General Public Opinion
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, Institute for Social Research, University of Michigan) Access Instructions
NORC at the University of Chicago
General Social Survey (GSS)
Pew Research Center
Quinnipiac University Poll
Frequently cited by journalists, public officials and researchers, the independent Quinnipiac University Poll regularly surveys residents in Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Iowa, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Virginia and nationwide about political races, state and national elections, and issues of public concern, such as schools, taxes, transportation, municipal services and the environment.
Center for Economic and Social Research (CESR)
Center for Information & Research on Civic Learning and Engagement (CIRCLE)
Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
Gallup Analytics and Brain Tutorial
Select Collections within Resources
Resource Center for Minority Data (RCMD) - an initiative of ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, Institute for Social Research, University of Michigan) the archive collection allows researchers to track changes in outcomes and status of minority populations and contributing factors. (A free ICPSR account is required to download data.)
GenForward - The first of its kind bi-monthly survey of racially and ethnically diverse young adults conducted by the Black Youth Project at the University of Chicago with The Associated Press-NORC Center for Public Affairs Research.
National Black Election Study Series - begun in spring 1984, updated 2008, the survey design involves pre- and post-election interviews undertaken in presidential election years. Data are provided on the political attitudes and political preferences and choices of adult Black voters and their choices for president in the presidential elections. (A free ICPSR account is required to download data.)
Health Poll Database - Part of the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (iPOLL) database, The Health Poll database is reportedly the most comprehensive database for health-related U.S. survey questions, covering eighty years of national polling. Questions, demographic crosstabs and trends are available along with a visual map of the database to explore concepts in health polling.
Public Opinion Quarterly - Publishes important theoretical contributions to opinion and communication research, analyses of current public opinion, and investigations of methodological issues involved in survey validity—including questionnaire construction, interviewing and interviewers, sampling strategy, and mode of administration.
Survey Practice - Provides current information on issues in survey research and public opinion that is useful to survey and public opinion practitioners, new survey researchers, and those interested in survey and polling methods - published by the American Association for Public Opinion Research.
U.S. Political (National & Regional)
CQ Voting & Elections Collection (CQ Press) - Offers data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical research on the American voter, political parties, campaigns, and elections. Includes candidate and office histories, seat status and competition, special elections, maps, bibliographies, chronology, and web links. Coverage goes back to 1789.
American National Election Studies (ANES) - Quality data from ANES surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation. ANES data is meant to enable researchers to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes. Includes: Tables & Graphs Guide to Public Opinion and Electoral Behavior, a library of pilot studies, technical reports and conference papers, and data center links. See also HOW TO ANALYZE ANES SURVEY DATA
Business Source Premier (EBSCO) - Includes Gallup Poll Briefings 2006-16, followed by Gallup News Service reports. Provides access to a wide range of academic business journals and trade magazines. Topics include management, marketing, finance, economics, and management information systems. Full text access may be embargoed for up to three years. Coverage goes back to 1965.
Roper Elections and Presidents (1976-present) - includes polls related to presidential elections, group demographic voting, national election day exit polls, state primary exit polls and presidential apporval ratings (1938- present). (To download or analyze data online, each user needs to set up a free account.)
The Reuters/Ipsos poll has measured American public opinion at least once a week since 2012. The online poll is conducted in English, throughout the United States, gathering about 132,000 unique responses every year.
National Network of State Polls - The National Network of State Polls (NNSP) Dataverse is a confederation of organizations that conduct state-level surveys. NNSP contains over 700 datasets contributed by 44 NNSP member organizations representing 25 states. From 1991 to 2000, the Odum Institute served as the national headquarters for the National Network of State Polls (NNSP). The NNSP Dataverse is one of the largest available collections of state-level polling data.
The Democracy Fund Voter Study Group - The Democracy Fund Voter Study Group is a research collaboration of more than two dozen analysts and scholars from across the political spectrum examining and delivering insights on the evolving views of American voters.
U.S. Officials' Job Approval Ratings (JARs) Database - depository for job approval ratings obtained at the state level for state governors, U.S. senators and U.S. presidents from the mid-1900s to 2009. Please cite the database as the U.S. Officials' Job Approval Ratings (JARs) Database, compiled by Richard Niemi, Thad Beyle and Lee Sigelman—the shorthand is the JARs Database—and include in your citations a note that the database is currently hosted by Dr. Jennifer M. Jensen, Lehigh University.
Based on Highton, B. (2008). Job Approval and Senate Election Outcomes in the United States. Legislative Studies Quarterly, 33(2), 245-261. http://www.jstor.org/stable/40263457
FiveThirtyEight - Nate Silver's blog and polling website that takes its name from the number of electors in the United States electoral college. Includes interactives election forecasts along with politics, sports, science & health, economics and culture posts.
Franklin & Marshall College - Center for Opinion Research - a nationally recognized resource for those seeking objective information about the major issues and problems facing the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and its citizens; reportsly the oldest statewide poll exclusively directed and produced in Pennsylvania.
Monmouth University Polling Institute - The Polling Institute was established to be a leading center for the study of public opinion on critical national and state issues. The Polling Institute conducts polls on political and policy issues as well as upcoming elections. The Polling Institute also provides research services focused on public policy issues as a service to the community.
Quinnipiac University polls - Based at Quinnipiac University in Connecticut, the Poll regularly surveys residents nationwide and polls in more than a dozen states about political races, state and national elections, and issues of public concern, such as schools, taxes, transportation, municipal services and the environment. For a typical public opinion survey, a randomly selected sample of about 1,000 registered voters age 18 and over is interviewed over five or six days.
Rasmussen Reports - Rasmussen Reports is an electronic publishing firm specializing in the collection, publication, and distribution of free and fee-based public opinion polling information. Provides these free section to general audiences: What They Told Us: Reviewing Last Week’s Key Polls, Daily Presidential Tracking Poll and Political Commentary sections.
RealClearPolitics polls - Widely cited media company that aggregates polls for presidential, congressional, senate and governor races into averages, known as the RealClearPolitics average polling data.
Print/electronic book resources:
- America votes series - includes official, state-certified election returns and key data by state, county and by district for the House, Senate, and gubernatorial elections. Available by title search in the SAGE Knowledge database and in print at JK 1967.A8. Published every two years.
- America at the polls, 1960-2000 John F. Kennedy to George W. Bush : a handbook of American presidential election statistics - County and state results for each presidential election by total votes and percentages from 1960 to 2000. Also includes some census data for each county. In print at JK 524 .M33 2001
International (General & Political)
African Elections Database
Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP)
Election Guide (IFES)
British Election Study (BES)
Comparative Study of Electoral Systems
Comparative National Elections Project (CNEP)
International Social Survey Programme (ISSP)
European Social Survey (ESS)
Pew Research Center: Global Attitudes & Trends
Politico Europe Poll of Polls
World Values Survey (WVS)
Gallup Analytics and Brain Tutorial
World Association for Public Opinion Research (WAPOR)