FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY

You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Theatre > Dictionaries & Biographical Resources etc.

Dictionaries & Biographical Resources etc.

 Dictionaries, Biographical Resources, etc.

  African American Studies Center Online (Oxford)
The database provides students, scholars and librarians with online access to the finest reference resources in African American studies. At its core, AASC features the new Encyclopedia of African American History: 1619-1895, Black Women in America, the highly acclaimed Africana, a five-volume history of the African and African American experience, and the African American National Biography project (estimated at 8 volumes). In addition to these major reference works, AASC offers other key resources from Oxford's reference program, including the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature and selected articles from other reference works.

  African Studies Center - country pages
Brought to you by the African Studies Center at the University of Pennsylvania, recognized as a vital and forward-looking center where researchers, students and cultural and business entities come to gain knowledge of contemporary and historical Africa.

  American National Biography Online (Oxford)
Biographical resource on more than 18,000 people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities. All articles originally included in the ANB Online were on biographical subjects who died before the end of 1995. Articles on important figures who have died since 1995 are being added in quarterly updates.

  Black Authors, Imprints from the LCP (1556-1922)
Works by authors of African or African-American descent. Compiled by the curators of the acclaimed Afro-Americana Imprints collection.

  Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (Gale)
The Dictionary of Literary Biography print series has been a favorite with students and scholars for many years, often the first place to go to find authoritative biographical and critical essays on the world’s most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Offers Documentary, Main, and Yearbook series.

  Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion

  Encyclopedia of world biography

  Fashion, Costume & Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations & Footwear through the Ages

  International Dictionary of Theatre
REF PN 2035.I49 1992

  Irish Playwrights, 1880-1995: A Research and Production Sourcebook
4th floor, Falvey Library
PR8789.I67 1997

  Johns Hopkins Guide To Literary Theory & Criticism
An alphabetical arrangement on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats figures and kinds of inquiry from other fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism as well as figures, who did not explicitly deal with, but who still deeply affected, literature, literary theory or literary criticism.

  Literature Criticism Online (Gale)
LCO is an extensive compilation of literary commentary reaching back 30 years and cover centuries of critiques on authors and their works that span all time periods, types of literature and regions. The cross searchable collection brings together the most acclaimed literary series Drama Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism and Short Story Criticism providing criticism on the major authors, dramatists and poets. The database includes Shakespearean Literature Criticism with a comprehensive coverage of critical interpretations of his plays and poetry.

  Literature Online (Chadwyck-Healey)
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 382 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.

  Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Cross-searching capability between Literature Resource Center (LRC) and Gale Virtual Reference Library.

  MLA Directory of Periodicals (ProQuest)
Contains information available on the journals and series that are covered in the MLA International Bibliography database. The records consist of editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, submission guidelines, and information on whether or not journals are peer reviewed. The directory also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many are submitted. (Go to the MLA International Bibliography for literary scholarship.)

  MagillOnLiterature Plus (EBSCO)
MagillOnLiterature Plus is comprised of approximately 35,000 records, more than 5,000 images, and has a glossary of 1,100 literary terms. Provides access to editorially reviewed critical analyses, brief plot summaries, and extended character profiles covering works by more than 8,500 long and short fiction writers, poets, dramatists, essayists, and philosophers. MagillOnLiterature Plus also contains over 15,000 biographical essays on more than 2,500 different authors, including up-to-date lists of each author's principal works

  Open Source Shakespeare (Shakespeare Concordance)

Open Source Shakespeare attempts to be the best free Web site containing Shakespeare's complete works. It is intended for scholars, thespians, and Shakespeare lovers of every kind. Of particular interest on this site is the Concordance where you can search for words or phrases across Shakespeare's complete works. 



  Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
A reference work providing almost 60,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2009. State-of-the-art search options, extensive internal cross-referencing, access to articles from the original DNB, and navigation by "themes" combine with rigorous research and scholarship to make the Oxford DNB one of the most innovative and important reference sites available online.

  Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
The database includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, themes and encompasses the range and depth of American literary history from the 1600s to the present day.

  Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature

  Oxford English Dictionary
The world's leading authority on the history and development of the English language since 1150. Based on the 1989 2nd edition, a 20-volume set, with additions from 1993-1997 and the 3rd edition (in progress) from 2000-. Approximately 1,000 new and revised entries will be released quarterly online.

  Renaissance: An Encyclopedia for Students

  Shakespeare's Words
The site integrates the full text of the plays and poems with the entire Glossary database, allowing you to search for any word or phrase in Shakespeare's works, and in particular to find all instances of all words that can pose a difficulty to the modern reader.

  Shakespeare's Work and World: An Encyclopedia for Students
3 volumes
4th floor, Falvey Library

  St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture

  Stage Writers Handbook : A Complete Business Guide for Playwrights, Composers, Lyricists, and Librettists
The book sets out clearly and straightforwardly what to expect, what your responsibilities are, what your rights are, how much to charge for your services and how to protect yourself as a professional theater writer today.

  The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance
This encyclopedia provides authoritative and up-to-date information about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe.

swingo Sarah Wingo
Librarian for English Literature and Theatre
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 223
610-519-5183


Sarah Wingo is available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.

Click on the button below to schedule a research appointment.


 


Last Modified: 2017-08-16 14:56:39