FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY

You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Theatre > Books, Plays, Dissertations, etc.

Books, Plays, Dissertations, etc.

Finding Books

There are two primary ways to search for books through the library.

1-Search the Catalog

To search the catalog enter your search terms into the search bar which can be found at the top of any library page and click "find." You will see 3 columns, click on the link for the one on the far left labeled "books & media."

Once you have done this the results you see will be book available through Falvey Library.  You can further narrow down you results using the options in the right hand column  labeled "Refine Search." 

2-Search WorldCat

In WorldCat you can search for a variety of things, but one of the most useful functions of searching world cat is that it will display books owned by Falvey library as well as books owned by other libraries. When you do a search for books the ones we own will have a green 
In your library VILLANOVA UNIV tag next to them where as books not owned by Villanova will give you the option to "Borrow from another library." WorldCat is especially useful for graduate students whose research may require them to access a wider variety of books than those immediately available through the library. 

Falvey Library Catalog
The Library's catalog enables patrons to search & browse Falvey Memorial Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.
[Details]

WorldCat (OCLC)
WorldCat is a catalog of library collections worldwide. WorldCat highlights publications available at Villanova University. Other items can be requested via an inter-library loan request form.
WorldCat Step-by-Step is a self-paced interactive tutorial for students new to this resource.
[Details]

 Books, Plays, Dissertations, etc.

  Black Drama, 2nd Edition
Contains the full text of 1,462 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 233 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. More than a quarter of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Derek Walcott, Willis Richardson, Alice Childress, Amiri Baraka, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.

  Dissertations and Theses @ Villanova University (ProQuest)
Enables access to the citations and abstracts of Villanova students' dissertations and theses published with ProQuest, as well as the full text in PDF format, when available.

  Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest)
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses with over 2.4 million dissertations and theses included from around the world.The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637, and more than 65,000 new citations are added to the database every year. Where available, PQDT provides 24 Page Previews of dissertations and theses. In addition, nearly one million are available for download in PDF format. (Digital dissertations and theses are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be Native PDF, some PDF Image).

  Essay & General Literature Index (EBSCO)
Indexes essays published in book collections covering philosophy, religion, social and political science, economics, law, education, linguistics, science, the various arts, literature and history.

  Google Books
Search the full text of digitized books contributed by libraries and publishers. View either brief exerpts, bibliographic information or if not protected by copyright the full text.

  Hathi Trust
Millions of books online. Books published up until 1923 are freely available online. Use the library's catalog or the EZ-Borrow catalog for access to later publications.

  MLA Literary Research Guide
The Literary Research Guide is a selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics. The scope and organization of the content are described in the introduction. To begin working, use one of the tabs above.

  MagillOnLiterature Plus (EBSCO)
MagillOnLiterature Plus is comprised of approximately 35,000 records, more than 5,000 images, and has a glossary of 1,100 literary terms. Provides access to editorially reviewed critical analyses, brief plot summaries, and extended character profiles covering works by more than 8,500 long and short fiction writers, poets, dramatists, essayists, and philosophers. MagillOnLiterature Plus also contains over 15,000 biographical essays on more than 2,500 different authors, including up-to-date lists of each author's principal works

  North American Theatre Online (Alexander Street Press)
Includes more than 40,000 pages of important reference sources in electronic format, indexed and searchable along with all the other content. O’Dell’s Annals of the New York Stage, the Oxford University Press Companion series, and Greenwood’s American Theatre Companies series are just a few of the many in-copyright sources. Also, in-depth records cover tens of thousands of plays, including many previously unpublished works by major authors—not only major and known plays, but also partial works, works that have never been performed, and works that were believed lost, providing researchers with unique and never-before-seen information. Related resources include thousands of playbills, posters, photographs, and related theatrical ephemera.

  Play Index (EBSCO)
Play Index searches over 30,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present. Covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. Search for plays by title, author, subject, style, genre, or cast type.

  The Archive of Performances of Greek & Roman Drama (APGRD)
The APGRD is a pioneering international centre for research into performances of Greek and Roman drama worldwide, from antiquity to the present, on stage, screen and radio, in opera and dance.

swingo Sarah Wingo
Librarian for English Literature and Theatre
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 223
610-519-5183


Sarah Wingo is available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.

Click on the button below to schedule a research appointment.


 


Last Modified: 2017-08-16 15:15:02