Falvey subscribed databases
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
The Roper Center holds polling data ranging from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infancy, to the present. Over 650,000 questions of U.S. samples can be searched at the question-level in iPOLL, while RoperExpress offers downloads of over 20,000 datasets from over 100 countries. As part of its mission to maximize use and access for the data in its collection, Thematic collections include aging, arts & culture, civic engagement, criminal justice, demographics, disability and rehabilitation, health/mental health, race and teaching/learning. Roper Center tutorials. See also Roper Center Congressional Elections - Topics at a glanceand the Latin American Databank @Roper.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) - ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Polling the Nations
The database includes 12,000 surveys and 250,000 questions on more than 3,500 topics. Scope is international, from the United States, to more than 60 other countries. Supports searches by topic, full-text, geographic, date range, organization responsible for the survey and other demographics. survey questions retrieved can be exported and sent to email and graphed.
Freely available resources
American National Election Studies - data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists who want to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes. Includes a guide to public opinion, a reference library, links to other election studies around the world and downloadable time series data.
Despite its diversified business offerings, the company is still most famous for its Gallup Poll surveys. The company was founded in 1935 by Dr. George Gallup, a pioneer in the science of polling. More than a pollster, Gallup draws from its research and behavioral studies to offer consulting services related to performance management. Other specialties include branding, marketing, and recruiting. The company delivers its services on the Web, through its Gallup University campuses, and through more than 40 global offices. It draws customers from a variety of industries, including automotive, business services, health care, hospitality, manufacturing, and retail.
Monmouth University Polling Institute - The Institute was established to be a leading center for the study of public opinion on critical national and state issues. The Polling Institute's mission is to foster greater public accountability by ensuring that the public’s voice is heard in the policy discourse. The Institute maintains national, state and regional polling reports, a Youtube channel and an Institute blog.
FiveThirtyEight (Nate Silver's) - Blog and polling website that takes its name from the number of electors in the United States electoral college. Includes interactives election forecast along with politics, sports, science & health, economics and culture posts.
New York Times (NYT) - National and state election polls.
NORC (at the University of Chicago) - Independent research institution composed of several research centers and departments conducting research in five main areas: Economics, Markets, and the Workforce; Education, Training, and Learning; Global Development; Health and Well-Being; and Society, Media, and Public Affairs.
Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does so by conducting public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. Pew does not take policy positions. The Center's work is carried out in seven research areas: U.S. Politics & Policy, Journalism & Media, Internet, Science & Tech, Religion & Public Life, Hispanic Trends, Global Attitudes & Trends and Social & Demographic Trends.
Quinnipiac University Polling Institute - regularly surveys residents in Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Iowa, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Virginia and nationwide about political races, state and national elections, and issues of public concern, such as schools, taxes, transportation, municipal services and the environment.
Rasmussen Reports - Rasmussen Reports is a nonpartisan electronic media company specializing in the collection, publication and distribution of public opinion polling information. The company conducts national tracking surveys every night on political, economic and lifestyle issues.
RealClearPolitics - election related polls, includes presidential, senate, house & governor
Washington Post Polling - New polls, polling analysis and poll information from the Post.
The Hill - features polls and six blogs dedicated to specific political and policy issues
the harris poll – acquired by Nielsen in 2014, frequent polls tap into a representative sample of Americans of all ages, genders, income and ethnic backgrounds. From sports to health, politics to the economy, the Harris Poll reflects Americans’ opinions on a wide range of topic.
The Center for Information & Research on Civic Learning and Engagement (CIRCLE) - Based at the Jonathan M. Tisch College of Citizenship and Public Service at Tufts University, CIRCLE conducts research on the civic and political engagement of young Americans.
HuffPost Pollster (originally pollster.com) – tracks thousands of public polls to give you the latest data on elections, political opinions and more.
ABC News polls - public opinion polling, analysis and consulting services to ABC News through Langer Research Associates.
National Journal Online - the NationalJournal.com reports a number of polls, including a presidential race tracker 2016, Data and Charts Center, Almanac of American Politics profiles of Congressional, White House staff, Cabinet Departments and Federal Executive Agency members.
Princeton Election Consortium - Begun in 2004, this blog’s mission is to provide informed analysis of US national elections by members of the Princeton academic community. In 2016, much of the site’s information is about polling.
Franklin & Marshall College - Center for Opinion Research - In addition to conducting survey research on behalf of clients, the Center also pursues scholarly research, primarily in the areas of healthcare, education, public policy, voting behavior, and the methodologies of survey research. The Franklin & Marshall College Poll, now in it’s 22nd year (2016), is the longest running statewide poll exclusively directed and produced in Pennsylvania. The poll tracks citizen opinion on politics, public affairs, public policy, and elections in Pennsylvania.
Lincoln Institute of Public Opinion Research, Inc. - a Harrisburg-based non-profit, educational foundation conducting climate and delegate surveys.
World Public Opinion.org - WorldPublicOpinion.org is an international collaborative project whose aim is to give voice to public opinion around the world on international issues. The WorldPublicOpinion.org network is a consortium of research centers studying public opinion on international issues in their respective countries. WorldPublicOpinion.org was initiated by and is managed by the Program on International Policy Attitudes at the University of Maryland.
Research!America (an alliance for discoveries in health) - Each year, Research!America publishes America Speaks, a summary of their most recent poll data.
World Values Survey (WVS) - A global network of international social scientists and scholars studying changing human beliefs and values and their impact on social and political life using a common questionnaire for surveys conducted in almost 100 countries in a cross-national, time series investigation.
CQ Electronic Library (CQ Press) – particularly CQ Weekly and CQ Voting & Elections Collection
Business Source Premier (EBSCO) – includes Gallup poll briefings and reports
America Votes series – elections returns by state, search in library catalog,
call number JK1967 .A8, latest vol. in Reference, included online in CQ Voting & Elections Collection
America at the Polls - a handbook of a American presidential election statistics, search in library catalog, call number JK524 .M33 2001, latest vol. in Reference, included online in CQ Voting & Elections Collection
American Association for Public Opinion Research (AAPOR) - Founded in 1947, AAPOR is a professional organization dedicated to advancing the science and practice of survey and opinion research to give people a voice in the decisions that affect their daily lives.
World Association for Public Opinion Research (WAPOR) - “in each country of the world the right to conduct and publish scientific research on what the people and its groups think and how this thinking is influenced by various factors, b) “the knowledge and application of scientific methods in this objective,” c) “the development and publication of public opinion research worldwide,” and d) “international cooperation and exchange among academic and commercial researchers, journalists and political actors, as well as between the representatives of the different scientific disciplines.”
Articles for further consideration :
Data-driven politics (2012)