FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY

You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Nursing and Medicine > Articles

Articles

 Articles

CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCO)
Indexes and provides full text for 329 selected nursing journals and an additional 2,500 journals in the fields of nursing and allied health, plus NLN and ANA publications and more. Click for downloadable search guide. Watch a 5-min. video demo.

Searching CINAHL Step-by-Step
Interactive tutorial.  Learn how to search CINAHL by following the instructions.

PubMed
PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers. Click for downloadable instructions.

Searching PubMed Step-by-Step
Interactive tutorial.  Learn to search PubMed by following the instructions.

Cochrane Library
Systematic reviews of health care interventions in support of evidence based practice. Database includes Cochrane Systematic Reviews and Methodology Reviews, Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Central Register of Controlled Trials, Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.

Trip Database
Free, publicly available resource. Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. NOTE: The Falvey "Find it" link does not appear in Trip search results. To check for full-text access, use the Journal Finder link on the library homepage.

UpToDate
Evidence based, peer-reviewed information resource for clinicians. Allows them to answer questions quickly, increase their clinical knowledge and improve patient care. Instructions for installing UpToDate Anywhere on mobile devices.

Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest)
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).

Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository
Sigma Theta Tau International's open-access digital academic and clinical scholarship service that freely collects, preserves, and disseminates full-text nursing research and evidence-based practice materials.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (EBSCO)
Provides reviews of measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes, rating scales, etc.) used in the fields of health and psychosocial sciences. The actual instruments are NOT included full-text in the database.

Journals@Ovid
Provides Villanova users access to full-text articles from 47 nursing journals and to citations to articles in over 700 scientific, technical and medical journals. Years covered vary with the journal but most date from 1996 to date.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing and related publications.

Red Book Online (American Academy of Pediatrics)
The online home of the report of the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Committee on Infectious Diseases offers instant web-based access to the complete text of the Red Book®, the complete visual library of over 2,000 images, vaccine status information, infectious disease news, and much more.

PsychiatryOnline
Includes the full text of all editions of the DSM-V, full text articles of some psychiatric journals as well as a few psychiatric textbooks, self-assessment tools, medication information handouts, and more. American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines in both comprehensive and quick-reference formats are searchable also.

Science Citation Index Expanded (Thomson Reuters)
Do geneaology searches forwards and backwards for cited references. Subject searching also on Web of Knowledge. Coverage begins 1945 to present. Click for downloadable guide to cited reference searching.

Scopus (Elsevier)
Provides abstracts and citations for peer-reviewed journals in all major disciplines. Offers comprehensive coverage of the scientific, technical, medical, geographic and social sciences (including arts and humanities). Includes complete contents of GEOBASE multidisciplinary database.

MIT CogNet
MIT CogNet is an electronic community for researchers in cognitive and brain sciences. Includes library of electronic books and journals from the MIT Press as well as other publishers, professional associations, institutions and individuals.

PubMed Central
Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature from the National Institutes of Health.

rbowles Robin Bowles
Nursing & Life Sciences Librarian
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 220
610-519-8129



 


Last Modified: 2017-08-15 12:56:02