Datasets

Data.census.gov
Data from the Census Bureau from 2010 through most recent releases, including the American Community Survey, the Decennial Census, and several other surveys conducted by the bureau.

PolicyMap  Tutorial
Offers a tool for mapping and analyzing U.S. national data on a wide variety of topics including education, income, employment, public health, crime, housing, transit, and more. Researchers can conduct demographic and socioeconomic analyses on a variety of geographic levels, from the national level to the neighborhood census block group as well as custom regions. Time series data covers 2000 to present.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Site provides access to current 2012 PDF and past editions. Includes everything from government spending to the environment to communications. It is a most comprehensive one-volume reference source on the Nation's economic and social condition.

Social Explorer
Provides access to maps and tables of U.S. Census and American Community Survey data from 1790 through most recently released data. Also includes datasets on election, health, crime, religion, and environmental topics, as well as some international data (UK Census 2011; Canadian Census 2011; selected Eurostat data; and World Development Indicators from the World Bank.) Create a free personal account in order to save your work.

Community Health Data Base (Pennsylvania Household Health Survey)  Limitations on Use  Access Instructions
Provides online access to local health-related data at the census tract, ZIP code, county and regional levels. Includes information about health status, personal health behaviors, and access to and utilization of area health services. Data collected through the Southeastern Pennsylvania Household Health Survey which surveys Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery and Philadelphia counties every other year.

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, Institute for Social Research, University of Michigan)  Access Instructions
Provides access to archived social science data and data-driven learning guides designed for the classroom. Includes information about data management and curation services available to member institutions. See Qualitative Data Repository for qualitative and multi-method data.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (EBSCO)
Indexes measurement instruments including information about questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, and tests in the health fields, psycho-social sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. Coverage extends back to 1985.

Health Literacy Tool Shed
Tools to measure health literacy.

Statistical Insight (ProQuest)  Tutorial
Offers indexing, abstracting, and selected full text of statistical publications from U.S. state and federal governments, business and research institutes, and international material from the UN, OECD, EU, etc. Some tables are available in GIF, XLS, CSV, and other formats.

State Health Facts (Kaiser Family Foundation)
State and comparative statistics on health care.

CDC Wonder
A single point of access to a wide variety of reports and statistics on public health in the US.

National Center for Health Statistics
Statistical web portal for US public health statistics.

Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)

Vital Statistics of the United States

Philadelphia Vital Statistics Reports