desk Reference
 Guide to prescription medications
[Details]

Red Book Online (American Academy of Pediatrics)
The online home of the report of the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Committee on Infectious Diseases offers instant web-based access to the complete text of the Red Book®, the complete visual library of over 2,000 images, vaccine status information, infectious disease news, and much more.
[Details]

PsychiatryOnline
Includes the full text of the DSM-V, content from several psychiatric journals and textbooks, self-assessment tools, medication information handouts, and more. Also includes American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines in both comprehensive and quick-reference formats.
[Details]

 Dictionaries

Blackwell’s nursing dictionary
print resource RT21 .B53 2005

Dictionary of medical acronyms & abbreviations
print resource R123 .J24 1998

Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
print resource R121 .D73

English-Spanish, Spanish-English medical dictionary
print resource R121 .R626 1997

Melloni's illustrated medical dictionary
print resource R121 .D76 2002

Mosby’s dictionary of medicine, nursing & health professions
print resource R121 .M67 2006

Online Medical Dictionary
Free online medical dictionary search engine for definitions of medical terminology, pharmaceutical drugs, healthcare equipment, health conditions, medical devices, specialty terms and medical abbreviations.

Random House Webster’s American sign language medical dictionary
print resource HV2475 .C663 2000

 Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Covers a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment. This work helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.

Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior

International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying

Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods presents current and complete information, as well as ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research in a very accessible style.

Encyclopedia of Disability

 Biographies