Newspapers and News Databases
New York Times (NYTimes.com) Access InstructionsOffers access to all sections of the NYTimes.com website without monthly limits. Coverage from 1851 to present, with limited availability of articles from 1923-1980. For full text access to all NYT content except the most recent five years, use ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Subscription courtesy of the Provost's Office and Falvey Library.
Subscription courtesy of the Provost's Office and Falvey Library.
Users are required to create an individual account in order to access the NYT from off-campus or via mobile app. Create your account at AccessNYT.com. Download mobile apps from nytimes.com/mobile. Once your account is created, you can use it to log on to NYTimes.com from anywhere with full access. Your institutional affiliation must be confirmed once a year at AccessNYT.com
Nexis Uni Limitations on UseFormerly known as LexisNexis Academic. Provides full text access to national and international newspaper and magazine articles and news transcripts, business, company, and industry information in the U.S. and abroad, and legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews. Coverage varies.
Limitations on Use:
LexisNexis online services and the materials contained therein are under copyright by LexisNexis. All rights reserved. No part of these Services may be used except for research purposes, and the Services may not be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise without the prior written permission of the LexisNexis Academic Library Solutions. Materials retrieved from the Services may not be duplicated in hard copy or machine-readable form without the prior written authorization of LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions, except that limited reproduction of output is permitted solely for individual use by the Authorized User or internal distribution within the Subscribing Institution in accordance with the terms of this Agreement unless further limited or prohibited by the Copyright Act of 1976. Under no circumstances may the Materials or any portion thereof be used to create derivative products or services.
LexisNexis online services and the materials contained therein are under copyright by LexisNexis. All rights reserved. No part of these Services may be used except for research purposes, and the Services may not be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise without the prior written permission of the LexisNexis Academic Library Solutions. Materials retrieved from the Services may not be duplicated in hard copy or machine-readable form without the prior written authorization of LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions, except that limited reproduction of output is permitted solely for individual use by the Authorized User or internal distribution within the Subscribing Institution in accordance with the terms of this Agreement unless further limited or prohibited by the Copyright Act of 1976. Under no circumstances may the Materials or any portion thereof be used to create derivative products or services.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)Provides access to scholarly journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, and country- and industry-focused reports.
Philadelphia Inquirer, 1981- (NewsBank)Provides full text access to articles published since 1981. Does not include ads, calendar listings, horoscopes, sports statistics, stock tables, weather forecasts, and puzzles.
GenderWatch (ProQuest)Indexes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports in many disciplines on topics relevant to gender studies. Provides a historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and changes in gender roles. Includes perspectives typically not represented in the mainstream media. Includes abstracts and full-text for most citations. Coverage extends back to 1970.
Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library (Digital Library of the Caribbean)Presents digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers and gazettes currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Selected News Websites
Philadelphia Tribune, 1991- (Proquest)Provides full-text access to articles published between 1991 and the present. The Philadelphia Tribune is the oldest continuously published African American newspaper in the U.S. Older articles are accessible through Proquest Historical Newspapers.
Philadelphia Weekly BBC World ServiceProvides international news, analysis and information in English and 32 other languages. Also includes a BBC "News and analysis in your language" section.
Financial Times Limitations on Use Access InstructionsProvides full access to the web edition which features the same content found in the print edition plus additional multimedia features, company tear sheets, interactive charting, a dictionary of financial terms, and recruitment tools. Digital access to the print edition is available via ABI/Inform and Nexis Uni.
Subscription courtesy of Villanova School of Business.
Subscription courtesy of Villanova School of Business.
See the Financial Times's copyright policy.
Register with your Villanova email address. For mobile access via iPad or iPhone visit app.ft.com. For mobile access via Android devices visit m.ft.com.
Los Angeles Times:Note: The newspaper is available full text in the database, Lexis-Nexis * [rolling 6 month archive]
Guardian world serviceThe Guardian, formerly The Manchester Guardian, is a leading British national daily newspaper, associated with a complex organisational structure and international multimedia and web presence.
Note: Guardian newspaper articles are also available full-text in the Lexis Nexis Academic database, from July 1984 - to present. For more information, check the Guardian, World news guide.
Note: Guardian newspaper articles are also available full-text in the Lexis Nexis Academic database, from July 1984 - to present. For more information, check the Guardian, World news guide.
Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition (ProQuest)Provides access to the Wall Street Journal via the ABI/INFORM Complete database (1984 to the present).
Washington PostThe Post archives are available through several databases. Click here to view access options.
Christian Science MonitorExcellent coverage of world news and politics