Online Resources

CARA : social scientific studies about the Catholic Church

Catholic Geographic Information System Center (CGISC)
The Catholic GIS Center is simple: it is a community infrastructure for data, providing systems of engagement and systems of records for the global Catholic community.

Catholic News Archive (Catholic Research Resources Alliance)
Provides open access to selected U.S. Catholic newspapers from the early 19th century to the late 20th century.

Catholic Research Resources Portal
The Catholic Research Resources Portal, or "Catholic Portal," provides access to rare, unique and/or uncommon materials in libraries, seminaries, special collections and archives. By electronically bringing together resources in many formats from many collections, the Portal enables easy, effective and global discovery of Catholic research resources.

Chicago Manual of Style Online
The 17th edition of the Manual is the most current. The online version includes a Citation Quick Guide. Access to the 16th edition is also available.

Corpus Augustinianum Gissense (CAG-online, version 3.0)
Provides digital access to all known works of Augustine of Hippo (354-430) in the original Latin. Includes a bibliographic database of references to secondary literature on Augustine's life and works.

Library of Latin Texts: Cross Database Searchtool (Brepols)
The Cross Database Searchtool (CDS) enables users to search simultaneously the different full-text Latin databases from Brepols, and consult the entire Library of Latin Texts (LLT, Series A and B) in a combined set of search results. In general, CDS offers the same outlook and possibilities as each of the individual databases. The available filters are common to all databases of Brepols Latin: ‘Period’, ‘Author’, ‘Title’ and ‘Century’. Should it be required, however, to search more specifically, it is always possible to return to the search pages of each of the individual databases and to use other filters which are not common to all databases.

Past Masters (InteLex)
Contains selected full text of scholarly editions of many philosophers, theologians and literary writers: Anselm, Aquinas, Aristotle, Augustine, Austen, Chesterton, Descartes, Dewey, Feuerbach, Fichte, Foucault, Francis of Assisi, Hegel, Hobbes, Hume, Kant, Kierkegaard, Leibniz, Locke, Luther, Machiavelli, Marx and Engels, Merleau-Ponty, Montesquieu, Newman, Nietzsche, Ockham, Pascal, Peirce, Plato, Poinsot, Royce, Santayana, Schopenhauer, Shelley, Spinoza, Synge, Wittgenstein and Wollestonecraft, as well as collections for British Philosophy 1600-1900, The Continental Rationalists, The Latin Background: 1100-1550, and The Romantic Age.

Pew Research Center : Datasets

PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online
Offers indexing of the research literature in philosophy, including citations to journal articles, books, and materials in open-access archives. Includes unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, and discussion forums.

Theologische Realenzyklopädie (TRE) online
A modern specialist encyclopedia comprising 36 volumes of text (published 1976–2004) representing the present state of theological research as a whole. TRE treats the whole range of ecclesiastical and theological subjects from an ecumenical and international perspective; it deals with faith and thought, theology and church, acknowledgement and, if possible, understanding, beyond the boundaries of Christianity. Thus, in addition to the disciplines of the Old and New Testaments, church history, systematic and practical theology, the work also integrates Jewish studies, religious studies and philosophy – or rather, sees them as integral to theological study. Besides an exact reproduction of the complete text, the online version presents all the illustrations, maps, graphics and tables included in the printed volumes. A comprehensive search engine allows detailed researches which extend the bounds set by the systematic referencing of the two volumes of the overall index (published 2006 and 2007).

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (University of California, Irvine)
Includes most literary texts written in Greek from Homer (8th century BCE) to the fall of Byzantium (1453 AD). Users must create a profile in order to use the database. Click on the "register" link on the upper right to do so.

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae online
TLL is the most comprehensive Latin dictionary in the world, comprehensively covering Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D. The TLL online is a searchable database for all the content available in the print edition. Click here to view a PDF of the publisher's user guide for TLL online. Click here to view a PDF of the TLL's Praemonenda/Introduction in English. The print volumes of the TLL are on reserve in the library.

World Christian Database (Brill)
Provides comprehensive statistical information on Christians and denominations world-wide.

World Religion Database (Brill)
Contains detailed statistics on global religious affiliation; including census, survey and projection data.

Print Resources

Catholicisme: Hier, Aujourd'hui, Demain
"Catholicism: Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow" is an esteemed French encyclopedia written over a period of fifty years. The articles follow an alphabetical order. The initial volumes (vols. 1-6) were produced from 1947 to 1966, and the subsequent volumes (vols. 7-15) were produced from 1975 to 2001. Although the majority of the work was completed in the post-Vatican II era, up to and including well into the papacy of Pope Saint John Paul II, some articles reflect a perspective from the period prior to the Second Vatican Council. The Tables allow the researcher to examine topics more thematically and aid in integrating theological approaches.

Dictionnaire d'Archéologie Chrétienne et de Liturgie
Produced over the first half of the 20th century (from 1907 to 1953), this French dictionary of Christian archeology and liturgy was conceived in a "strictly scientific" spirit: to not advance anything simply based on the support of received opinions; to not make forced comparisons between monuments and documents or rites and formulas which are alike in appearance; to avoid hasty generalizations; and to remain committed to "a clean sweep" of the subject under consideration. It is still an eminent reference work dedicated to an examination of Christian antiquities, with a focus on ritual, social, moral and institutional history.

Dictionnaire de Droit Canonique
A classic Canon Law dictionary produced in French during the years leading up to and during the Second Vatican Council. Its purpose was to provide a thorough account of the Church's common law, with a summary of history, institutions, and the state of discipline resulting from the provisions of the Pio-Benedictine Code of 1917. Both a practical and a scientific work, the entries have historical value and contain a very wide range of canonical terms. From the confrontation between the decisions of Vatican II and the Code of 1917 sprang the 1983 revised Code of Canon Law.

Dictionnaire de Théologie Catholique
A monumental encyclopedia of Catholic theology in French published 1902-1950; it is the product of many collaborators from various Catholic theological schools. Its aim is to present the doctrines of Catholic theology, their evidence and history. Written by specialists of recognized competence at the time, including Réginald Garrigou-Lagrange on Thomisme and Yves Congar on Théologie, it attempted to embrace all topics of interest to the theologian. The 3 volumes of Tables générales du Dictionnaire de Théologie Catholique (published 1951-1972) are designed to aid scholars in their use of DTC.

Dictionnaire d’Histoire et de Géographie Ecclésiastiques
An extensive dictionary of ecclesiastical history and geography covering from antiquity to contemporary times; its stated goal is to provide a historical notice on any personage, place or institution linked to Church history. An index of entries of the DHGE, from the first volume to the last issue published in 2017, is now available on the Revue d’histoire Ecclésiastique (RHE) Website.

Lexikon der Katholischen Dogmatik, 2nd ed.
A German-language reference work arranged alphabetically, it has entries on topics of dogmatic theology viewed from a particularly Catholic perspective. It does not address topics in moral, historical or pastoral theology. It includes over 50 tables and charts that make it a practical tool for graduate-level theological studies. A slightly revised English edition was later produced. However, The Handbook of Catholic Theology was faulted by some reviewers. "Generally helpful in updating the original material and relating it to North America, the new articles occasionally lapse into overly politically correct generalizations that do not compare well with the accurate and well-researched statements found in the over 300 original entries." - G. O'Collins, Handbook of Catholic Theology, America, 175, 29, Dec. 7, 1996.

Lexikon fur Theologie und Kirche, 3rd ed.
A dictionary of theology and church published 1993-2001, LThK is a German-language Catholic encyclopedia with universal ecclesiastical and ecumenical openness. Emphasis is on Catholic theology and the Catholic Church in the German-speaking cultural region, but included are other European and North American perspectives, as well as articles on the emerging church, and Protestant and Orthodox theology.

Reallexikon für Antike und Christentum
A comprehensive encyclopaedia of interdisciplinary research by international scholars into different aspects of both confrontation and interaction between Christians, Jews and "pagans" in antiquity and into the complex processes that mark the transformation of late antique culture until the seventh century. Online tools related to RAC are on the F.J. Doelger-Institut Website.

Thesaurus Cultus et Rituum Antiquorum (J. Paul Getty Museum)
ThesCRA is a multivolume reference on all known aspects of Greek, Etruscan, and Roman cults and rituals encompassing the period from 1000 BC to AD 400. Includes illustrated articles in English, French, Italian, and German. Table of Contents: v. 1. Processions, sacrifices, libations, fumigations, dedications; v. 2. Purification, initiation, heroization, apotheosis, banquet, dance, music, cult images; v. 3. Divination, prayer, veneration, hikesia, asylia, oath, malediction, profanation, magic rituals; v. 4. Cult places, representations of cult places; v. 5. Personnel of cult cult instruments; and Suppl. Abbreviations.