Reviews

Provides citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of literature, language and linguistics, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and folklore. International in scope; coverage from 1926 to the present. Includes access to the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
[Details]

Provides full text access to critical essays, work and topic overviews, texts from literary magazines, biographies, and more. Covers a wide range of authors including novelists, poets, essayists, and journalists.
[Details]

Provides compilations of literary criticism. Includes the complete runs of Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
[Details]

Selected volumes now available online in Literature Resource Center (Gale).
[Details]

A source of wide-ranging critical opinion on early literature, this series contains excerpts from criticism through the ages on the works of philosophers, poets and playwrights, political leaders, scientists, mathematicians and writers from other genres. Students writing a term paper on an author, work, topic, theme or idea, will find this series a helpful first resource. Approximately 90-95% of critical essays are full text. Entries feature biography and textual history, bibliographies of the writer's works, criticism and more. The titles of works are searchable. Reprints also available from Literature Resource Center.
[Details]

Turn to this authoritative international resource for complete critical coverage of the careers and works of the greatest writers and thinkers of the late Middle Ages, the Renaissance and the Restoration eras. Detailed entries offer students and other researchers access to a variety of important interpretations of historical periods, literary trends and topics, and the achievements of noteworthy individuals. Provides full-text or excerpted criticism reproduced from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals.
[Details]

Coverage includes profiles of literary figures who died between 1800 and 1899 by providing full-text or excerpted criticism taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals. Reprints also available from Literature Resource Center.
[Details]

This highly useful resource offers full-text or excerpted criticism from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals on the major literary figures and nonfiction writers of 1900-1999.
[Details]

Provides critical analyses of significant dramatists or plays. For each play or playwright featured, a full range of critical opinion is presented, along with a biographical sketch, a chronological list of the writer's major works and more. Approximately 90-95% of critical essays are full text. Titles of the plays are searchable. Reprints also available from Literature Resource Center.
[Details]

Covers critical analyses of the works of major authors of short fiction. Includes full-text (90%) and excerpts of published critical essays, with an overview of the author or work and a historical survey of the critical response. Searchable by the title of the short story. Reprints also available from Literature Resource Center.
[Details]

Provides critical analyses of the works of poets of all eras. Entries provide an introductory biographical sketch, an author portrait, a primary bibliography, annotated full text and excerpted criticism of the poets' works and sources for additional reading. When available, comments from the poets themselves are included. Approximately 90-95% of critical essays are full text. Titles of poems are searchable. Reprints also available from Literature Resource Center.
[Details]

Written by experts and designed for the general reader, the Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics collection offers over 2000 comprehensive and accessible essays on major authors, periods and genres. For the author Companions, each writer is placed in literary and historical context; their major works are analyzed, either in separate chapters or grouped according to theme, and their influence on later writers assessed. The generic and topical Companions cover periods of English literature such as Old English or the Victorian Novel, and literary genres such as Modernism or Greek Tragedy, giving the reader vital contextual information about political, social, religious and artistic relationships. The Companions to Classical Civilisation examine key periods and aspects of the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome.
[Details]

[Details]