When using newspaper databases:
- Look carefully at their descriptions to help you identify coverage date ranges.
- When searching in the databases it helps to specify date ranges, especially if you are searching a historical newspaper.
- When searching historical newspapers be aware of the language you are using. The algorithms search for words in the newspaper so using modern terminology for something from the 1800s may not work.
Berliner Morgenpost Daily Yomiuri El Pais Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
Offers access to full-text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. While most of the content is in English, significant Spanish and other language content is included. Coverage for most newspapers and magazines goes back to the early 1990s, but earlier content is also available.
Books, Magazines & Newspapers
New York Times: 1851- (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Indexes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports in the fields of gender studies. Provides a historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and changes in gender roles. Includes perspectives typically not represented in the mainstream media. Includes abstracts and full-text for most citations. Coverage extends back to 1970.
Il Manifesto Internet Public Library Newspapers
Provides full-text access to the complete New York Times
archive except for the most current three years. Use Nexis-Uni
for access to current content.
Le Monde Lexis Nexis Academic
Online newspapers from around the world.
The Japan Times
Now Nexis Uni
. Provides full-text access to national and international newspaper and magazine articles and news transcripts, business, company, and industry information in the U.S. and abroad, and legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews. Coverage varies. LexisNexis online services and the materials contained therein are under copyright by LexisNexis. All rights reserved. No part of these Services may be used except for research purposes, and the Services may not be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise without the prior written permission of the LexisNexis Academic Library Solutions. Materials retrieved from the Services may not be duplicated in hard copy or machine-readable form without the prior written authorization of LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions, except that limited reproduction of output is permitted solely for individual use by the Authorized User or internal distribution within the Subscribing Institution in accordance with the terms of this Agreement unless further limited or prohibited by the Copyright Act of 1976. Under no circumstances may the Materials or any portion thereof be used to create derivative products or services.
Liaison Librarian for English Literature, Theatre, and Romance Languages and Literature
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Sarah Wingo is available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.
Click on the button below to schedule a research appointment.