FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY

You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Theatre > Images and Streaming Media

Images and Streaming Media

Images/Art/Video

Below are a variety of resources where you can access images, art, and streaming videos.

Digital Theatre Plus may be of particular interest as it has high quality, full length, professional performances available for streaming, with new content being added regularly. 

 Images and Streaming Media

  ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports.

  ARTstor
ARTstor is a non-profit digital image library, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields.

  Art Project (by Google)
Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.

  Associated Press Images
The Associated Press, is one of the world's largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. AP's mission is to be the essential global news network, providing distinctive news services of the highest quality, reliability and objectivity with reports that are accurate, balanced and informed. For more than a century, AP photographers have captured the greatest moments in history, news, sports and entertainment.

  Black Drama, 2nd Edition
Contains the full text of 1,462 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 233 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. More than a quarter of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Derek Walcott, Willis Richardson, Alice Childress, Amiri Baraka, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.

  Digital Theatre Plus
Watch high quality films of leading theatre productions
Discover how plays are brought to the stage in interviews with the creative teams
Learn about interpretive choice through detailed analysis of play texts
Teach key plays with stimulating and relevant support

  Fashion Plate Collection
Many of these plates are from some of the leading French, British, American, and other continental fashion journals of the 19th century and early 20th century: Belle assemblée; Le bon ton; Le Follet, courrier des salons; Journal des dames and des modes; Godey's lady's book and magazine, and others. They are primarily hand-colored engravings although some of the plates after 1885 are colored lithographs. A project was undertaken by the Digital Initiatives Program, University Libraries, University of Washington, to digitize and provide online access to selections from this collection.

  Historical New York Times: 1851- (ProQuest)
The New York Times is a unique full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of The New York Times, in-depth coverage of science and politics. It offers complete coverage from 1851 to the present with the exception of the most current three years. Includes classified ads, comics and cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, etc., editorials and commentary.

  North American Theatre Online (Alexander Street Press)
Includes more than 40,000 pages of important reference sources in electronic format, indexed and searchable along with all the other content. O’Dell’s Annals of the New York Stage, the Oxford University Press Companion series, and Greenwood’s American Theatre Companies series are just a few of the many in-copyright sources. Also, in-depth records cover tens of thousands of plays, including many previously unpublished works by major authors—not only major and known plays, but also partial works, works that have never been performed, and works that were believed lost, providing researchers with unique and never-before-seen information. Related resources include thousands of playbills, posters, photographs, and related theatrical ephemera.

  The Times Digital Archive 1785-2010(Gale)
The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.

  World Painting Index.
2 volumes
Reference Stacks
Falvey Memorial Library

swingo Sarah Wingo
Librarian for English Literature and Theatre
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 223
610-519-5183


Sarah Wingo is available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.

Click on the button below to schedule a research appointment.


 


Last Modified: 2017-08-16 14:40:37