There are two primary ways to search for books through the library.
1-Search the Catalog
To search the catalog enter your search terms into the search bar which can be found at the top of any library page and click "find." You will see 3 columns, click on the link for the one on the far left labeled "books & media."
Once you have done this the results you see will be book available through Falvey Library. You can further narrow down you results using the options in the right hand column labeled "Refine Search."
In WorldCat you can search for a variety of things, but one of the most useful functions of searching world cat is that it will display books owned by Falvey library as well as books owned by other libraries. When you do a search for books the ones we own will have a green
VILLANOVA UNIV tag next to them where as books not owned by Villanova will give you the option to "Borrow from another library." WorldCat is especially useful for graduate students whose research may require them to access a wider variety of books than those immediately available through the library.
Falvey Library Catalog
The Library's catalog enables patrons to search & browse Falvey Memorial Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.
WorldCat is a catalog of library collections worldwide. WorldCat highlights publications available at Villanova University. Other items can be requested via an inter-library loan request form.WorldCat Step-by-Step
is a self-paced interactive tutorial for students new to this resource.
Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics
Cambridge Companion to the French Novel
Written by experts and designed for the general reader, the Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics
collection offers over 2000 comprehensive and accessible essays on major authors, periods and genres. For the author Companions, each writer is placed in literary and historical context; their major works are analyzed, either in separate chapters or grouped according to theme, and their influence on later writers assessed. The generic and topical Companions cover periods of English literature such as Old English or the Victorian Novel, and literary genres such as Modernism or Greek Tragedy, giving the reader vital contextual information about political, social, religious and artistic relationships. The Companions to Classical Civilisation examine key periods and aspects of the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome.
Cambridge Companion to Flaubert Cambridge Companion to Gabriel García Márquez
This volume provides a unique and valuable insight into the novel in French over the past two centuries. Essays by acknowledged experts range widely over issues and texts, referring to earlier periods and other genres and literatures where relevant. Theoretical discussion is combined with close reading, and there is a challenging reassessment of major figures and traditional views. All quotations are translated and there is a chronology and guide to further reading, making this an essential working manual for all those interested in modern French fiction.
Cambridge Companion to Medieval French Literature
"This Companion includes new and probing readings of all of García Márquez's works, by leading international specialists. His life in Colombia, the context of Latin American history and culture, key themes in his works and their critical reception are explored in detail."
Cambridge Companion to Molière Cambridge Companion to War Writing
Medieval French literature encompasses 450 years of literary output in Old and Middle French, mostly produced in Northern France and England. These texts, including courtly lyrics, prose and verse romances, dits amoureux and plays, proved hugely influential for other European literary traditions in the medieval period and beyond. This Companion offers a wide-ranging and stimulating guide to literature composed in medieval French from its beginnings in the ninth century until the Renaissance. The essays are grounded in detailed analysis of canonical texts and authors such as the Chanson de Roland, the Roman de la Rose, Villon's Testament, Chrétien de Troyes, Machaut, Christine de Pisan and the Tristan romances.
Cambridge Companion to Zola Cambridge History of Latin American Literature
McLoughlin, Catherine Mary, and Cambridge collections online. The Cambridge Companion to War Writing
. Cambridge, UK ; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2009. Cambridge Histories Online. Cambridge University Press. 16 October 2011
Cambridge History of Literary Criticism
The Cambridge History of Latin American Literature is by far the most comprehensive and authoritative work of its kind. Its three volumes cover the whole sweep of Latin American literature (including Brazilian) from pre-Columbian times to the present, and contain chapters on Latin American writing in the USA. Specialists in North America, Latin America, and Britain have contributed to this uniquely reliable reference work, creating a set of books which contains innovative approaches that will expand and animate the field for years to come.
Cambridge History of Russian Literature Cambridge History of Spanish Literature.
The Cambridge History of Literary Criticism provides a comprehensive historical account of Western literary criticism from classical antiquity to the present day. The history will comprise nine volumes and deal with literary theory and critical practice. It is intended as an authoritative work of reference and exposition, much more than a mere chronicle of facts. While remaining broadly non-partisan, it addresses, where appropriate, controversial issues of current critical debate without evasion or pretence of neutrality. Nevertheless, it will maintain throughout a scrupulous concern for factual accuracy and a due representation of differing points of view.
This is the first comprehensive history of Spanish literature, to be published in English, since the 1970s brings together experts from the USA, the UK, and Spain. The essays cover the full range of Spanish poetry, prose, and theater from the early Middle Ages to the present day. The chapters chart a wide range of literary periods and movements and consider the influences of film and new media on modern Spanish literature.
Liaison Librarian for English Literature, Theatre, and Romance Languages and Literature
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Sarah Wingo is available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.
Click on the button below to schedule a research appointment.