Select Government Offices and Agencies
A-Z list of US Government Agencies The White House State & Local Government on the Net U.S. Courts - The Federal JudiciaryThe purpose of this site is to function as a clearinghouse for information from and about the Judicial Branch of the U.S. Government.
U.S. Food and Drug AdministrationAgency of the U.S. government responsible for regulating food, dietary supplements, drugs, cosmetics, medical devices, biologics, and blood products in the United States.
Congressional Budget Office - TopicsCongressional Budget Office featured topics and policy options.
Department of Homeland Security (U.S.)The Department of Homeland Security combined 22 different federal departments and agencies into a unified, integrated cabinet agency when it was established in 2002. The Department of Homeland Security has the mission: to secure the nation from the many threats it faces.
Federal Election Commission (FEC)In 1975, Congress created the Federal Election Commission (FEC) to administer and enforce the Federal Election Campaign Act (FECA) - the statute that governs the financing of federal elections. The duties of the FEC, which is an independent regulatory agency, are to disclose campaign finance information, to enforce the provisions of the law such as the limits and prohibitions on contributions, and to oversee the public funding of Presidential elections. For brief video introduction click here.
Federal Reserve BoardNews, research and data on banking and monetary policy from the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve.
U.S. Census BureauCensus information about people & households, business & industry, geography, news, data tools, and fact finder resources
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration ServicesUSCIS is the government agency that oversees lawful immigration to the United States.
U.S. Department of Education U.S. Department of Justice U.S. Gov't agencies - DOE (Department of Energy)The Department of Energy's overarching mission is to advance the national, economic, and energy security of the United States.
U.S. Gov't agencies - EPA (Environmental Protection Agencies)The mission of the Environmental Protection Agency is to protect human health and the environment.
U.S. Gov't agencies - USDA (Department of Agriculture)A steward of our nation's 192 million acres of national forests and rangelands, the USDA is the country's largest conservation agency.
U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE)U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement is the principal investigative arm of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS). ICE's primary mission is to promote homeland security and public safety through the criminal and civil enforcement of federal laws governing border control, customs, trade and immigration.
Selected Legislative Branch Materials
Congress.gov - Federal Legislative InformationBeginning with 101st Congress (1989) through current Congress, provides text of bills, public laws, Roll Call votes and sponsorship and co-sponsorship by member. All About Legislation of the U.S. Congress is available at https://www.congress.gov/legislation/about. Other features include Browse Legislation providing Action on Legislation — Browse by Date, Days in Session, Roll Call Votes, Bill and Law Texts Received Today, Legislation Popular Titles and Short Titles.
Congressional Publications (ProQuest)Provides comprehensive indexing of United States legislative information: hearings transcripts and submitted testimony, committee reports, bills, public laws, congressional member public interest group ratings, selected committee prints, congressional documents, the Congressional Record, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and the U.S. Code. Includes abstracts. Some of the indexing goes back to the late 18th century.
FDsys - GPO - Congressional Record (now govinfo.gov)FDsys contains Congressional record volumes from 140 (1994) to the present. At the back of each daily issue is the "Daily Digest," which summarizes the day's floor and committee activities. The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set: 1817–1994 (Readex)Provides full text of selected reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from 1817 through 1994 (15th through 103rd Congresses). Documents of the first 14 U.S. Congresses can be found in the American State Papers collection.
Federal Legislative History Library (HeinOnline) Selected Judicial Branch Materials
HeinOnline
Provides full text access to legal periodicals, books, government documents, legal texts, and other primary source collections in the legal field.
Subscription courtesy of the Charles Widger School of Law Library.
Lexis Nexis Academic Limitations on Use
Now Nexis Uni. Provides full text access to national and international newspaper and magazine articles and news transcripts, business, company, and industry information in the U.S. and abroad, and legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews. Coverage varies.
Supreme Court Database
Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1791 and 2021 terms. Download options include CSV, R, SPSS and MSExcel.
Supreme Court of the United States
Official website of the U.S. Supreme Court.
Provides full text access to legal periodicals, books, government documents, legal texts, and other primary source collections in the legal field.
Subscription courtesy of the Charles Widger School of Law Library.
Lexis Nexis Academic Limitations on Use
Now Nexis Uni. Provides full text access to national and international newspaper and magazine articles and news transcripts, business, company, and industry information in the U.S. and abroad, and legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews. Coverage varies.
Limitations on Use:
LexisNexis online services and the materials contained therein are under copyright by LexisNexis. All rights reserved. No part of these Services may be used except for research purposes, and the Services may not be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise without the prior written permission of the LexisNexis Academic Library Solutions. Materials retrieved from the Services may not be duplicated in hard copy or machine-readable form without the prior written authorization of LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions, except that limited reproduction of output is permitted solely for individual use by the Authorized User or internal distribution within the Subscribing Institution in accordance with the terms of this Agreement unless further limited or prohibited by the Copyright Act of 1976. Under no circumstances may the Materials or any portion thereof be used to create derivative products or services.
LexisNexis online services and the materials contained therein are under copyright by LexisNexis. All rights reserved. No part of these Services may be used except for research purposes, and the Services may not be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise without the prior written permission of the LexisNexis Academic Library Solutions. Materials retrieved from the Services may not be duplicated in hard copy or machine-readable form without the prior written authorization of LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions, except that limited reproduction of output is permitted solely for individual use by the Authorized User or internal distribution within the Subscribing Institution in accordance with the terms of this Agreement unless further limited or prohibited by the Copyright Act of 1976. Under no circumstances may the Materials or any portion thereof be used to create derivative products or services.
Supreme Court Database
Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1791 and 2021 terms. Download options include CSV, R, SPSS and MSExcel.
Supreme Court of the United States
Official website of the U.S. Supreme Court.