Basic guide navigation:
-
Use + to expand sections or reveal link definitions
-
Right click a link to open in new tab, which keeps guide open in original tab
______________________
Teaching Toolkits
Introduction to Sustainability Teaching by Discipline
Books and Video
Carbon footprint case studies : municipal solid waste management, sustainable road transport and carbon sequestration (2021)
Sustainability on university campuses : learning, skills building and best practices (2019)
Keywords for Environmental Studies (2016)
Teaching sustainability, teaching sustainably (2012)
(Also avaialble from the VITAL Teaching Library)
Sustainability Practice and Education on University Campuses and Beyond
(2017)
Narratives of Educating for Sustainability in Unsustainable Environments (2018)
Value-creating global citizenship education for sustainable development : strategies and approaches (2020)
Encyclopedia of Sustainability in Higher Education (2019)
Handbook of engaged sustainability (2019)
Streaming Video
Green Economy Green Education (2015)
Universities like Oregon State, Montana Tech & Portland State are adding degrees to their curriculum that cover many new sustainable trends.
Accounting
Corporate Sustainability: Integrating Performance and Reporting (2012)
Contemporary Issues in Sustainability Accounting, Assurance and Reporting (2012)
Biology
Sustainability: A Biological Perspective (2010)
Chemistry
Analytical Chemistry for Cultural Heritage (2017)
Communication
Sustainability, participation & culture in communication : theory and praxis (2013)
Media, sustainability and everyday life (2019)
Cultural Heritage
Cultural Urban Heritage: Development, Learning and Landscape Strategies (2019)
Perceptions of Sustainability in Heritage Studies (2015)
The world-ending fire : the essential Wendell Berry (2018)
Religion
Creation in Crisis: Christian Perspectives on Sustainability (2009)
Just Sustainability: Technology, Ecology, and Resource Extraction Catholic Theological Ethics in the World Church Volume 3 (2015)
Environmental Solidarity: How Religions Can Sustain Sustainability (2012)
Theatre
A practical guide to greener theatre : introduce sustainability into your productions (2014)
Journals and Articles
International Journal of Sustainability in Higher Education:
Mapping out Students' Opportunity to Learn about Sustainability across the Higher Education Curriculum Michel, Jessica Ostrow. Innovative Higher Education Vol. 45, Iss. 5, (Oct 2020): 355-371.
Teaching Sustainability across Curricula: Understanding Faculty Perspectives at Vancouver Island University McCunn, Lindsay J; Bjornson, Alexander; Alexander, Don. Curriculum Journal Vol. 31, Iss. 3, (Sep 2020): 557-572.
Faculty Integration of Sustainability Learning Outcomes into Curriculum: A Case Study of a Faculty Learning Community and Teaching Practices Natkin, Lisa W; Hill, Laura M. New Directions for Teaching and Learning Iss. 161, (Apr 2020 - Jun 2020): 123-138.
Chemical Engineering
An Undergraduate-Led, Research-Based Course That Complements a Traditional Chemical Engineering Curriculum Butrus, Salwan; Greenman, Kevin; Khera, Eshita; Kopyeva, Irina; Nishii, Akira.Chemical Engineering Education Vol. 54, Iss. 4, (Apr 2020 - Jun 2020): 97-106.
Chemistry
Toward a Green and Sustainable Chemistry Education Road Map MacKellar, Jennifer J; Constable, David J. C; Kirchhoff, Mary M; Hutchison, James E; Beckman, Eric.Journal of Chemical Education Vol. 97, Iss. 8, (Aug 2020): 2104-2113.
Integrating Green and Sustainable Chemistry into Undergraduate Teaching Laboratories: Closing and Assessing the Loop on the Basis of a Citrus Biorefinery Approach for the Biocircular Economy in Brazil Zuin, Vânia G; Segatto, Mateus L; Zandonai, Dorai P; Grosseli, Guilherme M; Stahl, Aylon; et al.Journal of Chemical Education Vol. 96, Iss. 12, (Dec 2019): 2975-2983.
Integrating Green Chemistry in the Curriculum: Building Student Skills in Systems Thinking, Safety, and Sustainability Aubrecht, Katherine B; Bourgeois, Marie; Brush, Edward J; MacKellar, Jennifer; Wissinger, Jane E.Journal of Chemical Education Vol. 96, Iss. 12, (Dec 2019): 2872-2880.
Environmentally Friendly Organic Chemistry Laboratory Experiments for the Undergraduate Curriculum: A Literature Survey and Assessment Mohan, Ram S; Mejia, Maria P.Journal of Chemical Education Vol. 97, Iss. 4, (Apr 2020): 94-949.
Communication
Embedding and Sustaining Inclusive Practice to Support Disabled Students in Online and Blended Learning Pearson, Victoria; Lister, Kate; McPherson, Elaine; Gallen, Anne-Marie; Davies, Gareth; et al.Journal of Interactive Media in Education Vol. 2019, Iss. 1, (2019): 10.
Education
Journal of Teacher Education for Sustainability
Environmental and Sustainability Education Pedagogical Approaches in Pre-Service Teacher Education Sims, Laura; Asselin, Madeleine; Falkenberg, Thomas.Canadian Journal of Environmental Education Vol. 23, Iss. 1, (2020): 14-32.
Engineering
Using Human-Centered Design to Connect Engineering Concepts to Sustainable Development Goals Mueller, Jenna L; Dotson, Mary Elizabeth; Dietzel, Jennifer; Peters, Jenna; Asturias, Gabriela; et al.Advances in Engineering Education Vol. 8, Iss. 2, (Jul 2020 - Sep 2020): 24.
Food Security
Developing Interdisciplinary Thinking in a Food and Nutritional Security, Hunger, and Sustainability Graduate Course Knobloch, Neil A; Charoenmuang, Mingla; Cooperstone, Jessica L; Patil, Bhimanagouda S.Journal of Agricultural Education and Extension Vol. 26, Iss. 1, (2020): 113-127
Geography
The Role of Sustainability in HE and the GEES Disciplines; Recommendations for Future Practice Gormally, Alexandra.Journal of Geography in Higher Education Vol. 43, Iss. 4, (2019): 599-608.
Management
Designing and Teaching Business & Society Courses from a Threshold Concept Approach Vidal, Natalia; Smith, Renae; Spetic, Wellington.Journal of Management Education Vol. 39, Iss. 4, (Aug 2015): 497-530.
Designing Effective Sustainability Assignments: How and Why Definitions of Sustainability Impact Assignments and Learning Outcomes Urdan, Matthew S; Luoma, Patrice.Journal of Management Education Vol. 44, Iss. 6, (Dec 2020): 794-821
Gendering Sustainability in Management Education: Research and Pedagogy as Space for Critical Engagement Arevalo, Jorge A.Journal of Management Education Vol. 44, Iss. 6, (Dec 2020): 852-886.
Making Management (More) Relevant: Breaking down Disciplinary Walls and Pursuing Neglected Independent Variables Abzug, Rikki; Adewale, Adeyinka; André, Rae; Derfus, Pamela; Hedges, Peggy; et al. Journal of Management Education Vol. 44, Iss. 5, (Oct 2020): 651-662.
Balancing Profit and People: Corporate Social Responsibility in Business Education
Deer, Shannon; Zarestky, Jill.Journal of Management Education Vol. 41, Iss. 5, (Oct 2017): 727-749.
Curricular Innovations on Sustainability and Subsistence Marketplaces: Philosophical, Substantive, and Methodological Orientations Viswanathan, Madhubalan. Journal of Management Education Vol. 36, Iss. 3, (Jun 2012): 389-427.
A Million Decisions: Life on the (Sustainable Business) Frontier Steketee, Deborah.Journal of Management Education Vol. 33, Iss. 3, (2009): 391-401.
Integrating Sustainability into Management Education: A Dean's Perspective Walck, Christa.Journal of Management Education Vol. 33, Iss. 3, (2009): 384-390.
A Principle-Attribute Matrix for Environmentally Sustainable Management Education and Its Application: The Case for Change-Oriented Service-Learning Projects Rands, Gordon P.Journal of Management Education Vol. 33, Iss. 3, (2009): 296-322.
Action Research as an Approach to Integrating Sustainability into MBA Programs: An Exploratory Study Benn, Suzanne; Dunphy, Dexter.Journal of Management Education Vol. 33, Iss. 3, (2009): 276-295.
Understanding How Resources and Capabilities Affect Performance: Actively Applying the Resource-Based View in the Classroom Sheehan, Norman T.Journal of Management Education Vol. 30, Iss. 3, (2006): 421-430.
Business Schools as Living Labs: Advancing Sustainability in Management Education Sroufe, Robert.Journal of Management Education Vol. 44, Iss. 6, (Dec 2020): 726-765.
Implementing Project-Based Learning for Sustainability Management Course at Postgraduate Level
Wahid, Marfiah Ab; Lee, Wei-Koon; Baharudin, Fauzi.Asian Journal of University Education Vol. 16, Iss. 2, (Jul 2020): 84-92.
Advancing STEM-Based Business Sustainability: Mending the Curricular Gap
Petrun Sayers, Elizabeth L; Craig, Christopher A; Gilbertz, Susan; Feng, Song; Karam, Rita T; et al.Management Teaching Review Vol. 5, Iss. 1, (Mar 2020): 82-93.
Modern Languages
Food for Thought: Building Socially Conscious Readers and Writers through Exploring Eating Practices and Sustainability Perspectives Sabater, Silvia Rodríguez. Hispania Vol. 103, Iss. 2, (Jun 2020): 155-160.
Nursing
Environmental Competencies for Healthcare Educators and Trainees: A Scoping Review Parker, Gillian; Berta, Whitney; Shea, Christine; Miller, Fiona.Health Education Journal Vol. 79, Iss. 3, (Apr 2020): 327-345.
Public Administration
Sustainability Education in Public Administration and Policy: A Multi-Method Study of NASPAA Accredited Programs Rangarajan, Nandhini; Joshi, Saumya.Journal of Public Affairs Education Vol. 25, Iss. 3, (2019): 343-363.
Social Justice
Learning and Teaching through the Online Environmental Justice Atlas: From Empowering Activists to Motivating Students Walter, Mariana; Weber, Lena; Temper, Leah.New Directions for Teaching and Learning Iss. 161, (Apr 2020 - Jun 2020): 101-121.
Book Resources
Selected Book resources:
WorldCat (FirstSearch) - Presents a combined catalog of the catalogs of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide. WorldCat highlights publications available at Villanova University. Other items can be requested via an inter-library loan request form.
Oxford Bibliographies (Oxford University Press) Tutorial - Presents peer-reviewed, annotated bibliographies and expert commentary on current scholarship in selected disciplines. Villanova University has access to the following bibliographies: African American Studies, Art History, Atlantic History, Biblical Studies, British and Irish Literature, Buddhism, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Environmental Science, Geography, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Management, Medieval Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Renaissance and Reformation, and Victorian Literature.
Oxford Handbooks Online (Oxford University Press) - Provides digital access in selected disciplines. Each handbook introduces and surveys the state of scholarship in a field of study through review articles written by leading subject specialists. Articles review key issues and debates and set the agenda for new research. Villanova University does not have access to the complete collection. Access print handbooks through the Library's print collection and/or interlibrary loan services.
Books 24x7 - Features ebook collections in the fields of information technology and engineering.
O'Reilly for Higher Education Tutorial Access Instructions
Provides access to over 35,000 ebooks, 30,000 hours of video, curated learning paths, technology manuals, case studies, audio books, and videos covering fields ranging from software development, business, management, career development, engineering, design and more. Formerly known as Safari Books Online.
OECD iLibrary - Provides full text access to the books, periodicals, working papers, and statistical publications produced by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) since 1998. Also contains several statistical databases including Main Economic Indicators, International Trade by Commodity Statistics, and compendia of agriculture, education, environment, and social statistics.
Scholarly Article/Document Resources
Scopus (Elsevier)Provides citations and abstracts to peer-reviewed journals, books, and conference proceedings in all major disciplines. Provides information on citing and cited references for each article.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)Provides full text access to thousands of journals in the sciences, engineering, and the social sciences and humanities.
Oxford Bibliographies (Oxford University Press) Tutorial
Presents peer-reviewed, annotated bibliographies and expert commentary on current scholarship in selected disciplines. Villanova University has access to the following bibliographies: African American Studies, Art History, Atlantic History, Biblical Studies, British and Irish Literature, Buddhism, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Environmental Science, Geography, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Management, Medieval Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Renaissance and Reformation, and Victorian Literature.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)Provides access to a wide range of academic business journals and trade magazines. Topics include management, marketing, finance, economics, and management information systems. Full text access may be embargoed for up to three years. Coverage goes back to 1965.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) Limitations on Use
Offers abstracting and full text of working papers in a variety of social science fields. Composed of several specialized research networks, SSRN promotes rapid dissemination of early research results.
Limitations on Use:
You must have permission or rights to post content to SSRN.
Highlights early-stage research related to Earth’s climate changes due to global warming and the subsequent large-scale shifts in weather patterns.
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, Institute for Social Research, University of Michigan) Access Instructions
Provides access to archived social science data and data-driven learning guides designed for the classroom. Includes information about data management and curation services available to member institutions. See Qualitative Data Repository for qualitative and multi-method data.
A free ICPSR account is required to download data. The account must be created on campus. If you are having trouble accessing ICPSR data from off campus, please contact Nicole Daly at nicole.daly@villanova.edu for help.
Provides a full text archive of academic journals and books in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. The most recent three to five years of a journal are usually not included.
JSTOR’s Sustainability Thematic CollectionSearch separately or retrieve in traditional JSTOR searches. The collection features 115 journals in agricultural economics; climatology and atmospheric science; energy policy; environmental engineering; green energy; human ecology; land conservation; natural resources law; public health; sustainable business practices; transportation and infrastructure; urban studies and planning; and water management and includes open research reports from more than 30 policy institutes such as the Council on Foreign Relations, Stockholm Environment Institute, Institute for Global Environmental Strategies, and many more.
AGRICOLA (National Agricultural Library/USDA)Indexes materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library including books, journals, and government documents. Covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines.
PAIS International (ProQuest)Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, government documents, conference papers, research reports, etc. in the areas of public affairs, public and social policy, and international relations. International in scope. Formerly known as the Public Affairs Information Service.
SpringerLinkProvides access to journals, books, protocols, reference works, and book series in all academic disciplines published by Springer.
Web of Science (Clarivate) Tutorial
Provides access to the Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceeding Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus. Search for scholarly articles in any discipline, or for articles that cite a known author or work. Coverage varies.
Selected Related Journals
Guides/Articles/Videos about dis/misinformation
Fact Checking Websites
AllSidesA site curating a balanced news feed of the latest fact checks from throughout the political spectrum so users can compare how bias influences reporting on each topic.
FactCheck.orgNon-partisan nonprofit, political fact checking project from the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. This is useful to clarify information in those times when your two favorite news sources report on the same topic but from completely different angles. nonprofit
Influencewatch.orgCapital Research Center conceived of this project after identifying a need for more fact-based, accurate descriptions of all of the various influencers of public policy issues. InfluenceWatch strives to be comprehensive, and profiles are frequently updated and written in a manner that’s accurate and measured. InfluenceWatch brings transparency to the funding, motives, and interconnections of the entities profiled.
Media MattersNot-for-profit progressive research and information center dedicated to comprehensively monitoring, analyzing, and correcting conservative misinformation in the U.S. media.
OpenSecrets.orgBrought to you by the Center for Responsive Politics, a research group tracking money in U.S. Linked tabs include politicians & elections, influence & lobbying (to search industry and issues) and news & analysis.
PolitiFactFocused on looking at specific statements made by politicians and rating them for accuracy. From the nonprofit Poynter Institute.
ProPublicaProPublica is an independent, nonprofit newsroom that uses the power of investigative journalism to expose reform.
SciCheckFocuses exclusively on false and misleading scientific claims that are made by partisans to influence public policy.
SnopesFact-checking and original, investigative reporting points to evidence-based and contextualized analysis.
SourceWatchThe Center for Media and Democracy publishes SourceWatch to track corporations. They endeavor to provide well-documented information about corporate public relations (PR) campaigns, including corporate front groups, people who "front" corporate campaigns, and PR operations.
Sunlight FoundationNonpartisan, nonprofit organization uses public policy data-based journalism to make politics more transparent and accountable.
Truth or FictionNon-partisan website where Internet users can quickly and easily get information about eRumors, fake news, disinformation, warnings, offers, requests for help, myths, hoaxes, virus warnings, and humorous or inspirational stories that are circulated by email.
Video/Podcasts
Academic Video Online - AVON (Alexander Street Press)Offers streaming access to more than 68,000 titles, including documentary films, historical footage, training videos, performances, and television programs. Disciplines include business, counseling, engineering, history, nursing, literature, and music. Includes searchable transcripts and the ability to create clips and playlists.
Docuseek2 Complete Collection (Alexander Street Press)Provides streaming access to issues-based documentaries from leading film producers and distributors, and independent filmmakers from around the world.
Filmakers Library Online (Alexander Street Press)Offers streaming access to more than 1700 documentary films on topics in the social sciences, humanities, health sciences, and science and engineering. Also includes searchable transcripts and the ability to create clips and playlists.
JoVE Science Education VideosOffers streaming video demonstrations of science concepts and experimental techniques. Disciplines covered include biology, chemistry, physics, engineering, environmental sciences, psychology, nursing & clinical medicine.
Global Weirding (video series) with Katharine HayhoeGlobal Weirding: Climate, Politics, and Religion with Katharine Hayhoe is produced by KTTZ Texas Tech Public Media and distributed by PBS Digital Studios. New episodes every other Wednesday at 10 am central. Brought to you in part by: Citizens' Climate Lobby, Bob and Linda Herscher, Freese and Nichols, Inc, and the Texas Tech Climate Science Center.
Environmental Justice Health Alliance (EJHA) VideosThe Environmental Justice Health Alliance (EJHA) organizes direct engagement in industry reform strategies by grassroots organizations in frontline communities to promote environmental justice outcomes.
Yale University Envirocenter podcastsPodcasts from the Yale Center for Environmental Law & Policy
FracTrackerVideos - YoutubeVideos from FracTracker Alliance (https://www.fractracker.org/).
Best Climate Change Podcasts 10 of the Best Sustainability Podcasts Best Climate & Sustainability Podcasts (crowdsourced)
Education Related Resources
ERIC (EBSCO)Indexes and abstracts education journals, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, books, and Department of Education (ED) research reports. References for ED research reports often have links to the full text. Coverage goes back to 1966. The Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.
Education Full Text (EBSCO)Indexes and abstracts journal articles, monographs, and yearbooks in the field of education. Provides full text access to selected education journals from 1994 to the present. Indexing goes back to 1983.
American Association of State Colleges and Universities, higher education state policy issuesThis policy brief series provides concise analysis of issues affecting public higher education.
Chronicle of Higher EducationProvides online access to current issues and archives back to 1989. Includes daily news, advice columns, current job listings, and discussion forums. The Chronicle is the leading weekly newspaper in higher education.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)Located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. NCES fulfills a Congressional mandate to collect, collate, analyze, and report complete statistics on the condition of American education.
U.S. Department of Education - Data & StatisticsEducation-related data and statistics
UNESCO Institute for Statistics - World Education IndicatorsGlobal and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, culture and communication.
Writing Public Policy
Environment Related Resources
4/1000 Initiative - Soils for Food Security and Climate - UNThe “4/1000 Initiative: Soils for Food Security and Climate” aims to ensure that agriculture plays its part in combating climate change.
Climate stabilization targets emissions, concentrations, and impacts over decades to millennia - VU e-bookClimate Stabilization Targets emphasizes the importance of 21st century choices regarding long-term climate stabilization. It is a useful resource for scientists, educators and policy makers, among others. From - "Committee on Stabilization Targets for Atmospheric Greenhouse Gas Concentrations, Board on Atmospheric Sciences and Climate, Division on Earth and Life Studies."
EPA - Climate Change IndicatorsPreviously reported findings about trends in climate change.
EPA Environmental Dataset GatewayEPA's official open data catalog.
EPA- EnviroMapperEnviroMapper is a powerful tool used to map various types of environmental information, including air releases, drinking water, toxic releases, hazardous wastes, water discharge permits, and Superfund sites. Maps can be created at the national, state, and county levels.
GDELT ProjectSupported by Google, over a quarter-billion event records in over 300 categories covering the entire world from 1979 to present, along with a massive network diagram connecting every person, organization, location, theme and emotion.
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) is the United Nations body for assessing the science related to climate change.
MacroDateGuide - Norwegian Centre for Research Data (NSD)Starting point for researchers and students looking for data on the environment in which individuals reside and behave.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)Agency with a mission for the systematic study of the structure and behavior of the ocean, atmosphere, and related ecosystems; integration of research and analysis; observations and monitoring; and environmental modeling.
Paris Agreement - UNWhat it is and how it works.
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)USGS is the sole science agency for the Department of the Interior. It's declared mission is to serve the Nation by providing reliable scientific information to describe and understand the Earth; minimize loss of life and property from natural disasters; manage water, biological, energy, and mineral resources; and enhance and protect our quality of life.
United Nations Environment StatisticsUN Statistics Division (UNSD) Environmental Indicators disseminate global environment statistics on ten indicator themes compiled from a wide range of data sources. The themes and indicator tables
United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDG)A plan of action for people, planet and prosperity. It also seeks to strengthen universal peace in larger freedom. The Goals and targets will stimulate action over the next fifteen years in areas of critical importance for humanity and the planet:
UN - Climate Change Research GuideGuide to related sustainable development goals, major reports, books and journals.
UN - Development Research GuideGuide to UN Development goals by decade. Includes select UN data, statistics, publications and research guides.
World Resources InstituteWorld Resources Institute operates as a worldwide non-profit organization. The Organization offers services including global climate change issues, sustainable markets, ecosystem protection, and environmental responsible governance services. Here are listed projects, publications, maps & data.
Yale Program on Climate Change CommunicationConducts scientific studies on public opinion and behavior; inform the decision-making of governments, media, companies, and advocates; educate the public about climate change; and help build public and political will for climate action.
Laws, Regulations
About the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)Description of CFR, how to read the CFR and a tutorial.
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) List of SubjectsList of Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Subjects arranged by CFR Title and Part. It's current as of July 2, 2018
Congress.govCongress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. It includes bills and resolutions, committee reports, the Congressional Record, Presidential nominations, treaties, and other related information including summary and status of legislation. The site also provides information about members of Congress, links to House and Senate committee pages, to the United States Code, and to other legislative resources. Coverage varies with the earliest citations dating back to 1973. Consult Coverage Dates for Legislative Information for the start date for each collection.
Congressional Publications (ProQuest)Provides comprehensive indexing of United States legislative information: hearings transcripts and submitted testimony, committee reports, bills, public laws, congressional member public interest group ratings, selected committee prints, congressional documents, the Congressional Record, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and the U.S. Code. Includes abstracts. Some of the indexing goes back to the late 18th century.
Digital Environmental Legislative HandbookThe USC Schwarzenegger Institute and the National Caucus of Environmental Legislators have partnered with one another to create this online resource to assist legislators who are interested in advancing smart environmental policies by sharing best practices and actual legislation that is working successfully in a number of states already.
Electronic Code of Federal Regulations e-CFRThe Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR) is a current, daily updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). It is not an official legal edition of the CFR. The e-CFR is an unofficial editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments.
HeinOnlineProvides full text access to legal periodicals, books, government documents, legal texts, and other primary source collections in the legal field.
Subscription courtesy of the Charles Widger School of Law Library.
Research guide to the Federal Register ( from LLSDC)A Research Guide to the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations from Law Librarians Society of Washington, D.C.
UN International Environmental LawThe leading global environmental authority that sets the global environmental agenda, promotes the coherent implementation of the environmental dimension of sustainable development within the United Nations system, and serves as an authoritative advocate for the global environment.
USA.gov - Commonly Requested U.S. Laws and RegulationsUSA.gov is the official guide to government information and services.
govinfo.govgovinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. For instructions about using and searching the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), 1996-present visit:
using CFR
Selected Federal Agencies
USA.gov - A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies U.S. Department of the Interior (DOI)The United States Department of the Interior (DOI) is the United States federal executive department of the U.S. government responsible for the management and conservation of most federal lands and natural resources, and the administration of programs relating to Native Americans, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, territorial affairs, and insular areas of the United States.
U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)EIA collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
U.S. Environmental Policy and Politics: A Documentary History U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)USGS is the sole science agency for the Department of the Interior. It's declared mission is to serve the Nation by providing reliable scientific information to describe and understand the Earth; minimize loss of life and property from natural disasters; manage water, biological, energy, and mineral resources; and enhance and protect our quality of life.
Climate statistics/datasets
Data sets - GEO Data Portal - United Nations Environment ProgrammeThe GEO Data Portal is the authoritative source for data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments. Its online database holds more than 450 different variables as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps), covering themes like Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP. Display them on-the-fly as maps, graphs, data tables or download the data in different formats
Dataset FinderSelected links to a wide variety of datasets from Data is Plural Archive.
EDI Data Portalcontains environmental and ecological data packages contributed by a number of participating organizations. Data may be used in a manner conforming with the license information found in the “Intellectual Rights” section of the data package metadata or defaults to the EDI Data Policy.
EPA Environmental Dataset GatewayEPA's official open data catalog.
Explorer - UNdataAt present, exploring 22 databases and 10 table presentations (3/8/2021).
USGS - Science Explorer DatasetsWide variety of datasets, maps & publications from the U.S. Geological Survey.
Think Tanks (Government, universities)
American Policy Directory (University of Oregon)Find analysis and advocacy from all perspectives on US national public policy.
Annie E. Casey FoundationAs a private philanthropy based in Baltimore and working across the country, we make grants that help federal agencies, states, counties, cities and neighborhoods create more innovative, cost-effective responses to the issues that negatively affect children: poverty, unnecessary disconnection from family and communities with limited access to opportunity.
Brookings Institution (The)The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. and conducting in-depth research that leads to new ideas for solving problems facing society at the local, national and global level.
Cato InstituteA public policy research organization — a think tank — dedicated to the principles of individual liberty, limited government, free markets, and peace. Its scholars and analysts conduct independent, nonpartisan research on a wide range of policy issues.
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities (CBPP)Analyzes federal budget priorities, with a particular focus on how budget choices affect low-income Americans. CBPP pursues federal and state policies designed both to reduce poverty and inequality and to restore fiscal responsibility in equitable and effective ways.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Data & StatisticsData, reports and tools covering diseases and health monitored by the CDC
Find PolicyOpen source search engine focused on reports and analyses from leading policy research organizations.
Go To Think Tank Index ReportsThe Think Tanks and Civil Societies Program (TTCSP) of the Lauder Institute at the University of Pennsylvania works with leading scholars and practitioners from think tanks and universities in a variety of collaborative efforts and programs, and produces the annual Global Go To Think Tank Index that ranks the world’s leading think tanks in a variety of categories.
Heritage Foundation (The)The mission of The Heritage Foundation is to formulate and promote conservative public policies based on the principles of free enterprise, limited government, individual freedom, traditional American values, and a strong national defense.
Kaiser Family FoundationPrivate health care policy and advocacy organization that conducts primary research including surveys, case studies and focus groups on media and health. Disseminates news and reports conducted by others related to health and media such as television, advertising, public education campaigns, internet and social media.
Pew Research Center"The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does so by conducting public opinion polling and social science research; by reporting news and analyzing news coverage; and by holding forums and briefings. It does not take positions on policy issues."
Pew Research Center : DatasetsAllows download of public surveys conducted on politics, religion, demographics, housing, relationships, work and many other topics.
Policy Brief Series, Maxwell Center for Policy ResearchPolicy briefs are essays on current public policy issues in aging, health, income security, metropolitan studies, and related research done by or on behalf of the Center for Policy Research at the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs.
RAND CorporationThe RAND Corporation is a nonprofit institution that helps improve policy and decisionmaking through research and analysis.
RAND Corporation Research BriefsThe RAND Corporation is a nonpartisan, nonprofit institution that helps improve policy and decisionmaking through research and analysis, focusing on issues of health, education, national security, international affairs, law and business, the environment, and more.
Think Tank SearchA Google Custom Search of more than 1200 think tanks and research centers.
USA.gov - A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies Urban InstituteGathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues — to foster sound public policy and effective government.
Vanderbilt - public policy issues/groupsList of public policy issues and groups.
Writing about think tanks and using their research: A cautionary tip sheetAims to help journalists ask critical questions before citing a think tank’s research or experts.
Country Information
Economist Intelligence UnitFeatures a single unified platform delivering country and regional reports and comparable data for over 200 countries. Politics, economics, the business environment and sector and industries are explained and forecasts presented. The data tab delivers time series on national accounts, monetary, demographic, trade, employment, debt & spending indicators to name a few.
OECD iLibraryProvides full text access to the books, periodicals, working papers, and statistical publications produced by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) since 1998. Also contains several statistical databases including Main Economic Indicators, International Trade by Commodity Statistics, and compendia of agriculture, education, environment, and social statistics.
Fragile States Index (FSI)Measuring fragility, risk and vulnerability in 178 countries.
The World Factbook (CIA)Provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Uppsala Conflict Data Program (UCDP)Includes the UCDP Conflict Encyclopedia, downloadable datasets, definitions, publications, charts and graphs and useful links. Maintained by Uppsala University's Department of Peace and Conflict Research to conduct research in several major areas of peace and conflict studies.
World Bank - DataBank Tutorial
DataBank is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
World Bank Open DataProvides free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
World Bank World Development Indicators (WDI)"World Development Indicators (WDI) publication is the World Bank's premier annual compilation of data about development. The 2007 WDI includes more than 900 indicators." The WDI and GDF Online is owned and copyrighted by the World Bank and the users may not copy, reverse engineer, modify, decompile or disassemble WDI and GDF Online or its operating software. While every effort has been made to ensure the high quality and accuracy of WDI and GDF Online, the Bank does not warrant that the functions contained in WDI and GDF Online shall meet the users? requirements or that the operation of WDI Online shall be uninterrupted or error-free.
Financial/Economic Information
Bureau of Economic Analysis"The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner."
Bureau of Labor StatisticsCompiles surveys and statistics on employment, unemployment, prices, productivity, compensation, time use and spending to name a few.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)Provides access to a wide range of academic business journals and trade magazines. Topics include management, marketing, finance, economics, and management information systems. Full text access may be embargoed for up to three years. Coverage goes back to 1965.
Congressional Budget Office - TopicsCongressional Budget Office featured topics and policy options.
EconLit with Full Text (EBSCO)Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, working papers, and dissertations in the field of economics based on the
Journal of Economic Literature's subject classification. Provides access to the full text of selected journals including all American Economic Association journals. Coverage goes back to 1886.
Limitations on Use
Features historical data on worldwide stock exchanges, bond indices, intraday data, futures, interest rates, population, and much more. All data is clearly defined, easy to read, and can be readily exported into Excel.
Limitations on Use:
Authorized users (on and off campus) limited to current Villanova students, faculty and staff.
Freely available datasets from the International Monetary Fund. Must register and login with individual account before downloading data.
NBER National Bureau of Economic Research"Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community." Excellent source for working papers and datasets.
Statistical, Data, Mapping Resources
Congressional Budget Office - TopicsCongressional Budget Office featured topics and policy options.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) ReportsCongressional Research Service (CRS) provides authoritative and confidential research and analysis for Congress' deliberative use.
Data.census.govData from the Census Bureau from 2010 through most recent releases, including the American Community Survey, the Decennial Census, and
several other surveys conducted by the bureau.
The only full-probability, personal-interview survey designed to monitor changes in both social characteristics and attitudes currently being conducted in the United States. The GSS is NORC’s (at the University of Chicago) longest running project, and one of its most influential.
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, Institute for Social Research, University of Michigan) Access Instructions
Provides access to archived social science data and data-driven learning guides designed for the classroom. Includes information about data management and curation services available to member institutions. See Qualitative Data Repository for qualitative and multi-method data.
A free ICPSR account is required to download data. The account must be created on campus. If you are having trouble accessing ICPSR data from off campus, please contact Nicole Daly at nicole.daly@villanova.edu for help.
The Migration Policy Institute is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank in Washington, DC dedicated to analysis of the movement of people worldwide.
PolicyMap Tutorial
Offers a tool for mapping and analyzing U.S. national data on a wide variety of topics including education, income, employment, public health, crime, housing, transit, and more. Researchers can conduct demographic and socioeconomic analyses on a variety of geographic levels, from the national level to the neighborhood census block group as well as custom regions. Time series data covers 2000 to present.
Population Reference BureauIts stated mission is to inform people around the world about population, health, and the environment, and empower them to use that information to advance the well-being of current and future generations.
A range of datasets available for free, a data visualization tool as well as some tips and hints on the use of the data.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (iPOLL) Tutorial
Access Instructions
Offers public opinion poll data from surveys conducted in the U.S. and other countries by many major polling organizations. Includes the full text of questions and responses. Items with a green plus icon have crosstab breakdowns; those with an X have microdata available for download; while those with a green and blue star icon allow you to perform custom crosstab analysis online. Covers 1935 to the present, updated daily.
To download or analyze data online, each user needs to set up a free account.
Provides access to maps and tables of U.S. Census and American Community Survey data from 1790 through most recently released data. Also includes datasets on election, health, crime, religion, and environmental topics, as well as some international data (UK Census 2011; Canadian Census 2011; selected Eurostat data; and World Development Indicators from the World Bank.) Create a free personal account in order to save your work.
State of Cities Data Systems (SOCDS)Created by the Office of Policy Development and Research (PD&R) in the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), SOCDS provides data for individual metropolitan areas, central cities, and suburbs.
StatistaProvides a portal to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources. Topics covered include industries, media, companies, product categories, and countries.
TracImmigrationThe Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC) is a data gathering, data research and data distribution organization at Syracuse University. The purpose of TRAC is to provide comprehensive information about staffing, spending, and enforcement activities of the federal government.
An independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO examines how taxpayer dollars are spent and provides Congress and federal agencies with objective, reliable information to help the government save money and work more efficiently.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Cite & Evaluate Research
Interlibrary Loan
EZBorrow and Interlibrary LoanInterlibrary loans are only available for books and journals which are not owned by Falvey. The EZBorrow service can be used for books which the library owns, but which are currently checked out. EZBorrow books are provided by a local library network and tend to arrive faster than interlibrary loans.
Journal FinderUse this link to locate journals or specific articles that may be available via Falvey Library.
__________