FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY

You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Philosophy > Journal Articles

Journal Articles

Find articles by title

If you are looking for a specific article, and you already have some basic information about it, use the library's Journal Finder to get access to an electronic copy.

The Journal Finder is the fastest way to find and access articles you find references to on the web or in other publications. To locate an article you'll need the title, the name of the journal, and the date of publication.

Find articles in journal databases

Research databases make it possible to search for articles by subject keyword, title, author, and other identifying features. The databases listed below are among the most useful for traditional "core" areas of philosophy. For more specialized databases, see Resources by Subfield.

A full list of databases available through the library can be found in the Databases A-Z list.

Some databases entries will contain a link to the full text. For others, click findit.gif to see options for accessing the article.

General Databases for Philosophy

Philosopher's Index (ProQuest)
The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews in 39 languages. The Philosopher's Index monitors over 1,400 journals from more than 80 countries and is updated quarterly. Extensive indexing includes personal and proper names along with subject terms; there is also the capability to search for the authors of book reviews.

PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.

Philosophy Documentation Center Collection (POIESIS)
Provides searchable full-text online access to over 60 scholarly philosophy journals. Additional journals are indexed in the database.

Cairn.info
Indexes French-language academic journals in the humanities and social sciences. Villanova researchers have full-text access to current content of humanities journals. Offers open access to its archive. Supported by the Bibliothèque nationale de France and the Centre national du livre.

International Philosophical Bibliography (Peeters)
Indexes philosophical books and articles in English, French, German, Dutch, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and Catalan, as well as Classical Greek and Latin. Note that there are two versions. Use the IPB Full Edition for materials published since 1997, and the IPB Retrospective for pre-1997 publications.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Scholar search tips

JSTOR
A searchable and browsable archive of full-text core journals and books in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

Project Muse
Searchable collection of recent full-text humanities, social science and mathematics journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Clarivate)
Indexes core arts and humanities journals. Provides information on who has cited indexed articles. Covers 1991 to present.

nfogle Nikolaus Fogle
Philosophy Librarian
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 227
610-519-5182


Nikolaus Fogle is available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.


 


Last Modified: 2018-06-27 15:35:09