FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY

You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Political Science > Reference Tools

Reference Tools

 Political Science Reference

  Annual Review of Political Science
The Annual Review of Political Science, in publication since 1998, covers significant developments in the field of Political Science including political theory and philosophy, international relations, political economy, political behavior, American and comparative politics, public administration and policy, and methodology.

  Annual Review of Sociology
The Annual Review of Sociology, in publication since 1975, covers the significant developments in the field of sociology. Topics covered in the journal include major theoretical and methodological developments as well as current research in the major subfields.

  Opposing Viewpoints Resources in Context (Gale)
Access information on social issues through viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

  Oxford Bibliographies - Communication, Political Science, International Relations
Oxford bibliographies in political science and international relations are designed to be starting points for research and offer peer-reviewed, annotated bibliographies. The bibliographies can be searched separately or together, by keyword or advanced search.  Search responses can include books, journal articles, web resources, multimedia, primary documents, forthcoming and related articles.  Journal citations are linked to full-text via the “find it”  link and book citations are linked to Falvey via the WorldCat link. Tutorial available at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8qSFUHnQ1UE.

  Oxford Handbook Series for Political Science
Handbooks related to political science, public administration and public policy published by Oxford University Press. Available in the Falvey stacks.

  The Sage Dictionary of Social Research Methods
Coverage of the all the main terms in the research process, encompassesing philosophies of science, research paradigms and designs, specific aspects of data collection, practical issues to be addressed when carrying out research, and the role of research in terms of function and context.

 Reference Tools for Specific Topics in Politics

CQ Researcher (SAGE)
Coverage of political and social issues, including health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each report includes: overview, background, current situation, pro/con section, special focus, chronology, bibliography and next step.

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
Congressional Research Service (CRS) is a think tank that provides research reports to members of Congress. Reports also collected at http://digital.library.unt.edu/explore/collections/CRSR/.  CRS does not make even its non-confidential publications directly available to the public online. The Federation of American Scientists endeavors to provide current, regularly updated public access to as many non-confidential CRS reports as possible. These reports are provided without congressional or CRS authorization as a public service. The U.S. Department of State also provides a selection of Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports and Issue Briefs at http://fpc.state.gov/c18185.htm.

BBC News Country Profiles
"Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions".

 


Last Modified: 2017-11-18 00:19:50