Basic Research Tools

Brill's Encyclopedia of Buddhism Online
Presents comprehensive articles on the many aspects of the various traditions of Asian Buddhism. Its aim is to consider all aspects of premodern Buddhism in Asia. Thematically so far it covers scriptural and nonscriptural literature and the lives of prominent historical and ahistorical figures. Source begun in 2015. With more content forthcoming annually, it is expected to be complete in 2026. Online access via Brill.

Brill's Encyclopedia of Jainism Online
Contains essays focused on both historical and contemporary traditions and institutions of Jainism. Thematically it covers a variety of topics such as the pantheon and devotional practices, social and cultural phenomena, sacred texts, and philosophy. Source published in 2020. Online access via Brill.

Buddhism and Jainism
Fosters an understanding the two Śramaṇa or “striving” traditions that differentiated themselves from Vedic or Brahminical schools of thought, which have survived to the present day. As Śramaṇa traditions, Buddhism and Jainism share many of the same ideological views and assumptions. Their significance to the religious heritage and landscape of India is explored. Source published in 2017 and a book in the Encyclopedia of Indian Religions series. Online Access via SpringerLink.

Encyclopedia of Buddhism
Describes the Buddhist world view, including art, culture and festivals, the basic teachings, practices, ceremonies, and scriptures of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. Source published in 2004. Online access via Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Buddhism
Presents peer-reviewed, annotated bibliographies and expert commentary on current scholarship in all areas related to the study of Buddhism. Source continuously updated. Online access via Oxford University Press.

Oxford Dictionary of Buddhism
Features broad-ranging entries on the history and doctrines of the major Buddhist schools, information on the spread of Buddhism in Asia and the West, and coverage of issues of contemporary concern such as human rights, abortion, euthanasia, ‘engaged Buddhism’, and the role of women in Buddhist teachings. Source published in 2004. Online access via Oxford University Press.

Oxford Handbook of Buddhist Ethics
Explains how Buddhist ethics, summarized as Right Speech, Right Action, and Right Livelihood -- three of the elements of the Eightfold Path of the Buddha -- has a moral core founded on the concept of karma (intentions and actions have future consequences for an individual). While later elaborated and interpreted in a multitude of ways, the core principles have remained resilient throughout the many cultural interpretations and styles of Buddhism. Source continuously updated. Online access via Oxford University Press.

Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Buddhism
Offers a comprehensive collection of work by leading scholars in the field on the historical development of Buddhist traditions throughout the world, globalization, Buddhist international organizations and diasporic communities, as well as the relationship between Buddhist traditions and particular themes and contemporary topics. Source continuously updated. Online access via Oxford University Press.

Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism
Provides encyclopedic coverage of the most important concepts, texts, authors, deities, monasteries, and geographical sites. Not focused on a single Buddhist language or school, it bridges all major Buddhist traditions and covers terms from all of the canonical languages and traditions of Buddhism. Source published in 2014. Online access via JSTOR eBooks.

Wiley Blackwell Companion to East and Inner Asian Buddhism
Brings together fresh perspectives on the richness and variety of local Buddhist expressions and practices within Chinese, Korean, Japanese, and Tibetan cultures, along with cutting-edge research on a wide range of concepts, texts, doctrines, practices, and institutions. Source published in 2014. Online access via Wiley Online Library.