Find journal articles in databases
In addition to databases listed below a full list of databases available through the library are listed in Databases A to Z and other subject specific databases can be found under Subject Guides.
Library Search Engine - Basics tutorial (short video)
Library Search Engine - Advanced Techniques tutorial (short video)
Searching for articles:
You can search the library's database for articles HERE
- Before you start your search always be sure to check the box in the right hand column to "Limit to articles from peer-reviewed journals
- If you are supposed to be using scholarly peer reviewed journals you would also take one more step. Under "Format" select "Academic Journals"
- Now you are ready to enter your search terms in the main search bar
Some entries have full text via the database.
For others, click on to gain access or request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.
Find Specific Articles or Browse Specific Journals
When you search the library's website or one of the databases below you are searching hundreds of different journals for articles that match the search terms you have chosen to use.
However, sometimes you may wish to find a specific article, or browse a specific journal. You can do this using Journal Finder.
Search For and Browse a Journal
To search for a specific Journal simply type in the title, a keyword from the title, the ISSN, or ISBN into the search box and Search.
Your results should look something like this
You will notice that there are multiple links to access one journal, that is because we have access to this journal through multiple databases. What you need to pay attention to are the dates preceding the links. These dates indicate coverage. So for example if you you wanted to browse current issues of PMLA shown above you would want to click on the for "Modern Language Association Journals," which covers 2002 to the present. If you wanted to browse older issues you would instead click the link for "JSTOR Early Journal Content" which covers 1889-1922.
After decide which link you want to click based on the coverage dates you will be taken to a page that looks something like this.
Typically, there will be years which you can expand or minimize and then individual volumes and issues which you can then click on and view the individual articles in a given issue or volume of a journal.
Finding an Article using DOI
Most scientific articles have a digital object identifier (DOI), you can copy the DOI into the search bar and quickly search for that specific article.
More information about DOIs
Finding an Article WITHOUT a DOI
Many humanities articles do not have DOIs so you will need to search using the title of the article.
First identify the title of the article.
Then copy and past that title into the search bar which you will see on all pages of the library's website. Make sure to select either the more general search "Articles & More" OR the more specific "Article Title"
The article you are looking for should appear as one of the top results if we have access to it.
However, if we do not have it digitally you can search to see if other libraries have access to it and request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). To do this, go the to right hand side of the screen under "Refine Results," and UNCHECK the box for "exclude articles at other libraries."
This will allow you to see articles which we do not have immediate access to, but which you can request through ILL. If you see the article you are looking for click the "Find It" button.
Then click "Request this item through interlibrary loan."
Login using the login you use for everything at Villanova, fill out any missing required fields in the form you will see and then hit "Submit"
Identifying Scholarly Journals
How can you tell if a journal article is scholarly?
There are several ways to tell. Some database search engines (like EBSCO's) allow you to limit your searches to peer reviewed results by checking a box. Another way is to look at who publishes the journal; often, journals are published by a university press like Johns Hopkins, Duke, or Oxford. If so, the journal and articles in it are scholarly and peer reviewed. Another way to decide is to look at the front matter in each journal issue (in print or on the journal website). Often journals will have editorial policies and submission guidelines that tell you whether or not a journal is scholarly.
How are scholarly journal articles different from regular articles?
Scholarly articles always go through a process of blind submission and peer review. This means that all articles are judged solely on the quality of content and are published only if other experts in a given field decide that the article contributes something worthwhile. If you are reading an article in a peer-reviewed journal, you can be assured that it's already been looked at by multiple experts, most of whom are established scholars.
Is there a way to tell which journals are better than others?
There are several options you have. You can search the journal title inWorldCat and see how many libraries worldwide access it. The more libraries that access it, the more likely the journal is important. Other journals advertise their impact factor, which is a measure of how often the journal is cited. Otherwise, ask your professors which journals they think are most important.
What are the features of scholarly journal articles?
- Often directed toward a narrow audience that has specific research interests.
- Always have information cited in text or in footnotes.
- Provide extensive bibliographies and overviews of existing research.
Remember, scholarly journal articles are just one of many kinds of articles out there. If you still have questions, ask a librarian or your professor.
These resources are especially useful if you find yourself searching for things on sites not accessed through the library.
The Web vs. Library Databases – A comparison
A guide to understanding and evaluating the difference between scholarly and non-scholarly resources
Is it Scholarly? Tips for critically evaluating your information resources.
Databases for Scholarly Articles
Our Journal is indexed by The Modern Language Association Bibliography and Historical Abstracts, and also by LatAm-Studies and Instituto Cervantes. It is part of the DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) as well.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index - Web of Science (Clarivate)
Dialnet (Universidad de La Rioja)
Film & Television Literature Index (EBSCO)
Gale Literary Database - Contemporary Authors
HLAS (Handbook of Latin American Studies) Tutorial
Iter Bibliography (University of Toronto)
Lexis Nexis Academic Limitations on Use
LexisNexis online services and the materials contained therein are under copyright by LexisNexis. All rights reserved. No part of these Services may be used except for research purposes, and the Services may not be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise without the prior written permission of the LexisNexis Academic Library Solutions. Materials retrieved from the Services may not be duplicated in hard copy or machine-readable form without the prior written authorization of LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions, except that limited reproduction of output is permitted solely for individual use by the Authorized User or internal distribution within the Subscribing Institution in accordance with the terms of this Agreement unless further limited or prohibited by the Copyright Act of 1976. Under no circumstances may the Materials or any portion thereof be used to create derivative products or services.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest)
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
MLO : Modern Languages Open (ejournal)